Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Herbert C. Hunsaker Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hunsaker, Herbert Cason, 1891-
Title: Herbert C. Hunsaker Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1920-1984
Quantity: 12.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Hunsaker was involved in adult education for over sixty years. Papers include brochures, clippings, correspondence, memoranda, pamphlets, reports, speeches, transcripts and audio discs, and materials related to Hunsaker’s thesis. Best represented are the dissertation materials, his international activities with World Education, U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) and Unesco, and his activities related to professional conferences and seminars. Of interest are the papers related to his China and Middle East tours. Significant correspondents include Rewi Allen, George E. Davis, Thomas B. Keehn and Hunsaker’s family. Among the personal papers are those concerning Hermann H. Field, for whom Hunsaker acted as absentee executor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Herbert Cason Hunsaker's involvement with adult education spanned over sixty years. His work led him to the Middle East and to China, as well as most of the United States. Hunsaker was active in many professional organizations and civic groups. In 1967, he was President of the Adult Education Association (AEA). He was also instrumental in the establishment of the China Tour Committee of the AEA, along with the International Associates. He made a great many speeches to a variety of adult educators, students, and to the general public.

His interests and concerns were centered around three themes: internationalism; school and community relations; and continuing education. These three interests intertwined throughout his life.

Hunsaker began his professional career as a college administrator at University of Newark (Rutgers University) in 1926, then worked his way up to Dean of Adult Education at Cleveland College. During his time at Cleveland Hunsaker worked for Unesco, along with serving in the army during World War II. Taking a leave of absence from Cleveland College, he returned to Teacher's College at Columbia University, where he had earned his M.A. in 1928, to work on a doctorate in education. It is not clear whether he earned the PhD, but in 1955 he returned to academe as Professor of Adult Education and Assistant Director, Division of Adult Education, Purdue University. This was his last academic position.

In 1962 Hunsaker took a leave of absence from Purdue University until 1964 when he retired. From 1962 to 1965 he was a United States Agency for International Development (USAID), Adult Education Advisor stationed in Turkey. From 1965 to 1969 he did the same in Afghanistan. In 1965, as an interim assignment, Dr Hunsaker was loaned by USAID to Unesco Fundamental and Literacy Education Division for two months to help plan a pilot project in Functional Literacy for Pakistan.

Hunsaker retired from USAID in 1969. He then worked for World Education as a Consultant and Field Representative in literacy planning education. This was an AID sponsored and financed project headquartered at Literacy House, Lucknow, India. While on this assignment Hunsaker traveled throughout the Middle East, the Philippines, and Thailand. He held this position until 1972 when he retired for a third time.

In 1972 Herbert and Marion Hunsaker returned to their home in West Lafayette, Indiana. Continuing to work as a part-time consultant for World Education and the International Council of Adult Education, the Hunsakers at once began another project which was a series of tours sponsored by the AEA China Tour Committee and by the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) of both the Middle East and China. The Hunsakers led a fourth, and possibly a fifth tour.

Hunsaker Chronology

1898: Born, White Salmon, Washington
1922: A.B. Univ of Washington
1928: M.A. Columbia
1937: LL.B. Univ of Newark (Rutgers)
1926-39: Asst to President, Registrar, Assoc Dean, and Prof of Adult Education, Univ of Newark.
1939-41: Field representative AAAE
1941-55: Dean Cleveland College (Western Reserve Univ)
1942: Bureau of Special Operations, Office of War Information
1949: U.S.delegate to International Conf on Adult Education (Denmark)
1949: Member of UNESCO's Consultative Comm on Fundamental and Adult Education
1955: PhD from Columbia University [?]
1955-62: Professor of Adult Education and Asst Dir, Div of Adult Education, Purdue University
1960: President of Adult Education Association
1961-69: Near East-South Asia Division, USAID
1962-65: Adult Education Advisor, USAID, Turkey
1962-64: Leave of absence from Purdue University
1965-69: Education Advisor, USAID, Afghanistan
1965: Unesco, Functional Literacy for Pakistan
1969-72: World Education Field Representative

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hunsaker collection has been arranged in the order in which it was found. There was little evidence that it had been rearranged by a third party. Four of the seven series in this collection represent evident categories. They are: Doctoral Theses; Professional Organizations; Middle East and China Tours; and Personal Papers. Three other series were created to deal with material found in files labeled "pending" that were scattered through out the collection or in files with other documents whose labels did not reflect their contents. These are: Correspondence; Professional; and Pamphlet File.

