Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Thomas Higgins, Jr. Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Higgins, Tom, 1922-2000.
Title: Thomas Higgins, Jr. Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1957-1971
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Original cartoons, sketches, proofs, clippings and correspondence.
Language: Majority in English, a few items in Spanish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas J. Higgins, Jr. (1922-2000) was an American cartoonist. Over the course of his long career, his cartoons appeared in many major magazines and trade journals.

Higgins was born in Far Rockaway, New York. During World War II, while stationed in Japan shortly after the dropping of the atomic bomb, his lungs were so badly damaged that Higgins required a two year convalescence in a military hospital. Upon his return to New York after the War, he enrolled in the Cartoonists and Illustrators School and was soon working as a free lance cartoonist.

Higgins' specialty was producing cartoons for niche publications and trade journals, but he also had a number of cartoons published in major magazines like the Saturday Evening Post, Argosy, Theatre Arts, Extension and Parade. Higgins continued to work as a professional cartoonist until his death in San Diego, California.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Higgins, Jr. Papers contains correspondence, original artwork, and published material. Much of the published material appeared in various trade or professional publications such as Illinois Master Plumber (plumbers), Hotel and Club Voice (for hotel, bartender and restaurant workers), and Safe Driving News, a publication of Kennametal (manufacturer of studded tires).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Higgins, Tom, 1922-2000.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Beatles -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Magazine illustration.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Portraits.
Sketches.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Higgins, Jr. Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Thomas Higgins, Jr., 1966-1968, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Jan 1967
Revision history: 17 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 22 Oct 2009 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous, A-Z 1965-1967, 1971 - includes some original art
Original artwork
Box 1 Amebic Amiabilities 1966-1967, undated - includes two clippings of printed items from Antibiotic News and a small amount of correspondence
Box 1 Cartoons undated
Box 1 Kennametal 1968, undated - includes two clippings of printed items from their "Kengrip" newsletter
Box 1 Portraits of the Beatles 1964 - includes newspaper clipping of published version
Box 1 Sketches undated
Printed material
Box 1 Advertiser-Democrat (Norway and South Paris, Maine) 1959-1961
Antibiotic News ("Amebic Amiabilities")
See Original artwork: Amebic Amiabilities.
Box 1 Chicago Purchaser 1958, undated
Box 1 Concrete Highways undated
Box 1 Eastern Ski Bulletin undated
Box 1 Exhaust 1966, undated
Box 1 "Harriet Hobby and Hubby" undated
Box 1 Hotel and Club Voice 1953, undated - includes numerous items in Spanish
Box 1 Illinois Master Plumber 1962, 1963, 1966
Kennametal
See Original artwork: Kennametal.
Oversize 1 McNeil Laboratories 1964-1967 - includes correspondence and some original art as well
Box 1 Modern Retailer 1962, undated
Box 1 Music Journal undated
Box 1 Oxford County Fair 1961 - includes one item of original art
Box 1 Philatelic Leader ("Philatoons") undated
Box 1 Skate 1959-1960
Box 1 Miscellaneous publications, A-Z 1957-1961
Box 1 Unidentified publications 1959, undated

Return to top