Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Buckminster Fuller Collection relating to Tetrascroll

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fuller, R. Buckminster (Richard Buckminster), 1895-1983.
Title: Buckminster Fuller Collection relating to Tetrascroll
Inclusive Dates: before 1975
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Sketches, drawings, notes, galleys and a set of limited-edition lithographs related to the production of Buckminter Fuller's TETRASCROLL: Goldilocks and the Three Bears, A Cosmic Fairy Tale.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard Buckminster "Bucky" Fuller (1895-1983) was an American architect, author, designer, and inventor. He is perhaps best known for his popularization of the geodesic dome structure, but he also designed cars, lightweight modular housing, and games, among other things. He was an early promoter of the concept of sustainability, a popular and influential lecturer, and was recognized by numerous organizations and institutions for his work; he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1983, a few months before his death. The carbon molecule fullerene, whose structure resembles a geodesic dome, is named for him (such molecules are informally known as "buckyballs").

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Buckminster Fuller Collection relating to Tetrascroll consists of project material and original artwork, all of it relating to Fuller's TETRASCROLL: Goldilocks and the Three Bears, A Cosmic Fairy Tale.

Project material contains sketches, drawings, notes, paper mockups, and models for various parts of the book. There is also a complete set of galley proofs of the text of the book, a typed copy, and a brief summary of how Fuller came up with the idea.

Artwork consists of a set of 17 lithographs, signed and numbered, which formed the illustrations for the book.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection remains for the most part in the order it was received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Published copies of the book are also available, in both the circulating collections and Special Collections Research Center. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Associated Titles

Fuller, R. Buckminster (Richard Buckminster), 1895-1983. -- Tetrascroll.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Art and science.
Artists' books -- United States.
Geometry in literature.
Inventors -- United States.
Science in literature.
Synergetics.

Genres and Forms

Drawings (visual works)
Galley proofs.
Lithographs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Mock-ups.
Sketches.

Occupations

Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Buckminster Fuller Collection relating to Tetrascroll,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Universal Limited Art Editions, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: NRC
Date: 12 Dec 2017
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Project material
Oversize 1 Project material - sketches, drawings, folded and unfolded paper models
Oversize 2 Project material - folded and unfolded paper models, galley proofs of the text, typed copy of text, clipping
Artwork
Oversize 3 Lithographs, signed and numbered (17 items)

Return to top