Finding Aids
printer friendly version

George Herriman Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Herriman, George, 1880-1944
Title: George Herriman Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1937, 1941
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: 3 original daily cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Krazy Kat.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Herriman (1880-1944) was an American cartoonist and creator of the newspaper comic strip Krazy Kat.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Herriman Cartoons collection contains 3 original daily cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Krazy Kat (1937, 1941). Two of the daily strips from 1937 involve the "Tiger Tea" motif/storyline.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the piano score from the dance production of Krazy Kat: A Jazz Pantomime (1922) with special illustrations by George Herriman (do a title search in the Classic Catalog for "Krazy Kat: A Jazz Pantomime"). An original George Herriman drawing presented to the cartoonist Bruce Russell can be found in the Bruce Russell Papers. Also, Krazy Kat proofs and tearsheets can be located in the Vernon Greene Papers.

Special Collections Research Center has more than 150 collections of cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Herriman, George, 1880-1944.

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Krazy Kat (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Krazy Kat (Fictitious character)

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Herriman Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 25 Mar 2009
Revision history: 25 Mar 2009 - converted to EAD (MD); 17 Apr 2009 - revised (MD); 29 Apr 2011 - revised related material (AM); 12 Jan 2012 - revised box numbers (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Krazy Kat daily cartoons (3)
Oversize 1 March 11, 1937 - [Tiger Tea]
pen and ink on illustration board, 5 ¾ x 23 in.
Oversize 1 March 13, 1937 - [Tiger Tea]
pen and ink on illustration board, 5 ¾ x 23 in.
Oversize 1 December 2, 1941 - ["Him a military person..."]
pen and ink on illustration board, 4 ¾ x 20 ¾ in.

Return to top