Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Allen Ginsberg Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ginsberg, Allen, 1926-1997.
Title: Allen Ginsberg Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1962-1997
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American poet. Correspondence, poems, photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Allen Ginsberg (1926-1997) was an American poet and -- with William S. Burroughs and Jack Kerouac -- a seminal member of the Beat Generation. Ginsberg is best known for the poem Howl (1956), celebrating his fellow Beats and attacking what he saw as the destructive forces of materialism and conformity in the United States at the time.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Allen Ginsberg Papers consists of correspondence and writings. Correspondence consists of outgoing items to Imamu Amiri Baraka (Leroi Jones), Marshall Bean, Robert Wilson, and Geoffrey Hazard. The Wilson letter, written shortly before Ginsberg's death, also includes two photographs. Writings include two signed and dated holograph poems and three signed typescript poems.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged in alphabetical order. Writings are subdivided by type and then arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Allen Ginsberg Interview. Special Collections Research Center also has Beat-related books, pamphlets, serials and other items are inour Rare Books holdings. Please search the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Baraka, Amiri, 1934-
Bean, Marshall.
Ginsberg, Allen, 1926-1997.
Hazard, Geoffrey.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Beat Generation (Group of writers)
Bohemianism -- United States.
Literature, Experimental.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)
Photographs.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Allen Ginsberg Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.

1997 letter purchased, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jul 1987
Revision history: 30 May 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 31 Jul 2009 - added related material (MRC); 25 Sep 2013 - adds, P-13-135 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 24 Baraka, Imamu Amiri (LeRoi Jones) Apr. 24, 1962 (1 postcard)
SC 24 Bean, Marshall 1965, 1966 (2 letters)
SC 24 Hazard, Geoffrey undated (1 postcard)
SC 24 Wilson, Robert Feb 1997 - letter, handwritten, and two photographs signed and captioned by Ginsberg
Purchase, 2013.
Writings
Poems - handwritten, signed
SC 24 "Guru" May, 1965
SC 24 "The masters of silent illumination . . ." (untitled) 1966
Poems - typed, signed
SC 24 "Malest Cornifici Tuo Catullo"
SC 24 "Message"
SC 24 "The Shrouded Stranger"

Return to top