Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Margaret Kimball Herlihy Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Herlihy, Margaret Kimball.
Title: Margaret Kimball Herlihy Papers
Inclusive Dates: TBD
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscript of book on hair combs, with related photographs
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret Kimball Herlihy (dates unknown) was an American expert on, and collector of, decorative hair combs. At one time her collection exceeded 2500 items, from antique to modern and from dozens of countries. She was a member of the ANtique Comb Collectors Club, frequently lectured and spoke on the topic, and intended to write a book on "head decorations, past and present," but whether the book was ever published is unknown. ["Fabulous comb collection reflects hair style history," Elyria Chronicle Telegram, 17 Sep 1972]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Margaret Kimball Herlihy Papers contains the manuscript for Herlihy's book on antique combs, and related photographs

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Herlihy, Margaret Kimball.

Subjects

Hair ornaments -- History.
Ornamental combs -- History.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Margaret Kimball Herlihy Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ralph Miller, 2019.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 31 Jan 2020
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top