Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Judy Freudberg Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Freudberg, Judy.
Title: Judy Freudberg Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1976-2010
Quantity: 4.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American television writer. Collection includes notes, drafts, scripts and story ideas for Sesame Street, Elmo's World and various other creative projects.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Judy Freudberg (1949-2012) was an American television writer. A graduate of Syracuse University, she was a scriptwriter for Sesame Street for more than 35 years and was the co-creator and head writer of the "Elmo's World" segment. She also wrote sketches for celebrities appearing on Sesame Street, and co-wrote the screenplays for the animated features films The Land Before Time and An American Tail.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Judy Freudberg Papers consists of notes, drafts, scripts and story ideas for Sesame Street, Elmo's World and various other creative projects.

The Elmo's World series consists of an official guide to the show (including a sketch of the set) and notes and scripts (some partial) for six seasons as well as an Elmo's World special (undated). The miscellaneous material includes lists of Elmo's World home videos, ideas for show topics, notes and memos about the show, and other assorted items.

The Sesame Street series contains bound scripts, inserts, files for individual shows, and miscellaneous Sesame Street-related items. Bound scripts encompass 25 years and eleven seasons. Not all shows are represented, and the scripts that are present are partial only; presumably only the parts that Freudberg wrote are included but this cannot be verified. Inserts consist of very short pieces intended to be inserted into a show; the inserts for Season 41 include a CD labeled "SS Puppet Inventory Animals." Show files contain notes, memos, and various version of scripts (drafts, production meeting copies, final copies). A few also contain music or lyrics for songs. The show file for show #4126, Rocco's birthday party, includes a CD labeled "Operatic Lullaby." Miscellaneous material includes handwritten notes with ideas for sketches, copies of Sesame Street curriculum guides for several seasons, handouts from creative meetings and workshops, and assorted other items.

Subject files contains notes, ideas, scripts and pitch documents for a range of creative projects, ranging from two episodes for the WGBH series Between the Lions to pitch documents for Mrs. Sparklenose's Flying Fairy School to handwritten notes for what appears to be a novel.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is divided into the three series given above. Within each series, scripts, inserts and show files are arranged chronologically while subject files are arranged alphabetically by title or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Five hardcover books have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items. The titles are:

  • Sesame Street Unpaved: Scripts, Stories, Secrets and Songs (Borgenicht)
  • Susan and Gordon Adopt a Baby (based on script by Freudberg)
  • Vegetable Soup (Freudberg and Geiss)
  • Molly Moves to Sesame Street (Freudberg), hardcover, book club edition
  • Molly Moves to Sesame Street (Freudberg), hardcover, trade edition

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Freudberg, Judy.

Corporate Bodies

Children's Television Workshop.
Sesame Workshop.

Associated Titles

Elmo's world.
Sesame Street (Television program)

