Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Edna Greene Hines Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hines, Edna Greene.
Title: Edna Greene Hines Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1908-1958
Bulk Dates: 1955-1958
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American author and poet. Memorabilia and poems (printed, typescript, handwritten).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edna Greene Hines (1888-1957) was an American author and poet. According to her obituary she was a graduate of Syracuse University, where she majored in English and Latin and was a member of the Board's Head Dramatic Society. In addition to her work as a poet she taught Latin in the Watertown, New York schools for many years and offered private tutoring.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edna Greene Hines Papers contains poems and memorabilia.

Poems contains handwritten, typescript and published poems. Many are annotated by Hines as to when they were written, or for whom. Memorabilia contains photographs and Hines' obituary.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Poems are in alphabetical order by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hines, Edna Greene.

Associated Titles

Candle in the night.
Captured dreams.
The endless trail.
The valley of blue moon.
Underneath the bough.
White butterflies.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Women poets.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edna Greene Hines Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection, gift of Edna Green Hines, 1962.

Some items, gift of Raymond Piper, 1962.

Some items, transferred from University Archives, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010
Revision history: 20 Jun 2011 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Obituary, Watertown Daily Times 26 Dec 1957
Box 1 Photographs circa 1908, 1955, 1956, undated
Poems
Manuscript
Box 1 A-Z 1935-1939, 1942, 1952-1958
Box 1 Untitled 1952, 1956-1957
Printed
Box 1 Books 1939-1957
Candle in the Night (1942)
Captured Dreams (1957)
The Endless Trail (1946)
Underneath the Bough (1940)
The Valley of Blue Moon (1939)
White Butterflies (1949)
Box 1 Clippings undated

Return to top