Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Langston Hughes Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967
Title: Langston Hughes Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1937
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A group of typescript and mimeographed poems by the well-known African American poet and writer, with a two-page autobiography and bibliography.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Langston Hughes was a well-known African-American poet, novelist, short story writer, playwright, song lyricist, radio writer, translator, author of juvenile books, and lecturer. He attended Columbia University (1921-1922) and Lincoln University, A.B. (1929). In addition to his writing he was Madrid correspondent for the Baltimore Afro-American, 1937; visiting professor in creative writing, Atlanta University, 1947; poet in residence, Laboratory School, University of Chicago, 1949. (Source: Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2003.)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Four typed pages include the poems "Elderly Race Leaders," "Pattern," "Moonlight Night: Carmel," and "Ballad of Ozie Powell." Among the long poems on eleven sheets of carbon copies are "Air Raid Over Harlem" and "Death in Harlem." The former, which seems to foreshadow the Watts riots, does not appear in Dickinson's list of Hughes' published poems. "Pattern" was later published under the title "Remembrance" and "Alabama Scene," which deals with racial violence, was later published under the title "Ku Klux." Two mimeographed pages contain a brief writer's bio and a list of publications up to 1934. Given by the author to Emanuel van Loggem in Paris, 1937. Hughes was in Europe as War Correspondent to Spain.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The Arna Wendell Bontemps Papers contain correspondence with Hughes and a number of typescripts of his essays and plays.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967.

Subjects

African American poets.
American poetry -- African American authors.
Poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Poems.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Langston Hughes Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Bromer Booksellers, Boston.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 23 Jan 2006
Revision history: 23 Jan 2006 - EAD file created (MRR); 19 Jul 2006 - minor changes to subject headings (MRR); 21 Mar 2014 - corrected number of pages (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Autobiographical material
SC 156 Autobiography - typescript (1 page)
SC 156 Bibliography - typescript (1 page)
Poems
SC 156 Various poems - typescripts and carbon copies (15 pages)

Return to top