Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Irv Hagglund Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hagglund, Irvin.
Title: Irv Hagglund Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1971
Quantity: .5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original art, a few items of correspondence and memorabilia, and published material.
Language: Majority in English, some items in Spanish, German, Danish, French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Irvin (Arvid) Hagglund (1915-1982) was an American cartoonist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Irvin Hagglund Papers contains artwork, a few items of correspondence and memorabilia, and published material.

Artwork contains original cartoons as well as some sketches done on envelopes. The cartoons, all of which are single-panel gag cartoons done in simple black-and-white line art, use general American life for their jokes; there have no particular theme and no recurring characters. Correspondence contains letters from clients, fans, and others. Memorabilia consists of the program for the 1964 Southern California Exposition, in which Hagglund's work appeared. Published material consists largely of clippings of Hagglund's work from various magazines; most are American but there is one folder of clippings of his cartoons that appeared in foreign magazines. There is also a printed placemat-size flier and map for Huckleberry Mountain Workshop Camp, and a copy of Modern Composition which contains a Hagglund cartoon.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Several cartoon anthologies in which Hagglund's work appears were removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hagglund, Irvin.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.

Places

United States -- Social life and customs -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Sketches.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Irv Hagglund Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Irv Hagglund, 1966 and 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 17 Dec 2008
Revision history: 17 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 13 Oct 2009 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Artwork
Box 1 Original art, miscellaneous undated
Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1969-1971
Memorabilia
Box 1 Program, Southern California Exposition 1964
Published material
Books
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging, Oct 2009.
Box 1 Clippings, Mexico undated (pre-1971)
Box 1 Clippings, United States undated (pre-1971)
Box 1 Clippings, miscellaneous foreign undated (pre-1971)
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1969, undated - book, flier

Return to top