The types of materials included in this collection are: correspondence; memoranda; telegrams; agenda and minutes, reports, holographic notes; published flyers, brochures and pamphlets; offprints; newspapers clippings; photographs; audio discs; and scrap books.

The strength of this collection lies in the Doctoral Thesis and Personal series. The Doctoral series is important because of the many personal interviews Hunsakar conducted as part of his research. Transcripts of all interviews exist. Audio discs were made for a good number of the interviews. While attending Teacher's College, Hunsaker taught and attended a number of seminars. Good coverage of this time period can be found in this collection. The Personal Papers series is fragmented and covers only a limited time period. It is rich in Hunsaker's opinions about a great many things. The Personal series tells us about his wife Marion Hunsaker as well.

Other areas of interest and strength in this collection are the sub-series "Speeches and Publications," and "World Education."

Documentation related to Hunsaker's activities in professional organizations and institutions of higher education is sparse. Some of these materials may be found in organizational collections such as AEA, or at the institutional archives of Newark University, Cleveland College and Purdue University.

At the end of several series and sub-series one may find the category "not sorted." This refers to material related to the series, but not fully processed.

The conventions used in this inventory begin with series, followed by sub-series, then folder titles, and finally folder contents. Folder contents are not given for all cases.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Rewi, 1897-
Davis, George E.
Field, Hermann H., 1910-
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Hunsaker, Herbert Cason, 1898-
Keehn, Thomas B.

Corporate Bodies

American Association for Adult and Continuing Education.
Association for Continuing Higher Education (U.S.)
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations.
International Council for Adult Education.
Unesco.
United States, Agency for International Development.
World Education (Organizations : United States)

Subjects

Adult education.

Genres and Forms

Agendas.
Brochures.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Memoranda.
Minutes.
Photographs.
Reports.
Scrapbooks.
Sound recordings.
Speeches.
Telegrams.
Transcripts.

