Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Wesley Hyatt Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hyatt, John W. (John Wesley), 1837-1920.
Title: John Wesley Hyatt Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1869-1945
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection consists of the Executive Committee Meeting Minutes of the Celluloid Company, 1890 to 1905, two bound volumes of patents obtained by John Wesley Hyatt, including one for the first celluloid billiard ball and several other patents for billiard ball coatings and knife-handles; a booklet on Hyatt's acceptance of the Perkin Medal, 1914; six photographic portraits; and a relief sculpture of the John Wesley Hyatt commemorative award.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Wesley Hyatt (1837-1920) was an American manufacturer in the plastics field, and the inventor of celluloid.

Born in Starkey, New York in 1837, at the age of 16 Hyatt began work as a printer in Illinois and later in Albany, New York, where he eventually set up his own manufacturing company which became the Albany Billiard Ball Company. In his experiments, Hyatt discovered the solvent action of camphor on cellulose nitrate under moderate heat and pressure, creating celluloid. This was the basis of his 1870 patent. He also developed the necessary machinery for working his new material.

One of the first uses of the new plastics material was for making denture plates and Hyatt formed the Albany Dental Plate Company in 1870. In 1872, its name was changed to the Celluloid Manufacturing Company and in 1873 the company moved to in Newark, New Jersey.

Hyatt was awarded the Perkin Gold Medal in 1914, given by the Society of the Chemical Industry, and was posthumously inducted into the Plastics Hall of Fame in 1974.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Wesley Hyatt Collection consists of the Executive Committee meeting minutes of the Celluloid Company, 1890 to 1905; two bound volumes of patents obtained by John Wesley Hyatt, including one for the first celluloid billiard ball and three seperate patents regarding billiard balls, knife-handles, and other articles; six photographic portraits of Hyatt; and a booklet on Hyatt's acceptance of the Perkin Medal, 1914. Also included is a relief sculpture by Paul Manship of the John Wesley Hyatt commemorative award.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. There are also related artifacts.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hyatt, John W. (John Wesley), 1837-1920.

Corporate Bodies

Celluloid Manufacturing Company.
Plastics Hall of Fame.

Subjects

Billiards -- Equipment and supplies.
Celluloid.
Patents.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Minutes.
Patents.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Inventors.
Manufacturers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Wesley Hyatt Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Dewey Rainville and James DeBenedetto, and of the John Wesley Hyatt family

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Jun 2009 - books, photos redistributed (MRC); 22 April 2011 - added material and updated finding aid. (CEG); June 2012 - added Perkin medal and updated finding aid (SDG)

Return to top

Inventory

Legal
Box 1 Patents 1869, 1871, 1907 - "improvement in processes of coating billiard balls, knife-handles, and other articles" with drawings, "improved method of coating billiard balls, &c." and an agreement between John Wesley Hyatt, H. Parker Marshall, Albert H. Sanborn, Joseph G. Spurr and Albert Albright Jr. involving billiard balls
Photographs
Box 1 John Wesley Hyatt undated - two distinct black and white portraits (6 prints)
Sculpture
Box 2 Relief sculpture by Paul Manship [1945] - Model for the John Wesley Hyatt commemorative award
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Celluloid Company, Executive Committee meeting minutes December 17, 1890 through February 21, 1905 - leather bound, handwritten ledger; includes report on the September 4, 1898 fire
Box 1 Patents 1883-1918, late 19th century (2 volumes)
Box 1 Perkins medal and acceptance speech 1914
Box 1 Purple award ribbon undated
Box 1 Tupperware managers seminar ribbon 1954

Return to top