Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frederick Hale Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hale, Frederick, 1874-1963.
Title: Frederick Hale Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1917-1940
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Legislator. U.S. Senator from Maine, 1917-1941. Correspondence relating to Hale's term in the Senate, and published items.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frederick Hale (1874-1963) was an American lawyer and United States Senator from Maine formore than thirty years.

Hale was born in Detroit, Michigan, into a political family. His mother was the daughter, wife and mother of United States senators and his father, Eugene Hale, served in the Senate from 1881 to 1911. His maternal grandfather, Zachariah Chandler, was also a member of the Senate. Hale attended preparatory schools in Lawerenceville, New Jersey and Groton, Massachusetts and graduated from Harvard College in 1896. In 1896 and 1897, he attended Columbia Law School. He was admitted to the bar and commenced practice in Portland, Maine in 1899. A conservative Republican and U.S. Senator from Maine from 1917-1941, Hale served on the Senate Appropriations Committee and the Naval Affairs Committee. He never married.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederick Hale Papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts and published material. Correspondence includes incoming, correspondence and outgoing correspondence arranged alphabetically by the name of the correspondent. Manuscripts contains two unidentified manuscripts. Published material includes a newspaper clipping about Mr. Hale and a speech by him.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to politics, government, and public administration. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Beveridge, Albert Jeremiah, 1862-1927.
Chavez, Dennis, 1888-1962.
Coolidge, Calvin, 1872-1933.
Early, Stephen T. (Stephen Tyree), 1889-1951.
Edge, Walter E. (Walter Evans), 1873-1956.
Ellender, Allen J., 1890-1972.
Farley, James A. (James Aloysius), 1888-1976.
Hale, Frederick, 1874-1963.
Harding, Warren G. (Warren Gamaliel), 1865-1923.
Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964.
Hughes, Charles Evans, 1862-1948.
Johnson, Hiram, 1866-1945.
Kellogg, Frank B. (Frank Billings), 1856-1937.
Lejeune, John Archer, 1867-1942.
Lodge, Henry Cabot, 1850-1924.
McCormick, Medill, 1877-1925.
McCumber, Porter J. (Porter James), 1856-1933.
Newberry, Truman Handy, 1864-1945.
Ransdell, Joseph E. (Joseph Eugene), 1858-1954.
Roberts, Kenneth Lewis, 1885-1957.
Roosevelt, Kermit, 1889-1943.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1887-1944.
Taft, Robert A. (Robert Alphonso), 1889-1953.
Vandenberg, Arthur H. (Arthur Hendrick), 1884-1951.

Corporate Bodies

Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- )

Subjects

Legislators -- United States.

Places

Maine -- Politics and government -- 1865-1950.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1901-1953.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Speeches.

