Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Paul Hoffman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hoffman, Paul.
Title: Paul Hoffman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1920-1953
Quantity: 4.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American novelist, poet, short story author (1906-1960). Born in Utica, N.Y. Correspondence (1920-1953); manuscript novels, stories, poems; a journal (1929-1930); published book reviews, poems, and stories by Hoffman; juvenilia and class notes; and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Paul Hoffman was an American author. He wrote poetry, novelettes, short stories, plays, articles, book reviews; he is also the author of the novel Seven Yesterdays.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Hoffman Papers consist primarily of Hoffman's Writings in typescript, manuscript, and printed and published form. These include poems, short stories, articles, and book reviews as well as fragments of his personal journal and some school and college papers. At the end of this series are a few photographs, clippings, and programs. Correspondence covers some thirty years and includes a small amount of miscellanea (printed material, programs).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains largely in original order. The first two boxes of short stories are in alphabetical order by title, but the material in the remaining boxes is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hoffman, Paul -- Archives.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Book reviews.
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Juvenilia.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Hoffman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: --
Revision history: 23 May 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
Box 1 "As Between Bostonians" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 7 pages; short story, typed, 6 pages; short story, typed with pencil corrections, 6 pages
Box 1 "Blood of the Lamb" - short story, typed, 6 pages
Box 1 "At Bohm's and Later" - short story, typed with ink corrections, 7 pages; short story, typed, 7 pgs.
Box 1 "A Chance Meeting" - short story, typed, 9 pages; short story, typed with pencil corrections, 8 pages
Box 1 "A Cheerful Story" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 9 pages
Box 1 "Death and the Maidens" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 6 pages; short story, typed with ink corrections, 5 pages; a short story by Martha Lawrence, typed, 6 pages
Box 1 Folksong at Yetta's - novelette, typed with pencil corrections, 78 pages
Box 1 The Gates of the Sky - novelette, typed, 93 pages
Box 1 "The Gay One" - short story, (plus 1 copy) typed, 20 pages
Box 1 "German Day" - short story, typed, 11 pages "German Day" a short story, typed, 11 pages "German Day" a short story, typed, 16 pages
Box 1 "The Green Thumb of Willard Speck" - short story, typed 30 pages
Box 1 "Grow Old Along with Me" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 11 pages; short story, typed, 11 pages; short story, typed, 21 pages; typed copy, 21 pages
Box 1 "Juliet Was Fourteen" - short story, typed with ink corrections, 10 pages
Box 1 "Imitation of Love" - short story, 21 pages
Box 1 Light and Shadow - novelette, typed, 44 pages
Box 1 "Interrupted Morning" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 31 pages; typed, 32 pages; typed, 15 pages; typed, 16 pages
Box 1 "Lost Art" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 18 pages
Box 1 "Mildred Mary Orr" - a story for True Story Magazine, typed, 20 pages; typed, 38 pages
Box 1 "The Modest Amazon" - short story, typed, 25 pages; typed, 24 pages
Box 1 "The Most Unforgettable Character" - typed, 13 pages
Box 2 "Mrs. Mulrooney makes a Speech" - typed, (plus 2 copies) - 13 pages
Box 2 "Old Home Week" - short story, typed, 21 pages
Box 2 "Picking a Winner" - short story, typed, 5 pages
Box 2 "Pick-up In the Park" - a synopsis typed with pencil corrections, 10 pages
Box 2 Story based an Questionnaire of Mrs. Walter J. Zebb - typed 10 pages, also 2 draft copies - 10 pages
Box 2 Questionnaire from Mrs. Sylvia Neel - a story 26 pages
Box 2 "A Resemblance To Fame" - short story, typed, 41 pages; re-write, typed with pencil corrections, 30 pages
Box 2 "Sacrament" - short story, typed, 6 pages
Box 2 "Sandy Claws Wedding Ring Wyoming" - short story, typed with ink corrections, 22 pages
Box 2 "Sense of Time" - short story (2 copies) with pencil corrections, 14 pages
Box 2 "A Sign in the Sky" - short story (1 copy), typed, 21 p.
Box 2 "Slaughter of an Innocent" - short story, (1 copy), typed 6 pages
Box 2 "Surprise for Willie" - short story, (plus 2 copies), typed, 10 pages
Box 2 "The Long Ago" - short story,, (1 copy), typed, 21 pages
Box 2 "The Street and the People" - (1 copy), typed, 20 pages
Box 2 "The Trip" - short story, typed, 20 pages, plus 1 copy, typed, with pencil corrections, 19 pages
Box 2 The Use of Love or Come, Let Us Kiss and Part - novelette (plus 2 copies) typed, 48 pages
Box 2 "Toby" - short story, (plus 1 copy), typed, 5 pg.
