Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Charles E. Hill Physician's Account Book

A description of his account book at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hill, Charles E.
Title: Charles E. Hill Physician's Account Book
Inclusive Dates: 1847-1897
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Medical receipts of Hill's general practice in Syracuse, New York
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles E. Hill (1825-1910) was a physician in Syracuse, New York during the mid to late nineteenth century. He graduated from the Eclectic Syracuse Medical College in 1850 and studied under a number of doctors based in Central New York, including those in Truxton, Geddes and Syracuse. At the age of 25, Hill enlisted as a private in the Union Army during the Civil War and was assigned as an assistant surgeon with the 12th New York Infantry. During the course of the war, he was a surgeon for the 13th, 158th and finally the 188th New York Infantry, where we was mustered out on May 14, 1863 in Rochester, New York. He reenlisted for an additional year on September 1, 1864, through the end of the war.

After the end of the war, Hill was a medical practitioner in Fabius, New York until 1880, when he moved his practice to Syracuse, New York. He continued to practice medicine until 1907. Hill remained in North Syracuse, New York until his death in 1910.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles E. Hill Physician's Account Book consists of one volume of medical receipts and notes from 1847 to 1897. Each entry lists the name, ingredients and instruction of use for the medicinal treatments of various health issues. There are also a few newspaper clippings describing medicinal recipes from Hill and other doctors from the Syracuse, New York area and an insert with one of Hill's business cards.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hill, Charles E.

Subjects

Medicine -- Practice -- Accounting.
Physicians -- New York (State)

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Physicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles E. Hill Physician's Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MCI
Date: 15 June 2016
Revision history:

Return to top