Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Harvey Graham Collection

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Graham, Harvey, 1828-1912.
Title: Harvey Graham Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1849-1960
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence and memorabilia relating to Harvey Graham, an American Civil War general in the Union Army.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harvey Graham (1828-1912) was an American military officer in the Union Army during the American Civil War. Serving from 1861-1865, he was initially a member in the 1st Iowa Volunteer Infantry Regiment before becoming a member and later commander of the 22nd Iowa Volunteer Infantry Regiment. Initially a Lieutenant, he retired with the rank of Brevet Brigadier General.

Graham's regiment, the 22nd Iowa Volunteer Infantry Regiment, participated in the Vicksburg Campaign of 1863, general operations on the Texas Gulf Coast and in Louisiana in late 1863 to early 1864, and in the Shenandoah Valley Campaign of August-November 1864.

Graeme O'Geran, the donor, was General Graham's grandson and was a member of Syracuse University from 1928-1958.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harvey Graham Collection consists of correspondence from and to Harvey Graham, as well as donor material and memorabilia.

Correspondence contains correspondence from and to Harvey Graham.

Donor material contains correspondence between the collection's donor, Graeme O'Geran, and the Iowa State Archives concerning initial efforts to donate the collection.

Memorabilia contains photos of both Harvey Graham and his wife, a few of his original letters, his original parole papers as a prisoner of war, his original discharge papers and the original letter notifying him of his promotion to brevet Brigadier General.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Collection is arranged alphabetically by format (correspondence, donor material, and memorabilia); correspondence is further arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Syracuse University Archives holds the papers of Graeme O'Geran, Harvey Graham's grandson.

Special Collections Research Center also holds a collection of presidential autographs assembled by O'Geran.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Graham, Harvey, 1828-1912.
O'Geran, Graeme.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.
United States. -- Army -- Officers.
United States. -- Army. -- Iowa Infantry Regiment, 1st (1861)
United States. -- Army. -- Iowa Infantry Regiment, 22nd (1862-1865)

Subjects

Generals -- United States -- Correspondence.
Generals -- United States – History -- 19th century.

Places

United States -- History -- 19th century -- Sources.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Military records.
Photographs.

Occupations

Military officers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harvey Graham Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Graeme O'Geran, circa 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DL
Date: 4 Jun 2015
Revision history: 4 Jun 2015 - processed (DL)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 [General] 1849-1858, 1861-1883 (8 folders)
Box 1 Undated and fragments
Donor materials
Box 1 Correspondence, Graeme O'Geran 1959-1961
Memorabilia
Box 1 Military records
Box 1 Photographs

Return to top