Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Josef Goradza Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Goradza, Josef.
Title: Josef Goradza Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1953-1973
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Photographs, negatives, and a few items of personal memorabilia of the German-American photographer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Josef Goradza (1933-2008) was a German-American photographer and later Ramakrishna monk. Born in Silesia, Germany, Goradza came to the United States in 1973. He became an American citizen and served in the U.S. Army during the Korean War. In 1973 he joined the Ramakrishna-Vivekananda Center of New York as a monastic member, taking the name Brahmachari Sadashiva Chaitanya.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Josef Goradza Collection consists of several hundred black and white photographs. Many are of individuals, of New York street scenes or of nature (flowers, leaves, etc.). Unfortunately none of the photographs are identified.

The collection also includes contact sheets, photographs of the work of artists Ezio Martinelli and some personal photographs, with a few negatives and color transparencies.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the collections of a number of well-known photographers, including Margaret Bourke-White and Clara Sipprell. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index to locate this material.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Goradza, Josef.
Martinelli, Ezio, 1913-1981.

Subjects

Photographers -- United States -- 20th century.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century.
New York (N.Y.) -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Color transparencies.
Negatives (photographs)
Photographs.

Occupations

Photographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Josef Goradza Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Ramakrishna-Vivekananda Center of New York, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 24 Aug 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Photographs and biographical material - personal photographs, some labelled by donor as "Josef and Julia"; a few color transparencies; color reproductions of Honorable Discharge with accompanying letter and brief biographical sketch, prepared by the Ramakrishna-Vivekananda Center
Photographs
Box 1 Contact prints
Box 1 Ezio Martinelli - photographs and negatives
Box 1 Photographs,unidentified
Box 2 Photographs,unidentified
Box 3 Photographs,unidentified
Box 4 Photographs,unidentified

Return to top