Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Marty Glickman Interviews

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Glickman, Marty, 1917-2001.
Title: Marty Glickman Interviews
Inclusive Dates: 1988-1991
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: 32 audiocassettes of Stan Isaacs' interviews with Marty Glickman and 5 audiocassettes of Glickman radio broadcasts. Glickman was an American sports broadcaster and commentator for more than fifty years; among other things he was known as "the voice of the New York Giants." Stan Isaacs assisted Glickman in the writing of his autobiography, The Fastest Kid on the Block: The Marty Glickman Story (1996).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Marty Glickman (1917-2001) was a Jewish American athlete, and a sports broadcaster and commentator for more than fifty years.

Glickman graduated from Syracuse University where he was an All-American football player; he later had brief careers in both professional football and basketball. He was a member of the U.S. Olympic team for track and field at the 1936 Summer Olympics in Berlin; for reasons never fully explained, he and Sam Stoeller, also Jewish, were replaced at the last minute in the 4 x 100-meter relay by two non-Jewish teammates and did not compete.

During Glickman's radio career he was "the voice of the New York Giants" from 1948 to 1971, as well as for the New York Jets (1972-1979, 1987-1989), the New York Knicks (1946-1970), and hosted pre-game and post-game shows for the (Brooklyn) Dodgers and the New York Yankees for 22 years. He also narrated news reels and served as commentator for a wide range of sports, from baseball to horse racing to lacrosse.

Glickman's honors and awards include the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame’s Curt Gowdy Award (1991), the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame Award (1992), and the American Sportscasters Hall of Fame (1993).

[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from "MARTIN 'MARTY' GLICKMAN" on the International Jewish Sports Hall of Fame website, http://www.jewishsports.net/BioPages/MartyGlickman.htm.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marty Glickman Interviews consists of 32 audiocassettes containing Glickman's reminiscences and recollections of his life and career, recorded by Stan Isaacs. Stan Isaacs assisted Glickman in the writing of his autobiography, The Fastest Kid on the Block: The Marty Glickman Story (1996). Glickman talks about growing up in the Bronx, his time at Syracuse University, his experiences at the Berlin Olympics in 1936, important sports figures such as Howard Cosell and Wilt Chamberlain, and more.

Also included in the collection are five audiocassettes of radio broadcasts, including several of Glickman covering New York Jets football games.

The item titles given in the inventory below are exactly as written on the tapes themselves, so some names or abbreviations may not be correct. Where possible, notes are included to clarify. Throughout, Glickman used the abbreviation "Anncer" for "Announcer".

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All tapes have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

See also the Steven H. Scheuer Television History Interviews for other interviews with Glickman.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Auerbach, Red, 1917-2006.
Brown, Jim, 1936-
Cosell, Howard, 1918-1995.
Glickman, Marty, 1917-2001.
Holland, Jerome H., 1916-
Isaacs, Stan -- interviewer.
Leonard, Sugar Ray, 1956-
Stern, Bill, 1907-1971.
Wilkinson, Bud, 1916-1994.

Corporate Bodies

New York Jets (Football team)
Olympic Games (11th : 1936 : Berlin, Germany)
Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Football team)

Subjects

Athletes -- United States.
Jewish athletes -- United States.
Olympics -- Political aspects.
Sportscasters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Broadcasts.
Interviews.
Oral histories (document genres)