Box 2 "Voyage of Rediscovery" - short story, typed, 22 pages
Box 2 "What Would I Do Without You?" - short story, typed, 22 p. plus copy, typed with corrections (pencil), 27 pages
Box 3 English notebook - in short hand, 52 pages
Box 3 Comparative Literature II class notebook - in shorthand, 114 pages
Box 3 Record book containing class notes - in shorthand, 71 pages
Box 3 The United States of America vs. Two Oil Paintings Et Al" - mss. typed, 18 pages
Box 3 "The Protégés and Escorts" - typed section of a chapter, 9 pages
Box 3 Sketch for a preface - (Gardner Biography)
Box 3 "Country Christmas - A Reminiscence" - typed, 17 pages
Box 3 "Love is Blind" - typed, short story, 7 pages
Box 3 "Act One, Scene One" - typed, 7 pages
Box 3 "The Strange Tea Party" - typed, 9 pages (plus 1 copy)
Box 3 "Jubilee" - typed, 23 pages
Box 3 "Family Portrait" - typed, 9 pages
Box 3 "The Street and the People" - typed short story, 20 pages
Box 3 "Elizabeth" - typed, 13 pages, (plus 1 copy)
Box 3 "Greek God Williams" - typed short story, 6 pages
Box 3 "Lost Art" - typed short story, 19 pages
Box 3 At Yetta's - novelette, typed, 83 pages
Box 4 Folksong - a novelette, typed, 83 pages
Box 4 "A Study of the Role of the Moon in the Poems of Samuel Taylor Coleridge" - typed, 16 pages (English class paper), plus 1 copy
Box 4 "Mr. Turk and Miss Hammer" - typed, 17 pages
Box 4 Mr. Ingalls" - short story, typed, 23 pages
Box 4 "Love Story" - short story, typed plus 1 copy, 6 pages
Box 4 "Sense of Time" - short story, typed, 4 pages
Box 4 "Brave Farewell" - short story (plus 2 copies), typed, 9 pages
Box 4 "Touché" - short story (plus 1 copy), typed, 8 pages
Box 4 "Mud Time" - short story, typed 21 pages plus 1 copy
Box 4 "All Dressed Up and No Place to Go" - short story typed 25 pages
Box 4 "Dutchy" - short story, typed, 18 pages plus 1 copy
Box 4 "Choir Rehearsal" - short story, typed, 21 pages
Box 4 "No Turncoats" - short story, typed, 22 pages (plus 1 copy)
Box 4 "Conversation Piece" - short story, typed, 5 pages
Box 4 "Lottie" - short story, typed, 19 pages (plus 1 copy)
Box 4 "Nur Wer Die Sehnsucht Kennt" - short story, typed, 8 pages. plus 1 copy
Box 4 "She Walks in Beauty" - short story, typed, 22 pages
Box 4 "Long Distance Love" - short story, typed, 9 pages
Box 4 "Boston Piece" - short story, (plus 2 copies)
Box 4 "Different" - short story, typed, 4 pages
Box 4 "Old Amy" - short story, typed, 11 pages
Box 4 "Late Love" - short story, typed, 26 pages
Box 4 "Chippy" - short story, typed, 21 pages plus 1 copy
Box 4 "Juliet Was Fourteen" - short story, typed, 10 pages
Box 4 Seven Yesterdays - novel, 3 galleys
Box 5 Seven Days Young - novel, typed 152 pages
Box 5 "Tart But Not Sour" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 4 pages + 1 copy, 5 pages
Box 5 "Dude Girl" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 35 pages plus one copy typed 36 pages
Box 5 "But For the Grace of God" - short story, typed with pencil corrections, 14 pages
Box 5 "De Senectute" - short story, typed with ink corrections, 5 pages
Box 5 "They called Him Tough" - short story, typed, 3 pages
Box 5 "Bean and Belle" - short story, typed, 2 pages
Box 5 "The Dove of Peace" - short story, typed, 3 pages
Box 5 Unfinished novelettes - A. Untitled, typed with pencil corrections 59 pages
B. Untitled, typed with pencil corrections 96 pages
Box 5 Untitled prose mss. - all typed, 12 potential short stories
Box 5 Poetry
Poems are:
1. "Amaryllis" by Gardner Banker, holograph signed, 1 page
2. "A Sonnet to Science," holograph, 6 pages
3. "Biology A," typed, 1 page
