Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Chaim Gross Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gross, Chaim, 1904-1991.
Title: Chaim Gross Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1937-1964
Quantity: 1.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence (1943-1964); and exhibition catalogs, clippings, and articles about Chaim Gross (1937-1964). Incoming correspondence includes that of Sidney Alexander, Associated American Artists, George Biddle, Theodore Bikel, Isabel Bishop, Butler Institute of American Art, Rhys Caparn, Federico Castellón, Philip Evergood, Robert Gwathmey, Benjamin Kopman, Leon Kroll, Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Hedy Lamarr, Millard Lampell, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Irving Marantz, Herman Maril, Museum of Modern Art, National Institute of Arts and Letters, New School for Social Research, Jan Peerce, Raphael Soyer, Sabina Teichman, Carl Van Vechten, Harold Weston, Whitney Museum of American Art, and William Zorach.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jewish American sculptor, 1904-1991.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1937 to 1964, the Chaim Gross papers comprises correspondence, artwork reproductions, writings and memorabilia of the American sculptor. With an emphasis on the early 1960s, the collection reflects Gross' later career and family life as well as his activities in the service of his Jewish community.

Incoming letters and related printed material constitute the Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-2), which forms the bulk of the collection. Although the collection contains few runs of correspondence, there are a number of social replies and a few business letters from fellow artists (George Biddle, Isabel Bishop, Henry Botkin, Federico Castellon, Anthony De Francisci, Philip Evergood, Estelle Goodman, Robert Gwathmey, Joseph Hirsch, Mary Mintz Koffler, Benjamin Kopman, Leon Kroll, Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Bruno Lucchesi, William McVey, Irving Marantz, Herman Maril, Arnold Newman, Abbo Ostrowsky, Abbott Pattison, John Rewald, Raphael Soyer); authors (Sidney Alexander, Edward Halper, Arthur Kaufmann, Peter Pollack, Meyer Schapiro, Gilbert Seldes, Carl Van Vechten); and entertainers (Theodore Bikel, Dick Button, Hedy Lamarr, Jan Peerce). Organizational correspondence includes that of educational institutions (Brandeis University, Educational Alliance, New School for Social Research, Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture); galleries and museums (Art Institute of Chicago, Butler Institute of American Art, Carlebach Gallery, Brooklyn Museum, Jewish Museum, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Museum of Art of Ogunquit, Museum of Modern Art, Shore Galleries, Whitney Museum of American Art); and professional affiliations (Association of American Artists, Committee of Artists' Societies, Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors, National Academy of Arts and Letters).

The remainder of the collection (Boxes 3-4) includes printed Artwork reproductions of some of Gross' drawings and sculpture; Writings, a single-page proposal for a sculpture project; and printed Memorabilia. The latter includes articles (1937-1963), clippings (1946-1964), and exhibit catalogs for Gross' one-person and group shows (1938-1964).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Alexander, Sidney, 1912-1999.
Biddle, George, 1885-1973.
Bikel, Theodore.
Bishop, Isabel, 1902-1988.
Caparn, Rhys, 1909-1997.
Castellón, Federico.
Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973.
Gross, Chaim, 1904-1991.
Gwathmey, Robert, 1903-1988.
Kopman, Benjamin, 1887-
Kroll, Leon, 1884-1974.
Kuniyoshi, Yasuo, 1889-1953.
Lamarr, Hedy, 1913-2000.
Lampell, Millard, 1919-1997.
Manantz, Irving.
Maril, Herman.
Peerce, Jan, 1904-1984.
Soyer, Raphael, 1899-1987.
Teichman, Sabina.
Van Vechten, Carl, 1880-1964.
Weston, Harold, 1894-1972.
Zorach, William, 1887-1966.

