Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Jimmy Hatlo Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Jimmy Hatlo Collection
Inclusive Dates: undated
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence and printed material
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Cecil "Jimmy" Hatlo (1898-1963) was an American sports and editorial cartoonist known for his long-running strip They'll Do It Every Time.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jimmy Hatlo Collection consists of correspondence and printed material relating to the American cartoonist.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Jimmy Hatlo Papers and George Kloek Scrapbook on Jimmy Hatlo. Special Collections Research Center also has the papers of more than 200 cartoonists; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index or search our collections for a full listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hatlo, Jimmy, 1898-1963.

Associated Titles

They'll do it every time.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Cartoonists -- California.
Cartoonists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Cartoons (humorous images)
Correspondence.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jimmy Hatlo Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward McGuirk, 2017.

Gift of University of Minnesota Wilson Library, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Jun 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 828 to Skip Madigan undated - football coach at St. Mary's University; letter thanks Madigan for "activities on my behalf" and mentions Andrew Burke, an attorney for the Archdiocese of San Francisco, who assisted in arranging an audience with the Pope; includes original artwork/cartoon
Gift of Edward McGuirk, 2017.
Printed material
SC 1 Miscellaneous 1957, undated - samples of direct-mail advertising using Hatlo's cartoons; postcard-size color prints of cartoons
Gift of University of Minnesota Wilson Library, 2017.

Return to top