Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ruth H. B. Hunt Travel Diaries

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hunt, Ruth, H. B.
Title: Ruth H. B. Hunt Travel Diaries
Inclusive Dates: 1913-1942
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Wife of Colonel Elvid Hunt, U.S. Army. Four travel journals covering trips within the United States (includes cities in California, Arizona, Utah and Nevada as well as various national parks such as Yosemite. Two travel journals covering trips abroad (China, Manchuria, Korea, Japan, England and continental Europe).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ruth Hubble May Brockway Hunt was the wife of Elvid Hunt, United States Army officer, and a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution. She traveled extensively with her husband and wrote detailed accounts of their journeys.

[Biographical sketch derived in part from information posted by later descendants at http://genforum.genealogy.com/hunt/messages/3386.html.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ruth H. B. Hunt Travel Diaries consists of six travel journals. Four travel journals cover trips within the United States (including cities in California, Arizona, Utah and Nevada as well as various national parks such as Yosemite). Two travel journals covering trips abroad (China, Manchuria, Korea, Japan, England and continental Europe).

The diaries are handwritten. Five are bound in red with locations and dates are stamped in gold on the front cover of each. One is a photocopy of a typescript.

There is also a typescript entitled "The Odell Inn at Irvington on the Hudson by Ruth H. B. Hunt" which includes the history and some sketches of the inn.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Diaries are in chronological order. Typescript is foldered at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the papers of Ruth Hunt's husband, Elvid Hunt.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hunt, Elvid, 1877-1955.
Hunt, Ruth, H. B.

Subjects

National parks and reserves -- United States -- Description and travel.
Travelers' writings, American.
Women travelers.

Places

China -- Description and travel.
England -- Description and travel.
Japan -- Description and travel.
Korea -- Description and travel.
Manchuria (China) -- Description and travel.
Philippines -- Description and travel.
Southwest, New -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Typescripts.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ruth H. B. Hunt Travel Diaries,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Diaries
Box 1 1913 England and Continental Europe Journal (1 volume)
Box 1 1928 China, Manchuria, Korea and Japan (1 volume)
Box 1 1929-1930 [Philippines and Fort Deming] - typescript
Box 1 1936 Yosemite, Sequioa National Park, General Grant Park; Yellowstone, Glacier, Ranier [sic], Olympic Peninsula (1 volume)
Box 1 1936, 1938 Columbia River and Redwood Highway; Salt Lake City, Brice Canyon, Zion Canyon, Las Vegas (1 volume)
Box 1 1936, 1938 Lake Tahoe and Mount Lassen; Sonoro and the Mining Towns; Santa Barbara; An Attempt at Death Valley; Death Valley (1 volume)
Manuscripts
Box 1 "The Odell Inn at Irvington on the Hudson by Ruth H. B. Hunt"

Return to top