Occupations

Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Herbert C. Hunsaker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Herbert Hunsaker.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MH
Date: 24 Jul 1991
Revision history: 3 May 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Doctoral thesis [DT]
The files in this series include correspondence, published and unpublished reports, curriculum materials, interview transcripts, teaching notes and course materials, class notes, and manuscript materials relating to Hunsaker's doctoral thesis. The inventory is not a comprehensive description of the contents of this series.
With a few exceptions, the file headings in this series are Hunsaker's. In some instances file headings have been slightly rewritten for clarity and filing purposes. For example, "Materials & Correspondence from European Trip - Council for Student Travel - 1957" now reads, "Council for Student Travel, 1957." Proper names have been inverted. For example, R.J. Blakely now reads Blakely, R.J. The contents of these files have been left undisturbed.
The file headings are of several types. There are topical headings, names files, organization files, project titles, and descriptive headings related to Hunsaker's thesis. The Doctoral Thesis series remains in its original order, with the exceptions noted above.
Research Materials / Field Trip [RM/FT]
All material in this sub-series was gathered between 1954 and 1955. Some of the items pre-date 1954. The series is arranged alphabetically by geographic location or institution. The folder titles are Hunsaker's with the exceptions noted above.
Box 1 Field trip itinerary
Box 1 Alabama - correspondence; pamphlets; notes
Box 1 American Council on Education - correspondence, proposal
California
Box 1 Correspondence, notes and memorandum; reports; miscellaneous
Box 1 Printed materials
Box 1 Clark University - committee minutes
Box 1 Columbia University - nursing service
See also Institute for Adult Education
Box 1 Contra Costa Journal College - adult education pamphlets
Box 1 Florida (2 folders)
Box 1 Fundamental Education, Board of
Box 1 Georgia Fact Finding Committee 1938 - project proposals
Box 1 Georgia State System of Higher Education
Box 1 Hunter College Community Experience Program
Box 1 Illinois
Box 1 Indiana
Box 1 Kellogg Foundation
Box 1 Michigan State College
Box 1 Oglebay Institute
Box 1 Oregon (3 folders)
Box 1 Pennsylvania State University
Box 1 Reed College
Box 1 Springfield College
Box 1 Texas
Box 1 University Adult Education 1953-1955 - correspondence; offprints; speech typescripts [John B. Schwertman; Cyril O. Houle; Paul A. McGhee; Milton S. Eisenhower]
Box 1 University of Chicago
Box 1 University of Georgia - pamphlets and leaflets; "community club" publications; work book for club; correspondence; notes; newspaper clippings
University of Michigan
Box 1 Correspondence; notes; bulletins; printed reports; minutes
Box 1 Pamphlets; brochures
Box 1 Newsletter; reports and miscellany; annotated bibliography on community councils; press release; telecourse syllabi
Box 1 University of Minnesota - correspondence and notes; questionnaire; report, 1951; promotional literature; typescript history of Bureau of Institutional Research
Box 1 University of Nebraska
Box 1 University of North Carolina - correspondence and notes; reports; conference materials; pamphlets; periodicals; brochure; newspaper offprints
University of Oregon
See Oregon
Box 1 University of Pittsburgh
Box 1 University of Tennessee
Box 2 University of Virginia - correspondence; commencement address, 1947; publicity; Extension Division Bulletin - New Dominion Series, No 118(1950) - No 144 (1953). Incomplete
University of Washington
Box 2 Correspondence; notes; reports; interview transcript
Box 2 Assorted printed materials dealing with adult education; clippings
Box 2 University of Wisconsin - correspondence; reports (Bureau of Community Development); pamphlets and brochures; miscellaneous
Box 2 Washington State College
Western Reserve University
Box 2 Correspondence; offprints; papers; history of School of Medicine; report on adult education; clippings
Box 2 The Students of Cleveland College 1950
Interviews [INTV]
During Hunsaker's field trip across the country he interviewed a good number of adult educators. These interviews were either tape recorded or transcribed by Hunsaker. The transcripts of these interviews went through numerous versions. When Hunsaker finally finished transcribing the interviews they were sent to the interviewees for further correction. Hunsaker also requested permission to use the material for his thesis. Because of the number of iterations each interview went through, there is a redundancy in this series. The files follow his arrangement which is alphabetical by last name.
Box 2 Interviews and taped interviews - pages from thesis and notes
Box 13 Interview recordings (26 audiodiscs)
Transcripts and correspondence (completed)
Box 2 L to S
Box 2 T to Z
Transcripts
Box 2 A to D
Box 2 E to K
Box 2 L to R
Box 2 S to Z
Box 2 Transcripts -- rough drafts [not sorted] (3 folders)
