Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William F. Heavey Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Heavey, William Francis, 1896-1974.
Title: William F. Heavey Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1934-1964
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American brigadier-general, engineer. Collection includes correspondence (1942-1964); biographical material; manuscript essays; and articles and clippings by and about Heavey.
Language: Bulk in English, a few published items in Spanish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Francis Heavey (1896-1974) was an American military officer who retired with the rank of Brigadier-General.

Heavey was born in Fort McPherson, Georgia on January 29, 1896, the son of Brigadier-General John W. Heavey, he graduated from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point in 1917. During World War I Heavey was assigned to the Army Corps of Engineers as a second lieutenant; he was quickly promoted to captain (1917) and then major (1918), and commanded the 2d Engineer Special Brigade in fifty amphibious landings in the southwest Pacific and Philippines.

After World War I he studied at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, earning his degree in 1922, and a few years later (1938) graduated from the Command and General Staff School. He was promoted to brigadier-general in 1942, and during World War II he was Chief Engineering Officer for IV Corps (1941-1942) and Commanding General of the 2d Engineer Amphibian Brigade, South Pacific Command (1942-1946).

For his services he was decorated with Oak Leaf Cluster and the Bronze Star. He was a charter member of the American Society of Military Engineers, and authored the book Down ramp! The story of the Army Amphibian engineers (1947). He and his wife had two children; their son William F. Heavey, Jr. (1920-1987) attended the U.S. Naval Academy and became a naval aviator.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William F. Heavey Papers consist of biographical material about Heavey's career, correspondence (incoming and outgoing), subject files (mostly memorabilia), manuscripts (articles by and about Heavey), and published material (books by and about Heavey, book reviews, and some clippings about Heavey and others).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. All other material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Heavey, William Francis, 1896-1974.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army -- Officers -- Biography.

Subjects

Generals -- United States.
Military engineering.
Military engineers -- United States.

Places

United States -- History, Military -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.

Occupations

Engineers.
Generals.
Soldiers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William F. Heavey Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Jun 1967
Revision history: 10 Feb 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming 1942, 1945, 1964
Box 1 Outgoing 1942, 1943
Subject files
Box 1 Directory 1960 - 2 ESB Vets Assoc.
Box 1 Distinguished Visitor Award, in Spanish
Box 1 Field order 1945
Box 1 Honorary Citizens Award 1952
Box 1 Photograph, Heavey and Noce 1945
Box 1 Recommendation for award 1945
Manuscripts
Articles by
Box 1 Army vs. Navy undated
Box 1 Father made the first Army team undated
Box 1 Contribution to Reader's Digest
Box 1 Promotion article undated
Published material
Books by
Box 1 Abajo la rampa 1947
Box 1 Down ramp 1947
Box 1 History of the Second Engineer Special Brigade 1946
Box 1 Map and aerial photo reading 1943
Books about
Box 2 Amphibian engineer operations (volume IV of the series, Engineers of the Southwest Pacific) 1959
Book reviews
Box 2 New York Times Book Review 1948
Magazines with articles about
Box 2 Yale Review 1945
Magazines with articles by
Box 2 Engineering News-Record 1934
Box 2 The Houston Port Book 1952 (2 issues)
Box 2 The Military Engineer 1946, 1948 (4 issues)
Magazines with articles about others
Box 2 Time 1964
Newspaper clippings
Box 2 About Heavey 1948
Box 2 About Heavey and others 1945, 1948, undated

Return to top