Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Roger Lancelyn Green Manuscript

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Green, Roger Lancelyn.
Title: Roger Lancelyn Green Manuscript
Inclusive Dates: 1945
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten manuscript, a translation into English of Ichneutae, one of Sophocles' fragmentary plays, by British author Roger Lancelyn Green
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Roger Lancelyn Green (1918-1987) was a British author. A graduate of Oxford University, he was also a member of The Inklings, an Oxford literary discussion group whose other members included C. S. Lewis (with whom Green was close friends) and J. R. R. Tolkien.

Sophocles was a Greek playwright who lived during the 5th century B.C. Few of his works have survived in their entirety; the most notable are Oedipus Rex and Antigone. Fragments of more than a hundred other works have survived, including Clytemnestra, Cerberus, Herakles Epi Tainaro, and Ichneutae (a "satyr play," similar to bawdy or burlesque theatre)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roger Lancelyn Green Manuscript consists of a handwritten manuscript of 25 pages. According to the title page, the manuscript is Green's loose translation and expansion of Ichneutae, a play by the Greek tragedian Sophocles of which only fragments have survived.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Green, Roger Lancelyn.
Sophocles.

Associated Titles

Ichneutae.

Subjects

Authors -- English.
Greek drama -- Translations into English.
Greek drama.
Myth in literature.
Satyr plays.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roger Lancelyn Green Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Roger Lancelyn Green, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Feb 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 819 The searching satyrs Jun 1945 - handwritten, 25 pp.
The title page reads as follows: "The Searching Satyrs: The Ichneutai of Sophocles (a Satyr Play), the fragments freely translated and the gaps conjecturally filled in by Roger Lancelyn Green, B. Litt., M.A."

Return to top