Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Stephen Hill Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hill, Stephen, fl. 1810-1898.
Title: Stephen Hill Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1810-1898
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Legal and financial documents of a nineteenth-century resident of Madison County, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Stephen Hill was a nineteenth-century resident of Madison County, New York. He lived in Fenner, NY, in the region once known as the "New Petersburgh" tract. He was involved in many land transactions in Madison county and the surrounding area.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stephen Hill Papers contain legal and financial documents related to Hill's interests, mainly in Madison county. The collection consists of three series, the first containing miscellaneous legal and financial papers of Hill, the second containing papers related to his role as executor of the estate of Lurancy(?) Roberts, and the third containing receipts from the NYS Treasury department. Some of the documents involve other Hills who may have been relatives of Stephen, including Daniel Hill and his wife Alice, Daniel Hill Jr., John Hill, and Ambrose Hill.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The items are arranged in chronological order within each series.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hill family.
Hill, Stephen, fl. 1810-1898.

Places

Fenner (N.Y. : Town) -- History.
Madison County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Contracts.
Correspondence.
Deeds.
Financial statements.
Indentures.
Mortgages.
Receipts (financial records)
Stock certificates.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stephen Hill Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 12 May 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Legal and Financial Documents
SC 482 1810-1898 - Legal and financial documents including deeds, indentures, contracts, mortgages, stock certificates, receipts, and payment records.
SC 482 1849-1893 - Legal papers and correspondence related to Hill's role as executor of the estate of Lurancy(?) Roberts.
SC 482 1815-1881 - Receipts from the New York State Treasury for mortgage payments.

Return to top