Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Eddy Lanier King Gilmore Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gilmore, Eddy, 1907-1967.
Title: Eddy Lanier King Gilmore Papers
Inclusive Dates: ca. 1930-1967 (material undated)
Quantity: 0.3 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the Pulitzer Prize-winning American journalist. Collection includes correspondence, articles by Gilmore, articles about Gilmore, and speeches.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eddy Lanier King Gilmore (1907-1967) was a Pulitzer Prize-winning American journalist. Born May 28, 1907 in Selma, Alabama, he graduated from Carnegie Institute of Technology in 1928 and his first reporting job was with the Atlantic Journal (1929-1932). From 1932 to 1935 he worked for the Washington Daily News, and in 1935 he joined the staff of the Associated Press in Washington. He was assigned to the Moscow AP Headquarters where from 1941-1943 he was chief of AP operations in Russia. In 1947 he was awarded a Pulitzer Prize for his 1946 interview with Josef Stalin at the "Big Four Talks."

While in Russia he met and fell in love with Tamara Kolb-Chernashova, a member of the corps de ballet of the Bolshoi Ballet. The Stalinist government refused to allow them to marry until Wendell Wilkie, a friend of Gilmore's, interceded. They were married in 1950, but it was not until 1953 (after Stalin's death) that the Soviet government allowed Gilmore's wife and their two daughters to leave the country. They eventually had another daughter and a son. Much of the rest of Gilmore's career was spent in London for the Associate Press.

Gilmore was the author of several books, including My Wartime Romance (about himself and Tamara), Troika, and The Night the Cossacks Burned Down the "Y".

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eddy Lanier King Gilmore Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, articles, and one scrapbook.

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming and outgoing. Subject files include press cards, souvenirs, and material from Gilmore's tenure in London for the Associate Press. Articles includes those by Gilmore (most concern England and English individuals), about Gilmore (some relate to speeches he gave, others are biographical), a small amount of publicity material, and one article by someone else. A single Scrapbook completes the collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically, outgoing chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access requires permission of donor.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of noted journalists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gilmore, Eddy, 1907-1967.

Subjects

Journalism -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eddy Lanier King Gilmore Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 1966
Revision history: 21 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 Ballard - Ottner
Box 1 Associated Press
Box 1 Boykin, Frank W.
Box 1 Farley, James A.
Box 1 Murrow, Edward R.
Box 1 Stengel, Casey
Box 1 Unidentified
Outgoing
Box 1 Undated
Subject files
Box 1 Press cards and passes
Box 1 British material
Box 1 de Gaulle's visit to Parliament
Box 1 Opening of Parliament
Box 1 Picture of Gilmore
Box 1 Calling cards
Box 1 Menus
Box 1 Negatives
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Articles
By Gilmore
Box 1 Princess Alexandra
Box 1 Prince Andrew
Box 1 Lady Astor
Box 1 King Baudouin
Box 1 Casement, Sir Roger
Box 1 Chan, Jaqui
Box 1 Churchill, Winston
Box 1 Queen Elizabeth II
Box 1 England, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 1 English courts
Box 1 Field, Shirley Ann
Box 1 Horse-racing in Russia
Box 1 Khrushchev, Nikita
Box 1 Love, Jack and Mary
Box 1 Princess Margaret
Box 1 Olympics in Rome
Box 1 Queen Mother
Box 1 Russell, Bertrand
Box 1 Russia
Box 1 Thurber, James
About speeches given by Gilmore
Box 1 Miscellaneous (4 folders)
About Gilmore, biographical
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Publicity material about Gilmore
Box 1 Miscellaneous (2 folders)
By others
Box 1 Rogers, Ernest (about Rolfe Edmondson)
Scrapbook
Oversize  [untitled]

Return to top