Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

O. Henry Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Henry, O., 1862-1910.
Title: O. Henry Letter
Inclusive Dates: 1902
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from American author O. Henry to George Gilwan Hall, editor of Ainslee's Magazine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

O. Henry (1862-1910), real name William Sydney Porter, was an American writer known for his short stories including "The Gift of the Magi" and "The Ransom of Red Chief." The O. Henry Award, given annually to excellent short stories, is named in his honor.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The O. Henry Letter consists of a single letter from Henry to George Gilwan Hall, editor of Ainslee's Magazine. Includes a printed reproduction used by John Mayfield as a Christmas card in 1956.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hall, George Gilwan.
Henry, O., 1862-1910.

Associated Titles

Ainslee's magazine.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

O. Henry Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Jan 2015
Revision history: 25 Sep 2015 - Mayfield repro added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 720 Hall, George Gilwan (Ainslee's Magazine) 1902

Return to top