Finding Aids
printer friendly version

George Friese Collection of Plastics Union Ephemera

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Friese, George.
Title: George Friese Collection of Plastics Union Ephemera
Inclusive Dates: 1935-1954
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Collection consists of union-related pieces of ephemera from George Friese’s career in the plastics industry in the Leominster, Massachusetts area.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Friese of Fitchburg, Massachusetts worked in the plastics industry in the Leominster, Massachusetts area. He was a member of the Playthings, Jewelry & Novelty Workers International Union-CIO at least from the 1940s-1950s and was employed at Du Pont Doyle Works in 1944-1945.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Friese Collection of Plastics Union Ephemera consists of union-related pieces of ephemera from George Friese’s career in the plastics industry in the Leominster, Massachusetts area. It includes his membership cards in the Playthings, Jewelry & Novelty Workers International Union-CIO, 1946 through 1954; an employees handbook from the Du Pont Viscoloid Company from 1935; and a payment receipt from Doyle Works Employee’s union from 1944-1945.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Friese, George -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Doyle Works.
DuPont Viscoloid Company.
Playthings, Jewelry & Novelty Workers International Union-CIO.

Subjects

Plastics industry and trade.
Plastics workers -- Labor unions.

Genres and Forms

Agreements.
Handbooks.
Membership cards.

Occupations

Labor union members.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Friese Collection of Plastics Union Ephemera,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Ephemera
SC 293 Miscellaneous 1935-1954 (8 items)
1. DuPont Viscoloid Company Employee’s Handbook, 1935
2. F. D. Associates membership card, 1938
3. Doyle Works Employees Union payment receipt, May 1944 to June 1945
4. (4) Membership cards from the Playthings, Jewelry & Novelty Workers International Union-CIO, 1946, 1948, 1949, 1954
5. Booklet: Labor agreement between Nashua Plastics Co., Inc and United Novelty Workers local 66, affiliated with Playthings, Jewelry & Novelty Workers International Union-CIO, 1952-1953

Return to top