Box 2 Transcripts -- assorted
Box 2 Correspondence -- permission requests -- A to R (not sorted)
Seminars [SEM]
This material is arranged chronologically. For seminars that met over the course of several years, the folder is filed by the initial meeting date.
Box 2 Seminar in Higher Education 1952-1953 - printed materials
Box 2 University Seminar on Higher Education 1953-1955
Box 2 Institute for Adult Education [IAE], 1941-1954
Box 2 Course related materials 1954
Box 2 Report of the Dean, 1950; Publication list; offprints by Jacob Tuckman and Irving Lorge
Community Development seminar
Box 2 Course materials (2 folders)
Box 2 Questionnaire
Box 3 Evaluations
Role of the University and College in Community Development seminar
Box 3 Correspondence
Box 3 Course materials
Box 3 Course notes
Box 3 Planning - notes; reports; memorandum; Dept of Services & Project Conference in Administration
Thesis [THS]
The material in this subseries includes numerous versions of Hunsaker's doctoral thesis and his notes. The folder labels and their contents remain as they were found. Obvious carbon copies have been removed along with blank forms. The series is arranged as found.
Box 3 "A Study of Some of the Practices and Problems Involved in Extending the Resources of Colleges and Universities into their Communities" 1955? - [incomplete draft with editing marks] (2 folders)
Box 3 "The Role of the College and University in Community Development" 1955 - [incomplete draft with editing marks]
Box 3 Chapters II and III - draft with editing marks
See also Chapter II and Chapter III
Box 3 Committee correspondence and comments
Box 3 Project outlines and suggested titles
Box 3 Outlines of project
Box 3 Project statements
Box 3 Material for HCH project - notes and printed materials
Box 3 Miscellaneous ["notes"]
Chapter I
Box 3 Purposes and procedures
Box 3 HCH Project
Box 3 Chapter II: Changing Role of Higher Education
See also Chapters II and III
Chapter III
See also Chapters II and III
Box 3 University in Community (rough draft) (2 folders)
Box 3 University and Community interviews (rough)
Box 3 Fund Toward Community Central Education
Box 3 Extending Community and Universities into Community
Box 3 Chapter IV: Community Development (3 folders)
Box 3 chapter IV (final)
Box 3 Chapter V: Education for Change
Chapter VI
Box 3 Next steps (rough)
Box 3 "Statement prepared by .... for Annual National Conf on Higher Education" [Chapter VI]
Box 3 Not sorted
Personal Data [PD]
Box 3 Application to Columbia University [PhD]; transcripts; correspondence; memoranda
Box 3 Fund for Adult Education 1953-1955 - fellowship application; correspondence; expenses; printed materials.
Professional [PROF]
Academic Activities and Conferences [ACT]
This subseries includes materials relating to Hunsaker's activities as an educator and an administrator in institutions of higher education. Material pertaining to Hunsaker's doctoral studies at Columbia University can be found in the series "Doctoral Thesis." Also included here are conference materials dated between 1936 - ca 1955. The material is arranged in a chronological order.
Cleveland College
Box 3 Correspondence; reports; minutes 1951-1955
Box 3, 4 Clippings (3 folders)
Clippings (oversized)
See Cleveland College scrapbook
Regional Conference on Universities and World Affairs 1952-1953 - conference materials; Universities and World Affairs No's 1-22 (2 folders)
Box 4 Annual Faculty Conference 1953
See also Pamphlet files
Box 4 University of Newark - correspondence; clipping
Box 4 Comprehensive Seminar 1954 - minutes
Herald Tribune Forum for High Schools
Box 4 1954
Box 4 1955
Box 4 1956
Box 4 1957
Box 4 undated - correspondence; statements; biographic data
Box 4 1955-1956, clippings
National Training Laboratories [NTL]
Box 4 "Report of the Ninth Summer Laboratory Sessions," Bethel Maine; NTL documents 1955
Box 4 Staff meeting in Ann Arbor, 1954; New York City Planning meeting materials, 1955
Box 4 Printed materials
Box 4 Purdue University
Box 4 Correspondence, reports, George Davis 1955-1978 (2 folders)
Box 4 WBAA Interview materials 1958, 1961
Box 4 Clippings (3 folders)
Dept of Gerontology
Box 4 Preliminary Report 1959
Box 4 Correspondence, memoranda, notes, reports
Box 4 Bartholomew County Retirement Study
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Proposal for the Further Education of Public Officials, Cultural and Civic Leaders 1960
Box 4 Southern Regional Education Board 1960
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Educators Conference on Employee Relations 1956 - correspondence; proceedings; miscellaneous
Box 4 Ann Arbor Leadership Conference 1960 - conference materials
Box 4 Professors of Adult Education Conference 1960 - proceedings (transcript)
Box 4 The Mentors at the University of Georgia 1974 - memorandum; statements by Mentors, miscellaneous, correspondence
Box 4 Photographs
Box 4 Retirement
Box 4 Conference miscellany
Box 4 Miscellany - offprints; reports; speeches (not HCH); documents
Box 4 Not sorted
Speeches and publications [S&P]
These folders include printed materials, notes, drafts, and corrected typescript copies of speeches. Folder labels are Hunsaker's.
