Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Edward Fenno Hoffman III Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hoffman, Edward Fenno, 1916-
Title: Edward Fenno Hoffman III Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1952-1964
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American sculptor. Collection includes printed material, clippings, correspondence, photographs and other material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edward Fenno Hoffman III (1916-1991) was an American sculptor known for his portraits, children, and religious themes. He studied at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts and worked with Paul Manship briefly. For three years (1952-1955) he was Sculptor in Residence at the Henry Clews Memorial Art Foundation in France, and hs first New York exhibition was in 1956. He was recognized by numerous societies, including a "Best in Show" from the National Sculpture Society (1961), and his work is in the permanent collections of many notable musuems.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward Fenno Hoffman III Papers consists of artwork, biographical material, correspondence, and memorabilia.

Artwork consists of reproductions of Hoffman's work -- mostly photographs but there is also one printed item.

Biographical material contains a brief autobiographical summary, including education, awards, and shows. The latest date given is 1964.

Correspondence is entirely incoming. Correspondents include family ("Auntie Grace"), art world benefactors such as Archer Milton Huntington and Marie Elsie (Mrs. Henry) Clews, and fellow sculptors Henry Rosin, Donald De Lue, EvAngelos "Angelo" Frudakis, and Walter Hancock.

Memorabilia contains clippings about Hoffman, exhibit catalogs, and a brief essay on him by Claude Saulnier.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetically by topic or title. Correspondence is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to American sculptors. Please search our collections to locate additional material.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Clews, Marie, 1880-1959.
De Lue, Donald, 1897-1988.
Frudakis, EvAngelos.
Hoffman, Edward Fenno, 1916-
Huntington, Archer M. (Archer Milton), 1870-1955.
Rosin, Harry.
Saulnier, Claude.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward Fenno Hoffman III Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward Fenno Hoffman III, 1971, 1988.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010
Revision history: 13 Mar 2019 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Artwork reproductions
Box 1 Photographs - photos of Hoffman's sculpture
Box 1 Printed items 1964 - brochure showing a medal designed by Hoffman for Southern Baptists Convention
Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical sketch by Hoffman 1964
Correspondence
Box 1 General 1930, 1948-1952
Box 1 General undated - includes one about Hoffman, giving the writer's thoughts about him
Memorabilia
Box 1 Clippings 1950-1962, 1988, undated
Box 1 Exhibit catalogs and notices 1956, 1961, 1964-1965, 1970, undated
Box 1 "Some comments about the American artist, Ned Hoffman" by Claude Saulnier undated - carbon typescript, printed brochure with excerpt

Return to top