Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Arthur P. Gorman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gorman, Arthur P. (Arthur Pue), 1839-1906.
Title: Arthur P. Gorman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1804-1935
Quantity: 3.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the U.S. Senator from Maryland, 1881-1889 and 1903-1906. Collection includes correspondence (1838-1935); newspaper clippings (1884-1906); pamphlets, speech notes, Congressional printed material, and legal documents relating to Gorman's political career. Correspondents include Henry G. Davis and Thomas G. Hayes.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Arthur Pue Gorman (1839-1906) was a United States Senator from Maryland. Beginning as a page in the House of Representatives (1852), he was transferred to the Senate through the influence of Illinois senator Stephen A. Douglas, who made him his private secretary. Gorman subsequently served the Senate as page, messenger, assistant doorkeeper, assistant postmaster, and finally postmaster. In September of 1866, Gorman was appointed collector of internal revenue for the fifth district of Maryland, and he served as director and later as president of the Chesapeake Ohio Canal Co.

Gorman served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1869 to 1875, with one session as speaker of the house. He served in the Maryland State Senate (1875-1881) and then in the United States Senate (1881-1899 and 1902-1906), where he soon became a leader of the conservative wing of his party (the "Bourbon Democrats"). During his congressional tenure he was the Democratic caucus chairman (1890-1898), chairman of the Senate Committee on Printing, and a member of the Senate Committee on Private Land Claims. He played a major role in financial and tariff legislation, especially the Wilson-Gorman Tariff of 1894.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arthur P. Gorman Papers consist of Correspondence-subject files (1838-1935); Cpeeches; and Memorabilia.

Correspondence-subject files includes letters with family, politicians and business people (most notably with railroad executives) . A list of the names of correspondents who have not been given unique folders was created in an earlier arrangement of this collection. It is included and has been anotated to indicate in which folder letters from each person are now filed.

Speeches contains printed text as well as notes and fragments. Speeches given by Senator Gorman on the floor of the Senate are filed with other legislative material from the session of Congress during which they were delivered.

Memorabilia includes extensive clippings, personal financial records, copies of newspaper editorials, printed material , a set of weekly banking circulars, Postmaster's bonds miscellaneous documents and souvenirs.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically. Speeches are arranged alphabetically by title or subject except for Senator Gorman's speeches on the floor of the Senate which are included with other legislative material from the session of Congress during which they were delivered. Memorabilia is arranged by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ammen, Daniel, 1820-1898.
Bayard, Thomas F. (Thomas Francis), 1828-1898.
Belmont, August, 1813-1890.
Berret, James G. (James Gabriel), 1815-1901.
Bryan, William Jennings, 1860-1925.
Butler, M. C. (Matthew Calbraith) 1836-1909.
Carroll, John Lee, 1830-1911.
Chaille-Long, C. (Charles), 1842-1917.
Cleveland, Grover, 1837-1908.
Cole, William H. (William Hinson), 1837-1886.
Crisfield, John W. (John Woodland), 1806-1897.
Crisp, Charles F. (Charles Frederick), 1845-1896.
Cullom, Shelby M. (Shelby Moore), 1829-1914.
Davis, Henry Gassaway, 1823-1916.
Dimmick, Mary Scott Lord, 1858-1948.
Douglas, Henry Kyd, 1838-1903.
Frémont, Jessie Benton, 1824-1902.
Gibson, Charles H. (Charles Hopper), 1842-1900.
Gorman, Arthur P. (Arthur Pue), 1839-1906.
Groome, James Black, 1838-1893.
Harrison, Benjamin, 1833-1901.
Hayes, Thomas G. (Thomas Gordon), 1844-
Howell, Evan P. (Evan Park), 1839-1905.
Jones, James K. (James Kimbrough), 1839-1908.
Lamont, Daniel Scott, 1851-1905.
Lapham, Elbridge Gerry, 1814-1890.
Latrobe, Ferdinand Claiborne, 1833-1911.
Maddox, John W., 1848-1922.
Moltke, Helmuth, Graf von, 1800-1891.
Murphy, Jeremiah Henry, 1835-1893.
Parsons, William Henry, 1826-1907.
Randall, Samuel J. (Samuel Jackson), 1828-1890.
Ransom, Matt W. (Matt Whitaker), 1826-1904.
Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1835-1914.
Vance, Zebulon Baird, 1830-1894.
Warner, A. J. (Adoniram Judson), 1834-1910.
Webster, Edwin H. (Edwin Hanson), 1829-1893.

Corporate Bodies

Democratic Party (Md.)
Democratic Party (U.S.)
United States. -- Congress (49th: 1885-1887)
United States. -- Congress (50th: 1887-1889)
United States. -- Congress (51st: 1889-1891)
United States. -- Congress (52nd: 1891-1893)
United States. -- Congress (53rd: 1893-1895)
United States. -- Congress (54th: 1895-1897)
United States. -- Congress (55th: 1897-1899)
United States. -- Congress (58th: 1903-1905)

Subjects

Legislators -- Maryland.
Legislators -- United States.
Patronage, political -- United States.
Silver question (1886)

Places

Baltimore (Md.) -- Politics and government.
Maryland -- Politics and government, 1865-1950.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Speeches.