Occupations

Sportscasters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marty Glickman Interviews,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Stan Isaacs, 2005.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 11 Jan 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All tapes have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Recollections
Box 1 Berlin Recollect, Living in Bronx-Brooklyn/Assignments thru (fors) to Singh and Ossie Solomon 07/88 (ID#: glickman_m-01)
Box 1 Berlin Recollect Stoller 8-5-36 Meeting/Post Olym; Olym Parade; Early Track 08/24 - recollections of Glickman's Olympic Games experience in 1936 (ID#: glickman_m-02)
Box 1 Pro Grid; Early Radio; Jim Brown; Brud Holland/LeBon; Tennis; Cosell 05/31/1989 - Jerome H. "Brud" Holland, Howard Cosell (ID#: glickman_m-03)
Box 1 SA-Glick SYR; Dinner Recollect, Time Football/J. Brown End of 9/21/89 session T. Hucino; Director - Prod; Rizz-Kids 09/21/1989 - Marty Glickman recollects his experiences at Syracuse University (ID#: glickman_m-04)
Box 1 Berlin 1985 Incident; NYAC Dinner/End Berlin Incident; Begin Childhood 02/05/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-05)
Box 1 (Clockmans) as a kid and OP; 3d side of Session to JRH-HS / Bert Lee Hockey; Marines; (Paley) Letter, Jim Brown; Marge Dancer 02/05/1991; 02/11/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-06)
Box 1 Frosh Heroics SYR; Coll Commun (w/) Bench/ Syracuse Radio Show; Left off Olym-O Trial 02/11/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-07)
Box 1 Start Hugh Carol to WHN acquires Dodger rites/Start Today’s Baseball 02/18/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-08)
Box 1 Albert to Suggestions / Vandy to (Rubimach) and Russell 02/18/1991; 02/26/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-09)
Box 1 Lord Burleigh to All Time College All Stars / Pro All Star Team to Bee-Holman Pro-Grid 02/20/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-10)
Box 1 Rossides; IANT Games / Red Auerbach and Russell; Marty and Schenkel 02/20/1991; 02/26/1981 - Marty Glickman recollections; including comments on early NBA, Red Auerbach, Bill Russell (ID#: glickman_m-11)
Box 1 Marty with Eddie Andelman / Shenkel; Newsreels - Bill Stern 02/18/1991; 02/26/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-12)
Box 1 1st NBA meeting to Carl Braun / Contin. Carl Braun to Columbia 03/05/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-13)
Box 1 69 Rang - Nix HBO / David Black 03/05/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-14)
Box 1 Joe Namath to Ray Leonard / Add Ray Leonard to Bob Trumpy 03/13/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-15)
Box 1 Bradley to (Lanncer); Radio-TV Transition (Critiques) / Woody Allen Audit; Radio-TV Transition 03/20/1991 (ID#: glickman_m-16)
Box 1 Camera Presence to Ryan Schenkel Analysis / Schenkel - McKay; Jackie Robinson (ID#: glickman_m-17)
Box 1 Yonkers; Horse Named Go / Go Horse Story Castrated Balls to Bud Wilkinson (ID#: glickman_m-18)
Box 1 Wilkinson to Mikan - Bud WIlkinson, George Mikan (ID#: glickman_m-19)
Box 1 Add Trumpy to Helen Stevens / LV Giants - Jets Start - correct spelling is Helen Stephens (ID#: glickman_m-20)
Box 1 Glickman / (Saperstein) / Glickman-Nix 45 Years Later (ID#: glickman_m-21)
Box 1 (Spartak), AD, (Anncerless) Game, Jewish, Ken Wash, Tark / Jennings, Word Broadcaster, (Curr Sets), His Last Days, Jets - "Tark" may be Fran Tarkenton (ID#: glickman_m-22)
Box 1 First Loss; Gym Mates; Geog. of (Baskets); Family; Duffy; Dero; All Start; Wismer; Parker; Retire; Old Fogey (ID#: glickman_m-23)
Box 1 More Wilt; Anncer Analysis; Harwell, AD 1936 Olym Scoring - Wilt Chamberlain (ID#: glickman_m-24)
Box 1 Mack Robinson / Mack Robinson II (ID#: glickman_m-25)
Box 1 Garden - McCarver to K. Jason (ID#: glickman_m-26)
Box 1 Marty on Basketball Origins / Early Football and House Man (Theme) (ID#: glickman_m-27)
Box 1 Marty at Fordham / Tips; Jets Misery; On Losers; Coslet (Conf.); Rangers; Pro-Grid; On Announcers; Part II as HouseMen/Local Network (ID#: glickman_m-28)
Box 1 Marty on Anncer Tip Anecdotes / More Anncer Tip Anecdotes (ID#: glickman_m-29)
Box 1 Albert on Glickman / Albert on Glickman; Glick on (Dennis) Byrd - "Albert" is Marv Albert (ID#: glickman_m-30)
Box 1 Marty G. Post Dennis Byrd / Side B blank (ID#: glickman_m-31)
Sports broadcasts
Box 1 Berlin - 1st Bdcast - Marge / Jets - Finale - Jewish - Garden - Anncers - Dennis Byrd (ID#: glickman_m-32)
Box 1 Glickman about 1988 Season End G - Jet Game / Post Giant - Jet Game Interview W/ Jim Gordon (ID#: glickman_m-33)
Box 1 Glickman Jets - KC 1st Quarter / Glickman Jets - KC 3rd Quarter (ID#: glickman_m-34)
Box 1 Glickman w. Mazer I / Glickman w/ Mazer 2 - Only the Beginning of Tape - "Mazer" is probably Bill Mazer (ID#: glickman_m-35)
Box 1 Jets - Tampa Bay End and Start / Jets - Tampa Bay 4th Quarter (ID#: glickman_m-36)
Box 1 Jets - Rams / Side B blank (ID#: glickman_m-37)

Return to top