Box 5 Speech materials (2 folders)
Box 5 Materials for Paper and Speech for International Conf on University Adult Education 1960
Box 5 HCH Writings and Speeches
Box 5 H. C. Hunsaker Speeches (5 folders)
Box 5 School Executive - correspondence; manuscript; printed materials
Box 5 Articles (offprints)
Studies [STD]
This subseries includes mostly community analysis projects. There are a good number of reports scattered through the Hunsaker collection. Most can found under their sponsoring organization.
New York State, University Community Cooperation Project 1952-1954
Box 5 Reports and proposals; minutes; correspondence; notes; pamphlets; offprints
Box 5 Printed reports
Box 5 Printed materials; clippings; offprints
Box 5 Port Angeles, Washington, Community Study 1954
Box 5 Community Education Project of San Bernardino Valley College 1953 - memos; class materials; reports; miscellaneous
Box 5 Castle Rock Community Study, Washington 1954 - printed materials, clippings
Box 5 Dayton Council on World Affairs 1953
USAID [USAID] 1961-1969
Administrative
Box 5 Correspondence and employment records
Box 5 Rural Development Research Project Seminar; reports
Turkey
Box 5 "Fotos [black and white photographic prints] of participants and students in literacy classes"
Box 5 USAID publications
Box 5 Newspaper clippings
Box 5 Afghanistan
Unesco 1965
Pakistan
Box 5 Engineering education project
Box 5 Correspondence; reports; proposals
Box 6 Miscellaneous papers
World Education [WED] 1969-1972
Administrative
Box 6 USAID contracts 1969-1972
Box 6 Annuals reports 1971, 1972, 1976
Box 6 Eevaluation report 1973
Box 6 World Education reports 1972-1979
Box 6 Promotional
Publications
Box 6 The Month in Review 1972-1973
Box 6 World Education 1970-1972
Box 6 World Education Issues 1972-1974
Box 6 World Education Reports 1972-1979
Box 6 Literacy Projects 1969-1972 - general reports
Box 6 Miscellaneous - notes and documents
Afghanistan
Box 6 Correspondence and reports 1971-1972
Box 6 Orientation publications and reports
Box 14 Project report 1971
Box 6 Clippings (2 folders)
Box 6 Bangladesh 1972 - project proposal
India (Literacy House)
Box 6 USAID / India Literacy Board agreements 1971-1972
Box 6 Literacy House Work Plan and Budget [three versions] 1971
Box 6 Correspondence 1969-1981, undated - All correspondence to and from HCH written while under contract to World Education is filed here. Also "cc" copies from third party letters. (5 folders)
Box 6 Correspondence, Welthy Fisher
Box 6 Correspondence, not sorted
Reports
Box 6 HCH; by others 1971-1972 - reports cover, to varying degrees, all the countries listed under World Education
Box 6 HCH: India Literacy Board Orqanizational Study 1971
Box 6 Workshop and publicity on functional literacy and family life planning education 1972
Box 15 Photograph album (from people at Literacy House, India) 1969
Box 6 Photographs (B&W) of participants at the XXI Writers Workshop 1970
Box 14 Photographs (B&W) of participants at the XXI Writers Workshop [oversize] 1970
Box 6 Travel itinerary 1970
Box 6 Project proposals, travel notes; incomplete letters and reports
Iran
Box 6 Correspondence; reports
Box 14 Work-Oriented Adult Literacy Pilot Project in Iran: Principles, Methods and Techniques for Elaboration of Functional Literacy Programmes (Models and Charts), II [Provisional edition, oversized] undated
Box 14 Reports (Unesco) [oversized] ca. 1972
Box 6 Philippines - report and miscellaneous
Box 6 Thailand - reports
Turkey 1970-1972
Box 6 Proposals; reports; memoranda
Box 6 Final report
Box 6 Interview summary with five teachers
Box 6 Teaching aids
Box 14 Annual report, 1971 [oversized] 1971
Correspondence [CORR]
Hunsaker kept a set of "A" to "Z" folders for correspondence and memoranda. The contents of these range form personal to professional. They have been kept intact as listed below. There were also a number of files with correspondence and printed matter that fall under the general heading of professional. They too are listed here.
Box 6 Alley, Rewi 1979-1980s
Box 6 American Arbitration Association 1953
Box 6 Bentley, Harold 1961-1962
Box 6 Ciarlillo, Marjorie 1978-1980
Box 6 Correspondence, B to R
Box 6 Earp, J.B (Jay Public School) 1940
Box 6 Sheats, Paul 1953
Professional Organizations [PROR]
Box 7 American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)
Box 7 Adult Education Association (AEA) (2 folders)
Box 7 Adult Education Association -- China Tour Committee 1977-1981
Box 7 Association for Adult Education of New Jersey (AAENJ)
Box 7 Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE)
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO)
International Associates Committee
Box 7 Meeting agenda; minutes; memorandums; membership data
Box 7 Applicants profiles; general administrative documents; correspondence
Box 7 Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC)
Box 7 College English Association (CEA)
Box 7 Continuing Education Council (CEC) 1977 - correspondence and evaluation documents of M.L. Jones & Associates, Bay Village, Manuscript copy of HCH report, Sept 1977
