Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

International Society for Comparative Adult Education (ISCAE) Records

A description of its records at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: International Society for Comparative Adult Education.
Title: International Society for Comparative Adult Education (ISCAE) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1986-2006
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft
Abstract: Bulk consists of correspondence related to planning of annual meetings/conferences and challenges to "growing" the organization; there is also a small amount of material relating to the book Comparative Adult Education, published by ISCAE, and a few folders of conference material
Language: Majority in English, a few items in German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The International Society for Comparative Adult Education (ISCAE) is a network of adult educators whose members come from more than 30 countries. The organization has its origins in 1960 in a working group put together by Dr. Alexander N. Charters and Roby Kidd that focused on international and comparative adult education. The organization was known as the Committee for Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (CSRCA) until 1992, when it adopted its current name.

The network has no statutes and requires no accounting or membership fees; although it does publish occasional papers the primary venue for exchange of information is the conferences held annually in various locations.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The International Society for Comparative Adult Education (ISCAE) Records consist of correspondence and conference materials.

Correspondence, much of which consists of printed emails. relates almost entirely to the planning of each year's conference. Topics touched on include researchers' work, developments affecting ISCAE, and promotions and challenges the organization faced along the way. There are also address lists, participant lists, drafts of registration forms, calls for papers, occasionally drafts of papers submitted, and other similar material.

Conference material contains material actually printed and produced for a given conference. These include programs, papers, and conference proceedings. Organizations represented, other than ISCAE itself, include the Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) and UNESCO's Committee for Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (CSRCAE).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The bulk of the collection is correspondence, arranged in chronological order. Conference material is arranged alphabetically by the name of the sponsoring organization and then within that chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to adult education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete list of manuscript collections, and search SUMMIT, our main catalog for cataloged print material.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Boucouvalas, Marcie, 1947-
Charters, Alexander N.
Reischmann, Jost, 1943-
Titmus, Colin J.

Corporate Bodies

Commission of Professors of Adult Education.
Committee for the Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education.
International Society for Comparative Adult Education.

Subjects

Adult education -- Congresses.
Adult education -- Cross-cultural studies.
Adult education -- Research.
Comparative education.

Genres and Forms

Conference proceedings.
Correspondence.
Newsletters.

Occupations

Adult education teachers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

International Society for Comparative Adult Education (ISCAE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jost Reischmann, 2007-2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Jun 2007
Revision history: 18 Nov 2020 - processed (ZN)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 General 1991
Box 1 General 1992
Box 1 General 1993 ( 2 folders)
Box 1 General 1994
Box 1 General 1995 - includes one folder of papers, possibly submitted to or presented at that year's conference (4 folders)
Box 1 General 1996
Box 1 General 1997
Box 1 General 1998 (3 folders)
Box 2 General 1999
Box 2 Book, Comparative Adult Education 1998-1999 - contributors to book published by ISCAE; includes a few corrections, discussion of final details
Box 2 General 2000
Box 2 General 2001
Box 2 General 2002
Box 2 General 2003
Box 2 General 2007-2008
Conference materials - papers, programs, etc.
Box 2 Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) 1986
Box 2 Committee for Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (CSRCAE) 1991
Box 1 International Society for Comparative Adult Education (ISCAE) 1998 (2 folders)
Box 1 International Society for Comparative Adult Education (ISCAE) 2006

Return to top