Corporate Bodies

Associated American Artists.
Butler Institute of American Art.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art.
Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.)
National Institute of Arts and Letters (U.S.)
New School for Social Research (New York, N.Y. : 1919-1997)
Whitney Museum of American Art.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Austrian Americans.
Jewish artists -- United States.
Jews, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chaim Gross Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Aug 1994
Revision history: 2 Nov 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 20 Apr 2016 - minor corrections in Box 1 and 3 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-Subject files
Box 1 A (1 folder)
Box 1 Alexander, Sidney and Frances 1964, undated
American Academy of Arts and Letters
See National Institute of Arts and Letters.
Box 1 American Friends of the Hebrew University, Inc. 1957-1964
Box 1 American Jewish Congress 1963-1964
Box 1 Art Institute of Chicago 1956-1957
Box 1 Artists Turn Toward Peace 1962-1963
Box 1 Associated American Artists, Inc. 1946-1964, undated
Box 1 B (1 folder)
Box 1 Biddle, George 1964, undated
Box 1 Bikel, Theodore 1961, 1964
Box 1 Bishop, Isabel undated
Box 1 B'nai B'rith 1963
Box 1 Bocour, Leonard 1962, undated
Box 1 Botkin, Henry 1964
Box 1 Brandeis University 1954-1955
Box 1 Brooklyn Museum 1951-1955
Box 1 Butler Institute of American Art (Youngstown, OH) 1958-1963, undated
Box 1 Button, Dick 1964
Box 1 C (1 folder)
Caparn, Rhys
See Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors.
Box 1 Carlebach Gallery (New York, NY) 1953-1963
Box 1 Castellon, Federico 1962-1963
Box 1 Caylor, George N. 1963
Box 1 Cole, Lilyan and Sylvan 1964
Box 1 Committee of Artists' Societies (CAS) 1963-1964
Box 1 D-F (1 folder)
Box 1 De Francisci, Anthony 1963
Box 1 Diamond, Freda 1963
Dyson, Katherine Warwick
See Butler Institute of American Art (Youngstown, OH).
Box 1 Educational Alliance (New York, NY) 1953-1964, undated
Box 1 Evergood, Philip 1964
Box 1 Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors 1963
Box 1 G (1 folder)
Box 1 Goodman, Estelle 1964
Box 1 Goodrich, Lloyd 1963
Box 1 Graham, John 1948, undated
Box 1 Gwathmey, Robert 1954, 1959
Box 1 H (1 folder)
Box 1 Halper, Edward 1963
Box 1 Halpert, Edith 1963
Box 1 Hirsch, Joseph 1964
Box 1 I-K (1 folder)
Box 1 Jewish Musem (New York, NY) 1953-1963
Box 1 Kaufmann, Arthur 1963
Box 1 Koffler, Mary Mintz 1943, undated
Box 1 Kopman, Benjamin 1964-1965
Box 1 Kroll, Leon 1955, 1964
Box 1 Kuniyoshi, Yasuo 1948
Box 1 L (1 folder)
Box 1 Lamarr, Hedy 1961
Box 1 Lampell, Millard 1963
Box 1 Los Angeles County Museum of Art 1963-1964, undated
Box 1 Lucchesi, Bruno 1962
Box 1 Lyons, Leonard 1959, 1964
Box 2 M (1 folder)
Box 2 [Edward] MacDowell Association, Inc. 1953-1962
Box 2 McVey, William 1940
Box 2 Marantz, Irving 1962-1963
Box 2 Maril, Herman 1964, undated
Box 2 Matson, Greta undated
Box 2 Meyerson, Bess 1963-1964
Box 2 Museum of Art of Ogunquit (Maine) 1954-1964
Box 2 Museum of Modern Art (New York, NY) 1951-1964
Box 2 N-O (1 folder)
Box 2 National Institute of Arts and Letters 1954-1965
Box 2 New School of Social Research 1954-1964, undated
Box 2 New York Society for Ethical Culture 1964
Box 2 Newman, Arnold undated
Box 2 Ostrowsky, Abbo 1955
Box 2 P-Q (1 folder)
Box 2 Palley, George T. 1953, 1964, undated
Box 2 Pattisch, Abbott 1963
Box 2 Peerce, Jan and Alice 1964, undated
Box 2 Philadelphia Art Alliance 1956-1963
Box 2 Philadelphia Museum of Art 1943, 1949, 1964
Box 2 Piccoli, Nemo 1963
Box 2 Pollack, Peter 1964
Box 2 Provincetown Art Association 1964, undated
Box 2 Provincetown Art Commission 1961-1963
Box 2 R (1 folder)
Box 2 Rewald, John 1962-1963
Box 2 S (1 folder)
Box 2 Santa Barbara Museum of Art 1959
Box 2 Schapiro, Meyer 1964
Box 2 Seldes, Gilbert undated
Box 2 Shapiro, Saul 1956-1957
Box 2 Shore Galleries (Boston, MA) 1954-1964
Box 2 Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture (Skowhegan, ME) 1954-1964
Box 2 Smithsonian Institution 1961-1964
Box 2 Soyer, Ralph and Rebecca 1953, 1964
Box 2 State of Israel Bonds 1962-1964
Strater, Henry
See Museum of Art of Ogunquit (Maine).
Box 2 T-V (1 folder)
Box 2 Teichman, Sabrina 1964
Box 2 Temple Emanuel Arts Festival (Newton Centre, MA) 1963-1964
Box 2 Tshacbasov, Nahum 1954
Box 2 United Jewish Appeal of Greater New York 1953-1964
Box 2 Untermeyer, Louis 1964
Box 2 Van Vechten, Carl 1964
Box 2 Van Veen, Stuyvesant 1964, undated
Box 2 W-Z (1 folder)
Box 2 [Anna L.] Werbe Galleries (Detroit, MI) 1955-1963
Box 2 Weston, Harold 1963
Box 2 Whitney Museum of American Art 1945-1964
Box 2 Zorach, William and Marguerite 1964
Box 2 Zucker, Paul 1963
Box 2 Unidentified
Artwork
Box 3 Reproduction (printed) of drawings and sculpture
Writings
Box 3 Proposal
Memorabilia
Box 3 Articles about 1937-1963
Box 3 Clippings 1946-1964, undated
Box 3 Course catalogs 1944-1964
Exhibition catalogs
Box 3 One-person shows 1939-1964, undated (2 folders)
Box 3 Group shows 1938-1959 (4 folders)
Box 4 Group shows 1960-1964, undated (5 folders)
Box 4 Programs 1960-1961
Box 4 Publicity undated
Box 4 Miscellany

Return to top