Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

The Gospel of Charles Dickens Typescript

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Clayton, J.B.
Title: The Gospel of Charles Dickens Typescript
Inclusive Dates: circa 1912
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typescript of essay "The Gospel of Charles Dickens," by J.B. Clayton, signed and with a dedicatory inscription.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known about J.B. Clayton, the author of this piece. He was possibly a minister.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gospel of Charles Dickens Typescript is a single item, an essay written in praise of the religious message of Charles Dickens' work. Signed J.B. Clayton at end, with handwritten dedication at front, "To my friend, Mr. N.B. Hersey, 7/6/12."

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Clayton, J.B.
Dickens, Charles, 1812-1870 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Dickens, Charles, 1812-1870 -- Religion and ethics.

Subjects

Literary criticism.

Genres and Forms

Typescripts.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

The Gospel of Charles Dickens Typescript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DSA
Date: 04 Jun 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Typescripts
SC 852 The gospel of Charles Dickens, typescript circa 1912

Return to top