4. "Convenience Readymade," holograph, 1 page
5. "De Profundis," typed, 1 page
6. "Empty Glass," holograph, 1 page
7. "Every Man to Other Men," typed, 2 pages
8. "Feuille l'Automne," holograph, 1 page
9. "For Yehudi Menuhin..." typed 1 page
10. "The Gills of Inland," holograph, 1 page
11. "Hagar's Lament," holograph, 1 page
12. "Hamlet Redivivous," typed, 6 pages
13. "In Defiance of Big Business, typed, 2 pages
14. "In Memoriam," typed, 1 page
15. "Judith," typed, 2 pages
16. "Little Go-Flop," holograph, 6 pages
17. "Lonely" typed, 1 page
18. "Loneliness," typed, 1. page
19. "Masque" typed, 10 pages
20. "Mom" typed, 2 pages
21. "To Nazimova," typed, 1 page plus 1 copy
22. "Now and Then,”‘ typed, 3 pages
23. "Outcast," typed 2 pages
24. "Remorse," holograph, 1 page
25. "Rencontre," holograph, 1 page
26. "Sense of Time," holograph and typed, 6 pages
27. "Serenade," typed, 2 pages
28. "Solstice," typed, 1 page
29. "Song of the Machine," typed, 2 pages (3 copies)
30. "Souvenir," 1 typed copy, 1 holograph copy 1 page each
31. "Still Life," typed and holograph, 4 pages
32. "Talisman" typed, 2 copies, 3 pages
33. "Third Quarter, typed, 1 page
34. "Talking To A Turnip," typed, 2 pages
35. "The Children of Moscow," typed, 1 page
36. "Three-Quarters Moon, typed, 1 page
37. "To Marjorie an Christmas," typed, 1 page
38. "Tomorrow," typed, 4 pages
39. "To the Wind in the Chimney," typed, 1 page
40. "To William Stiz," holograph, 1 page
41. "Tristan..." typed, 1 page
42. "Wisdom," printed galley, 1 page
43. "Zweat," holograph, 2 pages
Box 5 Personal journal 1929-1930 - 11 random pages
Box 5 Miscellaneous prose sheets - 222 pages
Box 6 Untitled sheets of poetry - 61 pages
Box 6 Town Topics of the Mohawk Valley, book review of Seven Yesterdays Sept. 1933 - 15 pages
Box 6 Fiction Parade, "Mud Time," a poem by Paul Hoffman March 1937 - 594 pages
Box 6 "Pick-up in the Dark," True Story, May, 1949 - 25 pages
Box 6 True Story July 1949
Box 6 Theatre Magazine Jan. 1926
Box 6 Theatre Magazine August, 1923
Box 6 Harper's Bazaar, "Sense of Time" Sept. 15, 1937 - poem by Hoffman, 136 pages
Box 6 Harper's Bazaar, "The Bad One" April 1934 - short story, 96 pages, plus 1 copy
Box 6 "Ever After," Good Housekeeping Aug. 1949 - 49 pages
Box 6 Printed book reviews by Hoffman
1). "The Burning Cactus, by Stephen Spender
2). "High Spaces" (on Theatre by Somerset Maugham)
3). "The Short Story"
4). Of Time and the River, by Thomas Wolfe
Box 6 College papers and themes October 6, 1928 - May 2, 1932 - Harvard, 36 themes
Box 6 Class notes and sketches - 84 pages
Box 6 Publications - 3 Harvard Examinations; 1 Anglo-Saxon Primer
Box 6 Class papers and themes March - November 1942 - Utica Free Academy, 16 essays
Box 7 Photographs - Hoffman, family, home, Denver vacation & Europe (31 photographs)
Box 7 Miscellaneous - 14 Simplified piano pieces from C.W. Krogmann, the composer; 1 record, "Our Ethical Impasse," an oration by Paul Hoffman
Box 7 Short plays
1). The Chaste Adventures of Joseph by Floyd Dell, 16 pages
2). Moonlight At the Crossroads, by J.M. Ross, 18 pages
Box 7 The Players - 6 programs
Box 7 Miscellaneous programs & clippings
Correspondence
Box 8 1920-1933 - 49 incoming letters
Box 8 1934-1935 - 7 incoming letters
Box 8 1936 - 37 incoming letters
Box 8 1937-1938 - 73 incoming letters
Box 8 1945-1953 - 74 incoming letters
Box 8 Undated letters and those not written to Hoffman - 62 letters
Box 8 Miscellaneous
2 copies of Story Digest, July 1946
1 copy of This Is Beloved, by Walter Benton
1 class day week program
1 Dance Program

Return to top