Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hyatt family.Mayor family.
Title: Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection
Inclusive Dates: Undated
Quantity: 5.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, incoming and outgoing; certificates; contracts; family trees; notebooks; notes, books; magazines; and pamphlets. Material pulled from the papers of various members of the Hyatt and Mayor families, especially those of Audella Hyatt and Harriet Hyatt Mayor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

For Biographical History of the Hyatt and Mayor families see the finding aids of individual family members.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection includes correspondence, certificates of birth, marriage, and baptism, contracts, family trees, notebooks and notes, and published material consisting of books on family genealogy, magazines, and pamphlets. The Genealogical materials have been pulled from the papers of various members of the Hyatt and Mayor families, especially those of Audella Hyatt (Mrs. Alpheus Hyatt II) and Harriet Hyatt Mayor. Whenever possible the original source of the materials has been noted on each folder. Also included are unidentified papers from the Hyatt-Mayor family papers consisting of correspondence, subject file, manuscripts, and published material. They have been divided into parts but have been left unarranged within their respective group.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing correspondence, correspondence to and from others, and correspondence arranged by subject. Incoming and outgoing correspondence consists of letters to and from various family members of the Hyatt and Mayor families. Correspondence by subject consists of a letter-file and a large folder entitled "Letters Giving the History of the Mayor Family." Subject File includes certificates of birth, baptism, and marriage, chancery proceedings, contracts, DAR applications, family trees, notebooks, notes and wills. Published Material contains books, magazines, and pamphlets on genealogy. Unidentified papers from the Hyatt-Mayor family papers consist of correspondence, artifacts, a map, photographs, and negatives, a photobook, postcards, manuscript materials and published materials.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming letters are arranged alphabetically by author and outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically. Correspondence to and from others is arranged alphabetically by author. The original order of the correspondence has been maintained for both groups, with the exception of a few items removed from the letter-file. Items removed from the letter-file are arranged alphabetically by author following the letter-file. Subject File is arrange alphabetically by type. Published Material is also arranged alphabetically by type, but is then organized alphabetically by title. Unidentified papers are divided into parts but have been unarranged within their respective group.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections for the Hyatt-Mayor families. For information on members of the Hyatt, Mayor, Beebe, and Huntington families see the SCRC Subject Index for the finding aids of individual family members.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hyatt family.
Hyatt, Audella Beebe, 1840-1932.
Mayor family.
Mayor, Alfred Goldsborough, 1868-1922.
Mayor, Harriet H. (Harriet Hyatt), 1868-1960.

Subjects

Genealogy.

Genres and Forms

Birth certificates.
Books.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Genealogies.
Magazines (periodicals)
Maps.
Marriage certificates.
Negatives (photographs)
Notebooks.
Notes.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Postcards.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hyatt-Mayor Genealogical Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 1966?
Revision history: 20 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming Correspondence
Box 1 Outgoing Correspondence 1913, 1914
Box 1 Correspondence To and From Others
Correspondence by Subject
Following letters transferred from the Audella Beebe Hyatt Collection
Incoming Correspondence
Box 1 A - D
Box 1 F
Box 1 Hyatts (various)
Box 2 Hyatts (various)
Box 2 H, J - M
Box 2 O
For further correspondence of Lizzie A. Hyatt Ogden on genealogy See Audella Beebe Hyatt Collection, Correspondence by Subject, Notebook
Box 2 S, T, W
Box 2 Unidentified
Outgoing Correspondence
Box 2 1889-1890
Box 2 Correspondence To and From Others
Box 2 "Letters Giving the History of the Mayor Family" (transferred from the Alfred Goldsborough Mayor)
Subject File
Box 3 Certificates - Birth, Baptism
Box 3 Certificates - Marriage
Box 3 Chancery Proceedings
Box 3 Contracts (3 folders)
Box 3 D.A.R. applications
Box 3 Family Trees
Box 3 "Indexed Genealogical Register"
Box 4 Notebook (2)
Box 4 Notes (transferred from the Audella Beebe Hyatt Collection) (3 folders)
Box 5 Notes (transferred from the Harriet Randolph Hyatt Mayor Collection) (5 folders)
Box 5 Notes (3 folders)
Box 5 Wills - William Hyatt 1910
Published Material
Books:
Box 6 Beebe Genealogy
Box 6 Beebe Genealogy
Box 6 Direct Line from Robert and Mary Reynolds
Box 7 Mayer Family
Box 7 Reynolds Family 1530-1959
Box 7 Robert and Mary Reynolds of Boston and the Hyatt Family
Box 8 Welsh-Hyatt and Kindred
Magazines:
Box 8 Early Settlers of New York
Box 8 The Magazine of American Genealogy
Box 8 New England Historical and Genealogical Register
Pamphlets:
Box 9 The Edson Story (transferred from the Anna Hyatt Huntington Collection)
Box 9 A - I (transferred from the Harriet Randolph Hyatt Mayor Collection)
Box 9 R - S
Box 9 Goldsborough
Box 9 Mayer Family
Box 9 Scottish Record Society - The Burgesses and Guild Brethren of Glasgow
Box 9 Scottish Record Society - Calendar of Writs
Box 9 Scottish Record Society - Inventory of Pitfirrane Writs
Box 9 Scottish Record Society - Protocol Book
Box 9 Scottish Record Society - Roll of Edinburgh Burgesses
Unidentified Papers from the Hyatt-Mayor Family Papers
Box 10 Correspondence
Subject File
Box 10 Artifacts
Box 10 Map, Baltimore City 1864
Box 10 Photographs and Negatives
Box 10 Photographs and Negatives - Photobook
Box 10 Postcards
Box 10 Manuscripts
Published Material
Box 10 Book - Der Schulmeister von Tannenrode

Return to top