Occupations

Legislators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederick Hale Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Mar 1967
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 A-D 1921, 1923-1925, 1927-1930, 1933-1934, 1936-1938
Box 1 Austin, Warren, Senator 1934
Box 1 Baker, Newton D. 1933
Box 1 Ball, L. Heisler, Senator 1917
Box 1 Barbour, Warren 1935, 1936, 1938
Box 1 Barkley, Alben, Senator 1937
Box 1 Beedy, Carroll L. 1932
Box 1 Beveridge, Albert J. 1924-1926
Box 1 Bilbo, Theodore G., Senator
Box 1 Bingham, Hiram 1927
Box 1 Bowman, Frank L. 1930
Box 1 Bratton, Sam G., Senator 1933
Box 1 Burke, Edward R., Senator 1938
Box 1 Butler, Nicholas Murray 1920
Box 1 Capper, Arthtr, Senator 1923, 1928
Box 1 Chavez, Dennis, Senator 1937-1938
Box 1 Coolidge, Calvin 1923, 1925, 1927-1928
Box 1 Copeland, Royal S., Senator 1936
Box 1 Couzens, James, Senator 1926, 1935
Box 1 Cox, Channing, Governor of Massachusetts 1923
Box 1 Cummings, Homer, Attorney General 1934
Box 1 Cummins, Albert, Senator 1919, 1921
Box 1 Daniels, Josephus 1935
Box 1 Davies, Joseph E. 1922
Box 1 Davis, Dwight, Secretary of War 1925
Box 1 Davis, James, Senator 1938
Box 1 Dill, Clarence, Senator 1934
Box 1 Donahey, Vic, Senator 1937
Box 1 Dunning, James 1921, 1929
Box 1 Early, Stephen, Secretary to President F.D. Roosevelt 1934-1938
Box 1 Edge, Walter E., Senator 1921, 1923, 1926, 1930, 1935
Box 1 Elkins, Davis, Senator 1921
Box 1 Ellender, Allen J., Senator 1938-1939
Box 1 F-K 1916, 1921-1924, 1927, 1929, 1930, 1932, 1936-1939
Box 1 Farley, James 1933, 1936
Box 1 Farrington, W.R. 1928
Box 1 Fernald, Bert M., Senator 1921, 1923
Box 1 Fess, Simeon D., Senator 1926
Box 1 France, Joseph I., Senator 1919, 1921
Box 1 Frazier, Lynn J., Senator 1928
Box 1 Freylinghuysen, Joseph S., Senator 1921-1922
Box 1 Gillett, Frederick H., Senator 1923-1924, 1929, undated
Box 1 Goff, Guy D. 1927, 1930
Box 1 Good, James W. 1929
Box 1 Harrison, Pat, Senator 1936
Box 1 Hatfield, H.D., Senator 1929
Box 1 Harding, Mr. and Mrs. Warren G., 1920, 1921, undated
Box 1 Hawes, Harry B., Senator 1932
Box 1 Herbert, Felix 1939
Box 1 Holt, Rush 1938
Box 1 Hoover, Herbert 1921, 1928-1930, 1932
Box 1 Hughes, Charles E. 1921, 1924
Box 1 Johnson, Hiram W. 1918, 1925, 1931, 1936
Box 1 Jones, Wesley L., Senator 1924
Box 1 Kellogg, Frank B., Senator 1919-1920, undated
Box 2 L-M
Box 2 Latimer, Rear Admiral J.L. 1925-1926
Box 2 Lejeune, Major General John A. 1925-1928
Box 2 Lodge, Henry Cabot 1918-1919
Box 2 Longworth, Nicholas 1926
Box 2 Maloney, Francis, Senator 1935
Box 2 Marshall, Thomas, Vice President undated
Box 2 McAdoo, William Gibbs, Senator 1937
Box 2 McCormick, Medill 1917-1919, undated
Box 2 McCumber, Porter J., Senator 1922-1923
Box 2 McKellar, Kenneth, Senator 1943
Box 2 McNary, Charles L., Senator 1937
Box 2 Metcalf, Jesse H., Senator 1925-1928, 1930, 1932, 1936, undated
Box 2 Moses, George H., Senator 1923
Box 2 N-R 1917, 1918, 1924-1926, 1930, 1932, 1933, 1935-1937, 1940
Box 2 New, Harry S., Senator 1918
Box 2 Newberry, Truman H., Senator 1921-1922, 1936
Box 2 Nye, Gerald P., Senator 1937
Box 2 Payne, John Barton 1919, 1922, 1927
Box 2 Pepper, Claude, Senator 1939
Box 2 Pepper, George, Senator 1922
Box 2 Phelan, James D, 1918-1923
Box 2 Pittman, Key 1919
Box 2 Ransdell, Joseph E., Senator 1917, 1920
Box 2 Roberts, Kenneth 1933-1935
Box 2 Robinson, Joe E., Senator 1933
Box 2 Roosevelt, Kermit 1930-1931
Box 2 Roosevelt, Theodore 1919, 1923, 1924
Box 2 S-W 1917-1923, 1926-1929, 1931, 1933-1939
Box 2 Samson, Flem D. 1928-1931
Box 2 Saulsbury, Willard 1919-1920
Box 2 Sheppard, Morris, Senator 1934
Box 2 Smathers, William H. 1938
Box 2 Spencer, Selden P., Senator 1919
Box 2 Stimson, Henry L. 1929
Box 2 Taber, John, Senator 1935
Box 2 Taft, Robert A., Senator 1938-1939
Box 2 Townsend, John G. Jr., Senator 1934
Box 2 Tydings, Millard E. 1929
Box 2 Vandenberg, Arthur H., Senator 1931, 1935, 1937
Box 2 Walcott, Frederick C., Senator 1934
Box 2 Weller, O.E., Senator 1927
Box 2 Wolcott, Josiah O., Senator 1919
Box 2 Unidentified
Manuscripts
Box 2 Unidentified
Published material
Box 2 Newspaper Clipping about 1939
Box 2 Speech by, in Congressional Record 1927

Return to top