Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Howard Giles Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Giles, Howard, 1876-1955.
Title: Howard Giles Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1878-1958
Quantity: 2.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, lithographer. Correspondence, 1918-1957; exhibition catalogs, photographs, published material by and about Giles; and sketches and watercolors by Giles.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Howard Giles (1876-1955) was an American painter, illustrator, and teacher. Born in Brooklyn, New York, he studied at the Art Students' League and with Jay Hambidge, whose theory of "dynamic symmetry" influenced Giles' work. In 1912 he began teaching at the New York School of Fine and Applied Art, and later was appointed Dean of the Art Department at the Nicholas Roerich Museum in New York, retiring as Dean Emeritus. Giles is represented in the permanent collections of major museums and in private collections.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Howard Giles Papers include biographical material, correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, published material, sketches, and watercolors.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing. Subject files includes manuscripts, medals, photographs, and published material. Manuscripts includes manuscripts about Mr. Giles, essays, letters on art, notes, manuscripts of others, sketches, watercolors of Giles' work, and a portfolio of students' work. Published material includes magazine articles, books, illustrations, newspaper clippings, and reproductions.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author, outgoing chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Blashfield, Edwin Howland, 1848-1936.
Giles, Howard, 1876-1955.
Gropper, William, 1897-1997.
Hambidge, Jay, 1867-1924.
Hampden, Walter, 1879-1955.
Henri, Robert, 1965-1929.
Phillips, W. S. (Walter Shelley), 1867-1940.
Roerich, Nicholas, 1874-1947.
Ross, Denman Waldo, 1853-1935.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Lithographers -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Paintings.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Lithographers.
Painters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard Giles Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Oct 1966
Revision history: 30 May 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 5 Dec 2016 - rehoused, inventory cleanup (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

Artwork
Box 1 Sketches undated
Box 1 Watercolor studies undated (24 items)
Box 1 Watercolors 1936, undated (30 items)
Oversize 1 Watercolors (oversize) 1927-1930, 1932-1933, 1937 (60 pieces)
Box 1 By others 1921, 1930-1932, 1936
Oversize 2 Portfolio of students' work in leather portfolio 1934 (28 items)
Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 A-B 1921-1923
Box 1 Art Institute of Chicago 1918, 1921, 1923-1924
Box 1 Artists' Galleries 1923
Box 1 Blashfield, Edwin Howland 1922
Box 1 Brooklyn Museum 1923
Box 1 Carnegie Institute 1921-1924
Box 1 City Art Museum 1923-1924
Box 1 Cleveland Art Museum 1923
Box 1 Corcoran Gallery of Art 1923
Box 1 D-H 1927, 1929, undated
Box 1 Detroit Institute of Arts 1923-1924, 1929
Box 1 Fine Arts Gallery of San Diego 1926, 1927
Box 1 Fogg Art Museum (Harvard Univ.) 1927, 1929
Box 1 Gropper, William circa 1920
Box 1 Hambidge, Jay 1920-1923
Box 1 Hampden, Walter undated
Box 1 Henri, Robert 1921, 1924
Box 1 K-R 1924, 1928-1929, 1936, 1938
Box 1 Museum of Fine Arts 1926
Box 1 Nat'l Academy of Design 1929
Box 1 Phillips, W.S. undated
Box 1 Ramsey, C.F. 1922
Box 1 Rockefeller, Abby 1927
Box 1 Roerich, Nicholas 1929, 1931, 1934
Box 1 Ross, Denman W. 1923, 1925, 1927, 1929-1930
Box 1 S-Y, Unidentifiable 1920, 1921, 1925-1926, 1929, 1936
Outgoing
Box 1 General 1923-1925, 1927, 1935, undated
Correspondence of others
Box 1 Giles, Mrs. Howard (wife) 1955, 1957
Subject files
Box 1 Awards 1923, 1926, 1935
Box 1 Bessemer, Auriel undated
Box 1 Carter, Evelyn 1925, 1938, 1941, 1957
Box 1 Color charts 1925, 1928
Box 2 Da Vinci, Leonardo 1931
Box 2 Exhibitions 1897, 1914, 1923, 1925, 1929, 1933, 1936-1938, 1957
Box 2 Hambidge, Jay and Dynamic Symmetry 1919, 1923-1924, 1929
Box 2 Medals 1918, 1921, 1926, 1932-1933 (2 folders)
Box 2 Membership Certificate 1953
Photographs
Oversize 2 Self and Family 1933, undated
Box 2 Travel 1916, undated
Oversize 2 Works 1926, 1932, 1945
Box 2 Programs 1958, undated
Quotations from others
Box 2 Ross, Denman W. 1929
Box 2 Various Authors 1925, 1947
Manuscripts
Box 2 About Giles by others 1933, 1935, 1958, undated
Box 2 Essays by Giles 1921, undated
Box 3 Letters on art 1951, undated
Box 3 Notes 1950, undated
Published material
Articles
Box 4 About Giles 1929-1931, 1936, 1945, undated
Box 4 By Giles 1921, 1930-1931
Box 4 By and about others 1920, 1930-1933, 1935-1936
Books
The Salmagundi Club by W. H. Shelton, with 1 illustration by Giles 1918
See the Classic Catalog for this item.
Sketching from Nature, T. Rowbitham 1878
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please seethe Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Magazine illustrations by Giles
Box 4 Scribner's August, 1913
Box 4 Scribner's November, 1913
Box 4 Scribner's December, 1913
Newspaper Clippings
Box 4 About Giles 1922-1924, 1926, 1929, 1932, 1936-1937, undated
Box 4 By Giles 1921, undated
Box 4 By and about others 1923, 1925, 1928, 1931-1932, 1935-1936, 1947
Reproductions
Box 4 Works by Giles 1923, 1937 - includes issue of Everyday Art, vol. 1 no. 5
Box 4 Works of others undated

Return to top