Occupations

Legislators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arthur P. Gorman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchases, 1964-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 28 Feb 2017 - revised arrangement (PRB)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Biographical material and list of minor names
Adee, Avery Augustus
See Sympathy letters after house fire.
Box 1 Ammen, Daniel 1894
Box 1 Applegarth, William F. 1892
Baldwin, William H., Jr.
See Merchants' National Bank Baltimore, Md.
Box 1 Baltimore, MD 1893
Box 1 Baltimore and Ohio Railroad 1885-1901
Box 1 Baughman, L. Victor 1888-1890, 1906
Bayard, Thomas Francis
See Congratulatory letters;Sympathy letters after house fire.
Box 1 Belmont, August 1885
Box 1 Berret, James Gabriel 1892
Box 1 Bird, William Edgar 1868-1872
Box 1 Bowlus, Noah 1886
Brattan, Joseph Yancy
See Baltimore and Ohio Railroad.
Brewer, James R.
See Sympathy letters after house fire.
Box 1 Bryan, Olin 1892
Box 1 Bryan, William Jennings 1896
Box 1 Buchanan, James 1857
Burgess, Richard
See Buchanan, James.
Box 1 Butler, Isaac 1834, 1862
Box 1 Butler, Matthew Calbraith 1894
Box 1 Cameron, Margaret Campbell undated
Box 1 Carroll, John Lee 1885
Carroll, Mrs Charles A.
See Nursery and Child's Hospital Baltimore.
Box 1 Carson, John Miller 1894
Cator, Robinson W.
See Merchant's National Bank Baltimore.
Box 1 Chaille-Long, Charles 1885
Box 1 Chesapeake and Delaware Canal Company 1886
Box 1 Chesapeake and Ohio Canal 1904
Clarke, James C.
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill;Job seekers;Miscellaneous.
Cleaver, T. J.
See Chesapeake and Delaware Canal Company.
Box 1 Cleveland, Grover 1891-1893
Box 1 Cole, William Hinson 1885
Box 1 Congratulatory letters B-W
Box 1 Coyle, Andrew McNair 1885
Box 1 Crisfield, J. W. 1862
Crisp, Charles Frederick
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 1 Cullom, Shelby Moore 1885
Davis, Henry Gassaway
See West Virginia Central Railroad Company.
Davis, John W.
See Baltimore and Ohio Railroad.
Box 1 Democratic National Committee 1885, 1892, 1896
Box 1 Democratic Party of Maryland 1885-1887
Box 1 Dimmick, Mary Scott 1892
Box 1 Douglas, Henry Kyd 1888
Box 1 Edge, Camilla Sewall undated
Box 1 Foster, J. Nelson 1894
Box 1 Frémont, Jessie Benton undated
Box 1 Gambill, William Gorman 1885, 1899
Gans, Daniel
See Sympathy letters after house fire; Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Getty, William Reed
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 1 Gibson, Charles Hopper undated
Box 1 Gorman, Arthur P., Jr. 1907
Box 1 Gorman, Charles Edward 1885
Box 1 Gorman, Elizabeth A. 1885
Box 1 Gorman, Hannah ("Hattie") 1897, 1905
Box 1 Gorman, Peter Calhoun 1885
Box 1 Gorman, William Henry 1890
Box 1 Groome, James Black 1886
Box 1 Gwinn, Charles J. M. 1890, 1892, 1896
Box 1 Harrison, Benjamin 1896
Box 1 Hayes, Thomas Gordon 1892-1894
Box 1 The Holton-Arms School 1918-1920
Box 1 Hopkins, Louis N. 1892, 1894, 1895
Box 1 Howell, Evan P. 1892
Box 1 Inman, John H. 1894
Box 2 Job seekers B-E
Box 2 Job seekers F-L
Box 2 Job seekers M-W
Box 2 Jones, James Kimbrough undated
Jones, John M.
See Sympathy letters after house fire.
Box 2 Journal of Industry Quincy, Il 1898
Joyce, E.T.
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 2 Kelton, John Cunningham 1886
Kenna, John Edward
See United States Senate: 49th Congress.
Box 2 Knights of Labor 1896, 1897
Box 2 Lamont, Daniel Scott 1885, 1893
Box 2 Lanahan, Thomas M. 1885
Box 2 Langley, Samuel Pierpont undated
Box 2 Lapham, Elbridge G. 1885
Box 2 Latrobe, Ferdinand Claiborne 1885, 1890
Box 2 Lee, Guy Carleton 1899
Box 2 Lee, James Fenner 1885
Box 2 Leinweber, Christian 1885
Box 2 Leroux, Jules 1884-1885
Box 2 Lloyd, Henry 1885
Box 2 London, John James 1803
Box 2 Lowndes, Lloyd 1883, 1885, 1887
Box 2 Maddox, John W. 1886
Box 2 Maddox, Joseph H. 1878
Box 2 Maryland Democratic Club of Washington, D. C. 1887
McSherry, James
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 2 Merchants' National Bank Baltimore, MD 1886
