Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Burges Green Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Green, Burges.
Title: Burges Green Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1949-1970
Quantity: 21.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 4,800 original editorial cartoons drawn for the Providence Journal.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Burges Green (1912-1981) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Green was born June 16, 1912 and was the nephew of U.S. Senator Theodore Green of Rhode Island. Green worked for the Providence Journal as editorial cartoonist until 1970. He also illustrated "American Literature in Parody: A Collection of Parody, Satire and Literary Burlesque of American Writers Past and Present" (Twayne 1955)

Green died in June 1981.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Burges Green Cartoons consist entirely of editorial cartoons documenting national, international and local politics.

The Cartoons series contains approximately 4,845 original editorial cartoons from 1949 to 1970 and one proof.

Items typically measure 12 1/4" x 17 1/2". Green worked in ink, primarily on Craftint paper. Traces of pencil are visible; captions and date information appear in blue pencil. Green's style emphasized thin lines and little shading; a limited number of cartoons feature crayon shading.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Green, Burges.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich, 1894-1971 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Stalin, Joseph, 1879-1953 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Providence Journal Company.

Associated Titles

Providence journal.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Civil rights movements -- United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Burges Green Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Providence Journal Company, 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DW
Date: 4 Apr 1980
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 1 Nov 2010 - added bio, scope and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 38 1949 Dec-1950 Jun
Oversize 39 1950 Jul-Dec, 1950
Oversize 1 1951 Jan-Jun
Oversize 2 1951 Jul-Dec
Oversize 3 1952 Jan-Jun
Oversize 4 1952 Jul-Dec
Oversize 5 1953 Jan-Jun
Oversize 6 1953 Jul-Dec
Oversize 7 1954 Jan-Jun
Oversize 8 1954 Jul-Dec
October 31 cartoon is located in mapcase 1, drawer 107
Oversize 9 1955 Jan-Jun
Oversize 10 1955 Jul-Dec
Oversize 11 1956 Jan-Jun
Oversize 12 1956 Jul-Dec
October 28 cartoon is located in mapcase 1, drawer 107
Oversize 13 1957 Jan-Jun
Oversize 14 1957 Jul-Dec, 1957
Oversize 15 1958 Jan-Jun
Oversize 16 1958 Jul-Dec, 1958
Oversize 17 1959 Jan-Jun
Oversize 18 1959 Jul-Dec, 1959
Oversize 19 1960 Jan-Jun
Oversize 20 1960 Jul-Dec
Oversize 21 1961 Jan-Jul
Oversize 22 1961 Aug-1962 Feb, 1961
Oversize 23 1962 Mar-Sep
Oversize 24 1962 Oct-1963 Mar, 1962
Oversize 25 1963 Apr-Sep
Oversize 26 1963 Oct-1964 Mar
Oversize 27 1964 Apr-Sep
Oversize 28 1964 Oct-1965 Mar, 1964
Oversize 29 1965 Apr-Oct
Oversize 30 1965 Nov-1966 Apr
Oversize 31 1966 May-Dec
Oversize 32 1967 Jan-Jun
Oversize 33 1967 Jul-1968 Feb, 1967
Oversize 34 1968 Mar-Sep
Oversize 35 1968 Oct-1969 Mar, 1968
Oversize 36 1969 Apr-Oct
Oversize 37 1969 Nov-1970 Mar, circa 1960s
Oversize 40 Undated (49 items)

Return to top