Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Norman Gentieu Collection Relating to Eastwood Lane

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Gentieu, Norman, 1914-2009.
Title: Norman Gentieu Collection Relating to Eastwood Lane
Inclusive Dates: 1913-1981
Quantity: .5 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of the American author and historian related to his interest in the composer Eastwood Lane. The collection includes copies of correspondence with Modena Scovill Lane (Eastwood Lane's widow), published copies of several Eastwood Lane compositions for piano and research material used by Gentieu to write about Eastwood Lane.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Norman Gentieu (1914-2009) was an American author and historian from Philadelphia whose interest in twentieth century jazz led him to research and publish articles on Eastwood Lane.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norman Gentieu Collection Relating to Eastwood Lane consists of Correspondence-subject files, Printed material and Research material.

Correspondence-subject files include letters to Norman Gentieu from Modena Scovill Lane, the widow of Eastwood Lane, and a small number of letters from Eastwood Lane.

Printed material consists of one piece of artwork, two books, one by Modena Scovill, a concert program and several copies of published sheet music by Eastwood Lane.

Research material consists of photocopies of correspondence from the originals which are in the Eastwood Lane Papers.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gentieu, Norman, 1914-2009.
Lane, Eastwood, 1879-1951.
Scovill, Modena.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
Sheet music.

Occupations

Author

Return to top

Location of Originals

Originals of the photocopied correspondence may be found in the Eastwood Lane Papers.Originals are here and here and here.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:


Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Originally accessioned as part of the Eastwood lane Papers, gift of Mary Meloscia and Thomas S. Pletcher, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: (PRB)
Date: 27 Mar 2013
Revision history: 27 Apr 2018 - Processed (PRB)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Belwyn Mills Publishing Corp. 1976
Box 1 Cranberry Lake undated
Box 1 Lane, Modena Scovill 1951, 1952, 1967, 1973-1976, 1977-1981 (2 folders)
Box 1 Lane, Sidney Eastwood 1950
Box 1 New York University 1976
Box 1 Unidentified 1977
Printed material
Artwork
Box 1 Crapsody by Willy Pogany 1921
Books
Box 1 Keyboard Harmony Book II by Modena Scovill 1950
Box 1 Two Centuries of American Musical Composition 1926
Concert programs
Box 1 Carnegie Hall Reinald Werrenrath song recital 1925
Sheet music
Box 1 Abélard and Héloise for piano solo by Eastwood Lane 1933
Box 1 Adirondack Sketches: A suite for piano by Eastwood Lane 1922
Box 1 Caravan from China for piano solo by Eastwood Lane 1933
Box 1 Five American Dances for piano by Eastwood Lane 1919
Box 1 Fourth of July by Eastwood Lane 1935
Box 1 Girl on Tiptoe for piano solo by Eastwood Lane 1933
Box 1 Here are ladies five piano pieces by Eastwood Lane 1944
Box 1 In Sleepy Hollow for piano by Eastwood Lane 1913
Box 1 The Little Fisherman words by Dana Burnet, music by Eastwood Lane 1918
Box 1 Persimmon Pucker for piano solo by Eastwood Lane 1926
Box 1 Sea Burial for piano solo by Eastwood Lane 1925
Box 1 Sold Down the River by Eastwood Lane 1928
Research material
Box 1 Photocopies of correspondence between Eastwood Lane and Modena Scovill undated - originals are in the Eastwood Lane Papers. (2 folders)

Return to top