Box 2 Meredith, Gilmore 1885
Box 2 Miller, Joseph S. 1885
Box 2 Moltke, Helmuth Johann Ludwig von 1891
Box 2 Murphy, Jeremiah Henry 1885
Box 2 Nimmo, Joseph 1889
Box 2 The Nursery and Child's Hospital Baltimore 1885
Box 2 Order of the American Union 1884-1885
Box 2 The Orpheus Club 1890
Ousley, Clarence
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 2 Parsons, William Henry 1892
Box 2 Petitions 1894, undated
Box 2 Pilgrims of the United States 1903-1904
Quinn, John
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Randall, James Ryder
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 2 Randall, Samuel Jackson 1885
Box 2 Randle, Arthur E. 1899
Box 2 Ransom, Matt Whitaker 1898
Box 2 Rasin, Isaac Freeman 1892, 1893, 1896
Box 3 Scharf, John Thomas 1888
Box 3 Seventh Ward Democratic Association of Baltimore 1892
Box 3 Sewall, Arthur 1888
Box 3 Sherman, John 1894
Box 3 Sinclair, Arthur, Jr. 1838
Smith, Willoughby N.
See Baltimore and Ohio Railroad.
Box 3 Sons of the American Revolution 1907
Box 3 Stevenson, Adlai Ewing 1896
Box 3 Stewart, Annie E. Foote (Mrs. William Morris Stewart) undated
Box 3 Stone, William J. 1899
Box 3 Straus, Oscar Solomon 1884
Stubbs, Daniel W.
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Stump, Henry Arthur
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 3 Sympathy letters after house fire 1890
Box 3 Tammany Society 1886
Taylor, Fred P.
See Journal of Industry.
Townsend, George Alfred
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 3 Treasury Department 1888
Box 3 Tubman, S. Magruder 1879, 1885
Box 3 United Sons of the Republic 1885, 1889
Box 3 United States Internal Revenue 1887
Box 3 United States Senate: 49th Congress 1885-1887
Box 3 United States Senate: 50th Congress 1887-1889
Box 3 United States Senate: 51st Congress 1889-1891
Box 3 United States Senate: 52nd Congress 1891-1893
Box 3 United States Senate: 53rd Congress 1893-1895
Box 3 United States Senate: 54th Congress 1895-1897
Box 4 United States Senate: 55th Congress 1897-1899
Box 4 United States Senate: 58th Congress 1903-1905
Box 4 United States Senate: Joint Committee on Printing 1891
Box 4 United States Senate Library 1896
Box 4 United States Senate Miscellaneous undated
Box 4 Vance, Zebulon Baird undated
Box 4 Wall, Edward Clarence 1899
Warner, Adoniram Judson
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 4 Webster, Edwin H. 1863
Box 4 Wellman, Walter E. 1898
Box 4 West Virginia Central Railway Company 1888
Box 4 Willcox, Orlando B. 1882
Box 4 Williams, Francis Churchill undated
Box 4 Williams, John Cassel undated
Box 4 Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill 1894
Box 4 Winchester and Potomac Railroad Company 1888
Box 4 Windom, William 1891
Box 4 Wood, William Patrick 1885
Box 4 World's Fair: Columbian Exposition 1893
Yerkes, Harman
See Wilson-Gorman Tariff Bill.
Box 4 Miscellaneous correspondence A-W
Speeches
Box 5 Civil Service reform 1885
Box 5 "Land Ownership in Great Britain" 1896
Box 5 "Outrages of Yesterday" 1886
Box 5 "Senator Gorman on Silver" 1896
Box 5 Notes and fragments 1891-1896
Memorabilia
Clippings
Box 5 Clippings 1884
Box 5 Clippings 1885
Box 5 Clippings 1886
Box 5 Clippings 1887
Box 5 Clippings 1888
Box 5 Clippings 1889
Box 5 Clippings 1890
Box 5 Clippings 1891
Box 5 Clippings 1892
Box 5 Clippings 1893
Box 5 Clippings 1894
Box 5 Clippings 1895
Box 5 Clippings 1896 (3 folders)
Box 5 Clippings 1897
Box 6 Clippings 1897 (2 folders)
Box 6 Clippings 1898
Box 6 Clippings 1899
Box 6 Clippings 1900
Box 6 Clippings 1901
Box 6 Clippings 1904
Box 6 Clippings 1905
Box 6 Clippings 1906
Box 6 Financial records 1833-1896
Box 6 Newspaper editorials, typescript and holograph copies 1888-1896
Box 6 Photographs undated
Printed material
Box 6 "Senator Gorman Viewed by His Friends and Enemies" 1897
Box 6 The Verdict February 12, 1900 1900
Box 6 Weekly banking circulars 1891-1899
Box 6 Postmaster's bonds 1804-1849
Box 6 Quotations undated
Box 6 Miscellaneous

Return to top