Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Genesee Junior College Hemlock Fair Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Genesee Junior College
Title: Genesee Junior College Hemlock Fair Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1948-1949
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten sheets detailing participants in Genesee Junior College Hemlock Fair, 1948 and 1949.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Genesee Junior College (1947-1951) was a short-lived institution in Lima, NY, which opened following the closure of the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary in 1941, which itself had survived the closure of its affiliate the Genesee College, an institution which preceded Syracuse University. Genesee Junior College was succeeded on its grounds by Elim Bible Institute & College in 1951, which is still in operation today. The Hemlock Fair remains an annual event in Hemlock, NY, a neighboring town to Lima also located in Livingston County.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Genesee Junior College Hemlock Fair Collection consists of four handwritten sheets listing participants in the 1948 and 1949 fairs.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Genesee Junior College.

Subjects

Agricultural exhibitions.

Places

Lima (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.
Livingston County (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Notes (documents)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Genesee Junior College Hemlock Fair Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DSA
Date: 30 May 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 849 Registration lists 1948-1949

Return to top