Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

H. Rider Haggard Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Haggard, H. Rider (Henry Rider), 1856-1925.
Title: H. Rider Haggard Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1887-1961
Quantity: 5 folders (SC)
Abstract: The collection contains correspondence from Haggard and to and from others, as well as a few miscellaneous items including notes on errata in some of Haggard's works.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sir Henry Rider Haggard (1856-1925) was an English novelist best known for his adventure stories such as King Solomon's Mines (1885) and She: A History of Adventure (1886).

Haggard was born June 22, 1856 in Norfolk, England, the son of Ella and William Haggard. He attended Ipswich Grammar School and upon graduating failed the army entrance exam. His father sent him to London to prepare for a job in the Foreign Office. Haggard did not sit for the British Foreign Office exam, but instead travelled to Africa as an unpaid member of the Lieutenant-Governor of South Africa, Sir Henry Bulwer's, staff. Although Haggard secured a position in Africa that afforded him the means to marry his love from home, Mary Elizabeth Jackson ("Lilly," as she was called by friends), she had already married a well-to-do banker. In August 1880, having returned to England, Haggard married Louisa Margitson with whom he had four children.

Haggard went on to have a career as a successful writer, becoming Britain's foremost adventure novelist. As a political figure, he was involved in agricultural reform and knighted for public service in 1912. In 1919, he was made Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire. Haggard died May 14, 1925 in London, England.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The H. Rider Haggard Collection contains correspondence, notes, and printed material.

Correspondence consists of letters from Haggard, as well as letters to and from others concerning Haggard's work. Notes consists of a binder containing pages documenting errata for some of the author's works, compiled by Crawford E. Cooke. Printed material contains clippings and reproductions of various images of Haggard, illustrations of his stories, and a book review.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by name or topic. Within the subdivisions of "Haggard" and "Others," correspondence is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Donation also included two copies of King Solomon's Mines. These have been sent to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

The Special Collections Research Center also has several of Haggard's works in the Rare Books collection. Please see the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cohen, Morton N. (Morton Norton), 1921-
Cooke, Crawford E.
Haggard, H. Rider (Henry Rider), 1856-1925.

Subjects

English literature.
Novelists, English.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Notes.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

H. Rider Haggard Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Crawford E. Cooke, 1978.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 12 Nov 2008
Revision history: 27 Jan 2017 - additions, slight reorganization (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 252 Letters from Haggard 1887-1923, undated (25 letters)
SC 252 Letters to and from others 1919, 1944-1947, 1955-1961 - Anthony Bell, J. E. Scott, and Morton N. Cohen; letters are to one another, or to Crawford Cooke
Notes
SC 252 Notes on errata by Crawford E. Cooke - binder and some loose sheets of paper
Printed material
SC 252 Pictorial - most are clippings from books or magazines; pictures of Haggard, his homes, illustrations for his stories, etc.
SC 252 Review - review of biography of Haggard by Morton N. Cohen

Return to top