Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Benjamin Harrison Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Benjamin Harrison Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1863-1908
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, photographs and memorabilia of the 23rd president of the United States, his wife and family.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Benjamin Harrison (1833-1901) was the 23rd President of the United States and a grandson of William Henry Harrison, 9th President of the United States. Prior to his presidency, he attained the rank of Brigadier General during the American Civil War and served as United States Senator from Indiana. His administration is most remembered for economic legislation, including the McKinley Tariff and the Sherman Antitrust Act.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin Harrison Collection consists of incoming correspondence and memorabilia.

Correspondence includes a letter from Dr. Emma B. Ryder, a New York physician working in Bombay, India, concerning her work to improve the lot of women there, as well as a letter from a constituent criticising Mrs. Harrison for having danced at a dinner party. There are also one or two unidentified letters.

Memorabilia consists of a number of photographs and items of printed material. Among the photographs are one of "Major Gen. Lee" reviewing troops on 31 August 1898, one of an 1865 WANTED poster offering a $100,000 reward for "the murderer of our late beloved President Abraham Lincoln," and one of an unidentified man in a Rough Riders uniform, possibly Harrison, with his son. The printed material includes a collection of "the extemporaneous speeches of Gen. Benjamin Harrison," a brief biography of Mrs. Harrison, and souvenir programs from various events including the inaugural ball.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and printed memorabilia are arranged chronologically. Photographs are in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Harrison, Benjamin, 1833-1901.
Harrison, Caroline Lavinia Scott, 1832-1892.
Ryder, Emma B.

Subjects

Presidents -- United States -- History.
Presidents' spouses -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.
Souvenir programs.
Watercolors (paintings)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin Harrison Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 15 Mar 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1863, 1874, 1889-1892, undated
Memorabilia
Box 1 Photographs undated
Box 1 Printed material 1888-1891, 1908
Contains a collection of "the extemporaneous speeches of Gen. Benjamin Harrison" ; souvenir programs from the inaugural ball, a presidential tour of the Pacific Coast, and the May 25, 1897 sailing of the steamship F├╝rst Bismarck (complete with menu, photos, and history of the line); and a biographical sketch of Mrs. Harrison published by the Daughters of the American Revolution of Indiana.
Box 1 Artwork undated - watercolor of purple clover, artist unknown

Return to top