Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Iris Ship's log

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Iris (Frigate)
Title: Iris Ship's log
Inclusive Dates: 1779-1780
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: The Iris was originally the Continental frigate Hancock before it was captured and renamed by the British in 1777. Log consists of two sections in a slipcase, "Harbour transactions on board His Majesty's Ship Iris, James Hawker, esq., Commander. Edwd. Gould; Aug.[u]st 18th, 1779"; and: "A journal of a voyage from Plymouth to New York."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Iris was originally the Continental frigate Hancock before it was captured and renamed by the British in 1777.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Iris Ship's Log consists of two sections in a slipcase, "Harbour transactions on board His Majesty's Ship Iris, James Hawker, esq., Commander. Edwd. Gould; Aug.[u]st 18th, 1779"; and: "A journal of a voyage from Plymouth to New York."

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several other 18th and 19th century ship's logs. Please search the Classic Catalog , for "ship's logs" for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gould, Edward.
Hawker, James, commander H.M.S. Iris.

Corporate Bodies

Great Britain. -- Royal Navy.
Hancock (Frigate)
Iris (Frigate)

Associated Titles

Harbour transactions on board His Majesty's ship Iris.
Journal of a voyage from Plymouth to New York.

Subjects

Navigation -- History.

Places

Great Britain -- History, Naval -- 18th century.
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Naval operations.

Genres and Forms

Ships' logs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Iris (Frigate) Ship's log
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Lyman J. Spire.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: Jan 1994
Revision history: 27 Dec 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 5 Nov 2008 - added related material

Return to top

Inventory

Ship's log
SC 124 "Harbour transactions on board His Majesty's Ship Iris, James Hawker, esq., Commander. Edwd. Gould; Aug.[u]st 18th, 1779" Aug. 18, 1779 - Nov 18, 1779 - title leaf and leaves [1]-[6]
SC 124 "A journal of a voyage from Plymouth to New York." Nov. 19, 1779 - Aug. 1, 1780 - leaves [7]-[26]

Return to top