Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Quentin P. Gore Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gore, Quentin P.
Title: Quentin P. Gore Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1927-1967
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American journalist, editor at the Chicago Sun-Times. Correspondence (1927-1967); photographs; manuals and other material pertaining to typography and printing; and a scrapbook of Gore's columns The axis on the air (1944-1946).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Quentin P. Gore was an American journalist and editor of the Chicago Sun-Times. He was also the author of The Chicago Sun-Times type and makeup manual. (1964)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Quentin P. Gore Papers comprise four series. Miscellaneous contains a movie editing kit. Published material contains books pertaining to newspaper publishing as well as issues of Linotype News, a magazine for those in the printing field. Subject files contains mainly correspondence about the Chicago Sun-Times, a newspaper edited by Gore. Writings contains volumes of Gore's Typographical and makeup manual as well as a scrapbook of clippings of his column, "The Axis on the Air."

Return to top

Arrangement

Each series is arranged alphabetically by type (Published material), topic (Subject files), or title (Writings).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gore, Quentin P. Archives.

Associated Titles

Chicago sun-times.

Subjects

Journalists -- United States.
Makeup (Printing)
Newspaper editors -- United States.
Newspapers, Sections, columns, etc.
Printing -- Style manuals.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Newspaper columns.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Quentin P. Gore Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: Dec 1978
Revision history: 26 Jun 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Miscellaneous
Box 1 Edit-ex movie editing kit
Published material
Box 1 Books (hardcover) (16 volumes)
Box 2 Books (softcover) (14 volumes)
Box 2 Booklets 1940-1950
Box 2 Charts, loose papers
Box 2 Linotype News 1952-1962 (2 folders)
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Subject files
Box 2 Edmund Arnold 1959-1965
Box 2 Codification of Makeup Rules and Practices 1951-1953
Box 2 Gilbert Farrar 1927-1957
Box 2 General 1927-1967, undated (6 folders)
Box 2 Inland Daily Press Award 1961-1963
Box 2 Marshall Field Award 1954
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Photographs
Box 2 Typographical manual 1953-1965
Writings
Box 3 Typographical and Makeup Manual (10 volumes)
Oversize 1 Type and Makeup Manual, 4th edition (2 copies)
Oversize 1 Scrapbook 1944-1946

Return to top