Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Eugene Holman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Holman, Eugene, b. 1895.
Title: Eugene Holman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1944-1961
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Texas oilman, president of Standard Oil. Collection contains memorabilia, published material, and speeches/statements.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eugene Holman (1895-1962) was an American geologist and oilman from Texas. He was an executive (director, vice-president, and then president) of Jersey Standard, part of Standard Oil Company, from 1944-1960. He also served on the Petroleum Administration for the War Council during World War II.

For more information, see the Handbook of Texas Online article, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/HH/fho37.html

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eugene Holman Papers consists of memorabilia, published material, and speeches/statements.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in alphabetical order by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Holman, Eugene, b. 1895.

Corporate Bodies

Standard Oil Company -- History.

Subjects

Petroleum industry and trade -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Reprints.
Speeches.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eugene Holman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010
Revision history: 13 Sep 2018 - processed (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 American Petroleum Institute Gold Medal for Distinguished Achievement 1960 - pamphlet
Published material
Box 1 Reprints of articles by Holman 1946, 1948, 1952
Box 1 Reprint of article by George Scullin, Saturday Evening Post Aug 22, 1959
Speeches and statements
Box 1 Speeches and statements 1944-1961 - various occasions and organizations, including statements to Congressional committees (6 folders)

Return to top