Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Vic Herman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Herman, Vic, 1919-1999.
Title: Vic Herman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1943-1974
Quantity: 6.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American illustrator, painter, and commercial artist. Collection includes correspondence, clippings and articles about Herman, and original and published artwork. The bulk of the collection consists of commercial work done for the 7-Up company.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Vic Herman (1919-1999) was an American cartoonist and illustrator. He worked primarily in corporate art, and created many familiar characters such as Winnie the Wac (U.S. Navy), Elsie the Cow (Borden), Reddy Kilowatt (electricity generation industry), 7-UP Sam (7-Up), Lernda Lesson, Roscoe, Al Vann, Keg and Case, Sad Shad (Johnson & Johnson), Mike Master, Two Dollar Joe, Will Selmore, Hy Proof, Mr Magic Motion Mojud Man, The Phillips 66 man, and Bert Brew. He also illustrated and wrote books for elementary public school children and taught at schools in California and at New York University.

Herman began to develop a love for Mexico when he attended Mexican-American elementary schools as a child in California, and when he returned to painting later in his career, some of his work focused on Mexico and Mexican themes. His paintings created a cultural bridge between Mexico and the United States, since both governments individually sponsored his work, and he was known as the "Norman Rockwell of Mexico" and "Ambassador With A Brush." Other high points of his career included covering Mexico for Gourmet magazine, being given a gallery to display his works in Los Angeles from the Mexican government, and being the only American or Mexican to sketch the dances of the Ballet Folklorico de Mexico while on tour.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Vic Herman Papers consists of correspondence, memorabilia, original art and printed material. The bulk of the collection consists of commercial work done for the 7-Up company.

Correspondence contains a small number of letters to Herman from various individuals. A few items relate to Herman's 1973 "Faces of Mexico" exhibit.

Memorabilia includes several articles about Herman and a variety of articles, clippings, advertisements and other material relating to Herman's 1973 "Faces of Mexico" exhibit.

Original art contains paste-ups, sketches, and photocopied proof pages for work Herman did for 7-Up, as well as magazine cartoons and illustrations, some original Winne the WAC cartoons, and miscellaneous sketches and color work.

Printed material contains final printed version of some of the 7-Up publications and a few magazine illustrations.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically by type and then by title; within each title items are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

My Days Are Made of Butterflies by Sano M. Galea'i Fa'apouli, illustrated by Vic Herman, transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Herman, Vic, 1919-1999.
Winnie the WAC.

Corporate Bodies

Seven-Up Company.
United States. -- Army -- Military life.
United States. -- Army. -- Women's Army Corps.

Associated Titles

Pardon my sex, doctor.
Stars and stripes (Newspaper)

Subjects

Advertising.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Commercial art.
Illustrators -- United States.
Nurses -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Physicians -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

Mexico -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Illustrations.
Photographs.
Publicity.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Illustrators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vic Herman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DMW
Date: Nov 1979
Revision history: 6 Jun 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Sep 2010 - processed, updated (MRC); 4 Oct 2019 - additions (MRC); 7 Nov 2019 - name corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1968-1974 - includes some related to "Faces of Mexico"
Memorabilia
Box 1 Articles about
Box 1 Clippings about 1946, 1960, 1964-1967
Box 1 "Many Faces of Mexico" exhibit 1973-1974
Box 1 National Cartoonists' Society Salute to World War II Cartoonists 1965 - includes photographs, article in The 7-Up Leader
Box 1 PR/marketing material - Vic Herman Productions brochures, sample art, testimonials from clients, etc.
Box 1 Sketch of Herman by Bernard D'Andrea - photoreproduction
Box 1 Winnie the WAC material 1965 - includes photographs, newspaper clippings, layout for article on illustration board
Original art
7-Up
Progressive Sales Manual
Oversize 1 Paste-ups, pages 1-71
Oversize 2 Paste-ups, pages 72-146
Sales Maker's Idea Book
Oversize 3 Paste-ups 1969, Nov, Dec
Oversize 3 Paste-ups 1970, Mar, Aug-Dec
Box 1 Proofs and typescript 1970, Mar, Aug-Dec
Oversize 3 Paste-ups 1971, Jan-Feb
Box 1 Proofs and typescript 1971, Jan-Feb
Oversize 4 Paste-ups 1971, Mar-Jul, Dec
Box 1 Proofs and typescript 1971, Mar-Jul, Dec
Oversize 5 Paste-ups 1972, Jan-Feb, May-Dec
Box 1 Proofs and typescript 1972, Jan-Feb, May-Sep (2 folders)
Box 2 Proofs and typescript 1972, Oct-Dec
Oversize 5 Paste-ups Undated
Selling, Advertising and Merchandising with 7-Up SAM
Oversize 6 Paste-ups 1965 Jul, Sep-Dec
Oversize 7 Paste-ups 1966 Jan-Feb, Apr-Dec
Oversize 8 Paste-ups 1967 Jan-Sep, Nov-Dec
Oversize 9 Paste-ups 1968, Jan, Feb, Mar, May, Jun
Magazine work
Oversize 10 Magazine cartoons 1943-1947
Oversize 10 Magazine illustrations 1940-1960
Winnie the WAC
Oversize 10 Miscellaneous cartoons undated
Miscellaneous
Oversize 10 Sketches, color work undated
Printed material
Magazine work
Box 2 Gourmet 1964, 1966
Box 2 In circa 1965
Oversize 10 Miscellaneous illustrations undated
Box 2 Pardon my sex, doctor / Vic Herman, Farrell Publishing circa 1955 - magazine-style collection of Herman's cartoons relating to doctors, nurses, and the medical profession
7-Up
Box 2 Progressive Sales Manual 1960 - proofs and published volume (2 folders)
Box 2 Sales Maker's idea Book 1972 Jan, Feb, Aug, Sep, Oct
Box 2 Selling, Advertising and Merchandising with 7-Up SAM 1966-1967
Oversize 10 Selling, Advertising and Merchandising with 7-Up SAM undated
Box 2 Miscellaneous

Return to top