Finding Aids
printer friendly version

V. T. Hamlin Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hamlin, V. T. (Vincent T.), 1900-1993
Title: V. T. Hamlin Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1949-1968
Bulk Dates: 1966-1968
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original daily and Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Alley Oop.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Vincent T. Hamlin (1900-1993), commonly known as V. T. Hamlin, was an American cartoonist and creator of the comic strip Alley Oop.

Hamlin was born in Perry, Iowa on October 5, 1900. He served in the U.S. Army during World War I and later attended the University of Missouri where he studied art and journalism. Hamlin worked for a number of papers over the years, including the Ft. Worth Star-Telegram and the Des Moines Register and Tribune, eventually signing on with the NEA syndicate to produce the comic strip Alley Oop. The immensely popular strip, featuring cavemen and dinosaurs (and eventually a time machine!) began its run with NEA in August of 1933; a Sunday feature was added a year later. Hamlin hired his long-time assistant and ultimate successor Dave Graue in 1950 (Graue's signature did not appear on the strip until 1966). Hamlin retired from Alley Oop entirely in 1973. Dave Graue continued on the strip until his retirement in 2001, when he was succeeded by Jack and Carole Bender.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The V. T. Hamlin Cartoons collection contains original daily and Sunday cartoons from the comic strip Alley Oop, one from 1949 and the remainder from 1966-1968. Daily cartoon: traces of graphite, opaque white, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 6 3/4 x 21 in. Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, red pencil, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 19 1/2 x 26 in.

Starting July 15, 1966, daily cartoons are signed by V. T. Hamlin and Dave Graue.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Daily and Sunday cartoons are arranged separately in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Graue, Dave.
Hamlin, V. T. (Vincent T.), 1900-1993.

Corporate Bodies

Newspaper Enterprise Association.

Associated Titles

Alley Oop (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

V. T. Hamlin Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EF
Date: 28 May 1968
Revision history: 9 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 14 Apr 2009 - revised (MD); 29 Jun 2012 - added 1949 item (MRC); 22 May 2017 - 1968 added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Alley Oop cartoons
Click here for detailed inventory.
Oversize 1 Daily cartoons 1949
Box 1 Daily cartoons 1966 Jan - 1966 Nov
Box 2 Daily cartoons 1966 Dec - 1967 Dec
Box 3 Daily cartoons 1968 Jan-Jun
Box 4 Daily cartoons 1968 Jul-Dec
Oversize 1 Sunday cartoons 1966 Jan - 1967 May
Oversize 2 Sunday cartoons 1967 Jan - 1968 Dec

Return to top