Box 7 East-West Communication Institute 1972, 1974 - workshop proposal, 1972; Interim Report on International Conf on Integrated Communication for Rural Development, 1974; newsletter
International Council for Adult Education (ICAE)
Box 7 Correspondence
Box 7 Reports
Box 7 National Committee on United States-China Relations 1974, 1978-1980 - correspondence; memorandum; itinerary; publicity; reports; "briefing packet" (2 folders)
Box 7 National University Extension Assoc (NUEA) 1953-1954 - annual conference
US-China Peoples Friendship Association (US-CPFA)
Box 7 Correspondence
Box 7 Events
Box 7 Handbook for Local Tour Coordinators 1980
Box 7 Not sorted
Middle East and China tours
Hunsaker organized and led a series of tours to the Middle East and China between 1976 and 1984 [1985?]. The tours were sponsored by the AEA. This series is divided by tour.
Box 7 Middle East Tour 1976 - correspondence; orientation materials; administrative documents; publicity; miscellaneous
China Tour 1978
Box 7 Correspondence and memoranda
Box 7 Autobiographical statements by tour participants
Box 7 Orientation materials
Box 7 "China Report" [draft and correspondence]
Box 7 "Life Long Learning in China," by tour participants
Box 7 Miscellany
China and Far East Study Tour 1979 - correspondence; publicity
[This trip was canceled]
The People's Republic of China Tour 1980
Box 7 Correspondence
Box 7 Applications and tour evaluations
Box 7 Administrative materials; publicity
Box 7 Manuscript report about trip by participants
Box 7 Miscellany
Box 7 Oriental Adventure 1982 - correspondence; administrative documents; publicity and notes
Box 7 AAACE - Study Tour 1984 - correspondence, miscellaneous
Box 7 Not sorted
Personal
This series includes correspondence to and from Herbert and Marion Hunsaker and their children. The correspondence is arranged in chronological order with both incoming and out-going letters filed together.
Box 7 Biographical
Box 14 Certificates [oversized]
Box 7 Clippings
Box 8 Clippings -- Marion Hunsaker
Box 8 College paper on China 1920
Correspondence
Box 8 Correspondence1962
Box 8 Correspondence1963
Box 8 Correspondence [clipping]1964
Box 8 Correspondence1965
Box 8 Correspondence1966
Box 8 Correspondence 1967
Box 8 Correspondence [clipping] 1968
Box 8 Correspondence 1969
Box 8 Correspondence [clippings] 1970
Box 8 Correspondence 1971
Box 8 Correspondence undated
Box 8 Correspondence, not sorted (2 folders)
Box 8 Council for Student Travel,1957 correspondence; memorandum; reports; publicity
Box 8 Field, Hermann and Kate 1949-1954 - summary of Field case; correspondence; legal documents; clippings
Items relating to the disappearance of Hermann Field, his brother and brother's wife and child while on a trip to Russia. The Hunsakers were friends of the Fields and HCH was absentee executor of HF's estate. Hermann Field was returned to freedom after six years in jail in Communist Poland.
Box 8 Genealogy
Box 8 Jobs, correspondence 1953-1955
Box 8 Lake Erie College 1954, 1971-1976 - correspondence, 1954; 1971-74; board minutes, 1971-76; report; commencement address, 1973; clippings
Box 8 Legal papers
Box 8 Photographs
Box 8 Rotary Foundation
Box 8 Travel
Box 8 White Salmon (Washington) - centennial celebration; [clippings]
Box 8 Not sorted
Pamphlet files
The pamphlets found in the Hunsaker collection were either located in his "Research Material / Field Trip" folders or in separate boxes. All items found in his Research files remain in these folders. The loose pamphlets, series and reports, and offprints have been kept with the collection and are arranged as follows. Periodicals, newsletters and series are arranged alphabetically by title. Subjects headings are listed below. Numbers identify folders.
Box 8, 9 Periodicals (11 folders)
Box 9 Newsletters
Box 9 Series (5 folders)
Box 9 Professional Association imprints (8 folders)
Box 9 UNESCO (4 folders)
Box 9 University imprints (4 folders)
Subjects
Box 10 Adult Education, general
Box 10 Community Dynamics Experiment -- Community studies (3 folders)
Box 10 Conference proceeding and schedules
Box 10 Discussion group methods
Box 10 Exhibition catalogs
Box 10 Government publications, miscellaneous
Box 10 International concerns [oversized in box #10] (4 folders)
Box 10 Music (2 folders)
Box 10 Offprints
Box 10 Public school
Box 11 Papers and reports, general (4 folders)
Box 11 Race relations
Box 11, 12 School - community relations (3 folders)
Box 12 Television and radio
Box 12 The university
Box 12 Dunn, Halbert L. Your World and Mine: Essays on Human Relations. NY: Exposition Pr, 1956. Inscribed to Hunasker by author.
Box 12 Dyer, John. Ivory Towers in the Market Places: The Evening College in American Education. NY: Bobbs-Merrill, 1956. Inscribed to Hunsaker by author.
Box 12 McKee, Elmore M. The People Act: Stories of How Americans Are Coming Together to Deal With Their Community Problems. NY: Harper and Brothers, 1955. Inscribed to Hunsaker by author.
Miscellaneous
Box 14 Audio Tapes -- Lafayette Geographic Society 3 Apr 1974 (2 eight inch reels)
Oversize 1 Cleveland College scrapbook

Return to top