Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John and Susan Edwards Harvith Collection of Arturo Toscanini Recordings

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harvith, John.
Title: John and Susan Edwards Harvith Collection of Arturo Toscanini Recordings
Inclusive Dates: 1926-1954
Quantity: .5 linear ft
Abstract: The collection contains commercial releases and subscription recordings of Arturo Toscanini recordings on audiocassette and long-playing records.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Harvith and Susan Edwards Harvith are mass communications and arts historians who together have produced exhibitions and film series, as well as books and articles. The initial research for their book, Edison, Musicians, and the Phonograph began at the Belfer Audio Archive at Syracuse University Libraries. Their book won critical praise from The New York Times and Musical America and has since been frequently cited in publications dealing with Edison, as well as the aesthetics of recorded performance. Their complementary research has emphasized the interface between the arts and technology in film, photography, radio, and television, resulting in numerous interviews with cinematographers, film editors, and - for Syracuse University's Bleier Center for Television and Popular Culture - radio and television pioneers.

Arturo Toscanini (1867-1957) was an Italian conductor, renowned for his intensity and perfectionism. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest conductors of the 20th century.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John and Susan Edwards Harvith Collection of Arturo Toscanini Recordings consists of two Arturo Toscanini Society 33-1/3 RPM Long-playing records and 41 Victor Gold Seal audio cassettes from the Arturo Toscanini Collection. The recordings comprise a significant portion of Toscanini's celebrated career with many of his concerts broadcasted by NBC. The cassette series also features Robert Hupka's iconic photos of Toscanini at work.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings requires advance notice for production of a listening copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Listening copies are for onsite use only. Any person wishing to purchase a research copy will need to obtain permission from the copyright holder prior to placing their order.

Return to top

Related Material

The donation also included a number of non-Toscanini commerical and broadcast recordings. These phonorecords have been cataloged in the Belfer 78 RPM and Belfer LP Collections. Please be sure to search "Gift of John and Susan Edwards Harvith" in the Classic Catalog for these materials.

See also the Robert Hupka Collection of Toscanini Test Pressings and Dom Baron Chant Recordings.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Harvith, John.
Harvith, Susan Edwards.
Toscanini, Arturo, 1867-1957.

Corporate Bodies

NBC Symphony Orchestra.
New York Philharmonic.
Philadelphia Orchestra.

Subjects

Conductors (Music)
Orchestral music.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Long-playing records.
Sound recordings.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John and Susan Edward Harvith Collection of Arturo Toscanini Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John and Susan Edwards Harvith, 2012, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PJM
Date: 4 Sep 2013
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not been created for this collection. Instead, the collection has been cataloged and may be located by searching "John and Susan Edwards Harvith Collection of Arturo Toscanini Recordings" in the Classic Catalog .

Return to top