Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Margaret Hitner Photograph Albums

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Margaret Hitner Photograph Albums
Inclusive Dates: 1914-1954
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Family photographs, the majority of which are showing the Hitner family and their relatives in Austria. A few pictures were taken in American cities (New York City, Chicago, Cleveland).
Language: German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret Hitner (5 Feb 1900-10 Sep 1989, née Margarete Althoff) was born in Austria. She was married to John Maurice Hitner (13 Oct 1890-10 Nov 1978) who was also born in Austria and with whom she had a daughter Ingeborg (22 Jun 1929-19 Feb 2002, married later to Carmen A. DiNiro). At the end of the 1930s the family seems to have immigrated to the United States where the census of 1940 has registered them as living in Syracuse, New York. John M. Hitner was employed by The Prosperity Company of Syracuse, New York, a manufacturer of laundry and dry cleaning equipment, before his retirement.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Margaret Hitner Photograph Albums consist of three albums. The majority of the photographs were taken in Austria with some having been sent as postcards with short texts written in German. A few photographs were taken at major American cities such as New York City, Chicago and Cleveland. The photographs from Austria are mostly family pictures with a few shots of the Austrian countryside and of World War II destruction.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The arrangement of the albums seems to be Hitner family in Austria before departure to America, Austrian relatives, travels in America and Europe

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Althoff, Inge.
DiNiro, Ingeborg.
Hitner, John Maurice.
Hitner, Margaret.
Hütner, Leon.

Subjects

Austria -- Pictorial works.
Chicago (Ill.) -- Pictorial works.
Cleveland (Ohio) -- Pictorial works.
Emigration and immigration -- United States.
New York (N.Y.) -- Pictorial works.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Pictorial works.
Vienna (Austria) -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Photographs

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Margaret Hitner Photograph Albums,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ray M. Giebler, 2016

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SM
Date: 27 May 2016
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Oversize 1 Reise-Erinnerungen [Travel Memories] 1914-1939 - Hitner family in Austria; includes many loose photos that have become detached
Oversize 2 Album 1942-1948 - Austrian relatives, including Margaret's niece Inge, her sister and mother
Oversize 2 Photographs - travels in America and Europe, including New York City, Chicago, Cleveland (Ohio)

Return to top