Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Robert Huff Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Huff, Robert, 1924-
Title: Robert Huff Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1947-1966
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet. Manuscript and published poems; published material by and about Huff.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Huff (1924-1993) was an American poet. He studied at Wayne State University, where he received his B.A. (1949) and his M.A. (1952) degrees. He taught at the University of Oregon, Fresno State College, and Oregon State College, and was an associate professor of English and a Poet in Residence at the University of Delaware. Mr. Huff's poems appeared in The Paris Review, Harper's, The Atlantic Monthly, The Saturday Review and Poetry, and he authored a volume of verse entitled Colonel Jackson's Ride and Other Poems, (1959).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Huff Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, a subject file, manuscripts and published material.

Biographical material contains biographical data released by The University News magazine of Indiana University. Correspondence includes incoming correspondence from various notables in the field of poetry and one outgoing piece of mail. The single Subject file consists of a promotion sheet for a scheduled reading of Huff's poetry by Huff. Manuscripts contains poems by Huff. Published material includes a newspaper article about Huff and his poems and the published poems of Huff and others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into incoming (arranged alphabetically by sender) and outgoing. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by the title of the poem as it appears in the final draft. Poems are arranged as to whether they appear in a magazine of verse or singly as clippings. They are divided further alphabetically according to the title of the poem.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Huff, Robert, 1924-

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Drafts (documents)
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Huff Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Jul 1967
Revision history: 6 Jun 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 Booth, Philip (Xerox copy) 1961
Box 1 C, H, W (2 Xerox copies) 1957, 1958, 1964
Box 1 Ciardi, John 1964
Box 1 e.e. cummings (Xerox copies with explanatory notes by Huff) 1948-1949, 1951-1952, 1960-1962, undated
Box 1 Engle, Paul (Xerox copies) 1956
Box 1 Hecht, Anthony (Xerox copies) 1958
Box 1 Morehouse, Marion (Mrs. e.e. cummings) (Xerox copy) undated
Box 1 O'Faolain, Sean (Xerox copy) 1964
Box 1 Roethke, Theodore (Xerox copy) 1961
Outgoing
Box 1 1965
Subject file
Box 1 Promotion for scheduled reading by Huff undated
Manuscripts
Poems
Box 1 "Between Wars" 1965 - worksheet and final draft
Box 1 "Fred's Case" 1965 - worksheets
Box 1 "My Tomboy's Doggerel" 1966 - worksheets
Box 1 "Old Astronauts" undated - worksheets and final draft
Box 1 "On Hearing of the Death of Bernard Strempek" 1965 - worksheet and final draft
Box 1 "Passing Through" undated - typescript
Box 1 "September, 1966" 1966 - worksheets and final draft
Box 1 "Spirit Duck" undated - worksheets and final drafts
Box 1 "With Robert Frost at Boiler Bay" undated - typescript and final draft
Published material
Newspaper clippings
Box 1 About The Cardinal 1963
Poems by
Box 1 The Atlantic Monthly 1950, 1954, 1956, 1958
Box 1 Harper's 1947, 1948
Box 1 N W R (North Western Review ?) undated
Box 1 Panorama 1950
Box 1 The Paris Review 1958
Box 1 Poetry 1950
Poems by Huff and Others
Box 1 Folio 1958
Box 1 Milestone 1 1949
Box 1 Milestone 2 1949
Box 1 Milestone 3 1950
Box 1 Milestone 4 undated
Box 1 Poetry Northwest 1959
Box 1 Venture 1963
Box 1 Voices 1955
Box 1 Voices 1963

Return to top