Subjects

Muppets (Fictitious characters)
Television and children.
Television in preschool education.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Research notes.
Synopses.
Television scripts.
Treatments (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Television writers.
Women television writers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Judy Freudberg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joan Leibovitz, Jean Ballin, and Lee Freudberg, 2012.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 30 Aug 2012
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Elmo's World
Official guide 1998, undated - includes sketch of set
Show files
Box 1 Season 33, Wild Wild West 2001 - script, various versions (2 folders)
Box 1 Season 35, Bathtime 2003 - script, various versions
Box 1 Season 36, Jumping 2004 - script, various versions
Box 1 Season 37, Horses 2005 - script, various versions
Box 1 Season 38, Violins 2006 - script, various versions
Box 1 Season 39, Eyes 2007 - script, various versions
Box 1 Special undated
Box 2 Miscellaneous - notes, memos, lists of Elmo home videos, potential topics, etc.
Sesame Street
Bound scripts
Box 2 Season 8 1976-1977 - shows 926, 941, 946, 957, 965, 1000, 1011, 1016, 1023, 1026, 1035, 1053
Box 2 Season 9 1977-1978 - shows 1058, 1063, 1070, 1075, 1081, 1089, 1095, 1124, 1125, 1127, 1129, 1135, 1136, 1137, 1143, 1146, 1148, 1154, 1157, 1168, 1172, 1173, 1181, 1178, 1182, 1185
Box 2 Season 10 1978-1979 - shows 1186, 1188, 1196, 1208, 1215, 1216, 1217, 1225, 1226, 1228, 1252, 1256, 1261, 1263, 1284, 1290, 1293, 1299, 1304, 1307, 1313
Box 3 Season 11 1979-1980 - shows 1316-1321, 1324, 1329, 1331, 1339, 1347, 1349, 1356, 1363, 1366, 1371, 1409
Box 3 Season 23 1991-1992 - shows 2885, 2886, 2901, 2906, 2912, 2915, 2920, 2936, 2949, 2968, 2994, 3000, 3005
Box 3 Season 25 1993-1994 - shows 3153, 3140, 3161, 3181, 3199, 3212, 3233, 3248, 3255, 3261
Box 3 Season 26 1994-1995 - shows 3280, 3297, 3300, 3331, 3352, 3367, 3370, 3395
Box 4 Season 27 1995-1996 - shows 3401, 3405, 3406, 3456, 3457, 3473, 3478, 3496, 3500, 3503, 3508, 3509, 3516, 3525
Box 4 Season 28 1996-1997 - shows 3530, 3536, 3549, 3557, 3561, 3600, 3593, 3592, 3602, 3619, 3648, 3652, 3653
Box 5 Season 29 1997-1998 - shows 3656, 3660, 3666, 3672, 3674, 3687, 3698, 3702,3715, 3761, 3762, 3766, 3776, 3782
Box 5 Season 31 1999-2000 - shows 3854, 3879, 3882, 3904, 3905, 3913, EW 20
Inserts
Box 5 International
Box 5 Nathan Lane
Box 5 Season 35 - "Trash Gordon" inserts
Box 5 Season 38 - miscellaneous, for shows 4141, 4145, 4152, 4158
Box 6 Season 40 - miscellaneous, for shows 4187, 4190, 4194, 4197, 4203, 4207
Box 6 Season 41 - miscellaneous, for shows 4216, 4223, 4229, 4238; handwritten notes; CD, "SS Puppet Inventory Animals" (freudberg_002)
Show files
Season number is given in parentheses following the show number.
Box 6 4057 (35) 2003 - Sesame Street meets Elmo's World; draft; Revision #1, #2, #3; lyrics for "The Street I Live On," music and lyrics for "The Snuffleupagus" (2 folders)
Box 6 4069 (35) 2003 - Snuffy's invisible, part 1; notes, drafts, production meeting copy, lyrics to "I Love Trash"
Box 6 4070 (35) 2003 - annotated draft
Box 6 4075 (35) 2003 - Cookie Monster, while waiting for cookies, writes a story; notes, drafts
Box 6 4080 (35) 2003 - Elmo's [Barkley's] fairy godperson grants his wish to become a bird [turn Zoe into a bird]; notes, draft, production meeting copy
Box 6 4090 (36) 2004 - Big Bird wants to bake special birdseed cookies for his granny; drafts, production meeting copy, final
Box 6 4099 (36) 2004 - Zoe needs a rock-sitter for Rocco; drafts, production meeting copy, final
Box 7 4100 (36) 2004 - Baby Bear and Telly collaborate on a story; drafts, production meeting copy, final
Box 7 4107 (36) 2004 - Rosita can't go to Mexico so Big Bird and friends bring Mexico to her; notes, drafts, production meeting copy, final
Box 7 4111 (37) 2005 - Cookie World; drafts, production meeting copy, final
Box 7 4117 (37) 2005 - Elmo celebrates the letter J by changing his name to Jelmo; drafts, final
Box 7 4126 (37) 2005 - Rocco's birthday party; drafts, production meeting copy, final; includes CD, "Operatic Lullaby" (freudberg_001)
Box 7 4132 (37) 2005 - Big Bird and Snuffy want to play with Gina's new baby; notes, draft, production meeting copy, final
Box 7 4138 (38) 2006 - Elmo is in love with his favorite book, "Lucy the Lazy Lizard"; drafts, photocopy of music and lyrics for "What Makes Music"
Box 7 4141 (38) 2006 - Big Bird accidentally breaks Elmo's tricycle; notes, drafts, production meeting copy, final
Box 7 4148 (38) 2006 - drafts
Box 7 4152 (38) 2006 - Elmo wishes he had a pet dinosaur; notes, drafts, production meeting copy, final
Box 7 4171 (39) 2007 - drafts only
Box 7 4175 (39) 2007 - drafts only
Box 7 4177 (39) 2007 - drafts only
Box 7 4180 (39) 2007 - drafts only; includes "30 Rock" parody
Box 7 4183 (39) 2006 - Maria the Cowgirl; drafts, final (partial?); date differs because original show no. was 4171
Box 8 4194 (40) 2008 - Quest for words that start with Y; drafts
Box 8 4197 (40) 2008 - Cookie Monster wishes for a cookie tree; drafts, production meeting copy
Box 8 4206 (40) 2008 - Big Bird visits the doctor when he hurts his arm and has to wear a sling; notes, drafts, production meeting copy
Box 8 4207 (40) 2008 - letter G; notes, drafts
Box 8 4210 (40) 2008 - Gordon teaches Abby to ride a tricycle; notes, drafts, production meeting copy, "Revised #1"
Box 8 4218 (40) 2008 - notes, drafts
Box 8 4223 (41) 2009 - letter K, number 19; notes, drafts
Box 8 4229 (41) 2009 - notes, drafts, words and music for "Singing in the Shower," proof of concept document for "Munchin' Impossible" by Syndi Shumer
Box 8 4238 (41) 2009 - letter Z, number 15; notes, drafts
Box 8 Miscellaneous ideas - handwritten notes with various ideas for Sesame Street spots
Box 8 Miscellaneous 1996-2010, undated - season curriculm guides, notes, memos, etc.
Subject files
Box 8 The Alphabet Thieves 1995
Between the Lions - WGBH series
Box 9 Pirates 1998-1999 - contract, episode guide, notes, drafts, feedback from WGBH
Box 9 Pygmalion 1998-1999 - notes, episode outline, drafts
Box 9 Boomer 2007 - story of a horse; notes, outline, drafts
Box 9 Fairy School 2007 - "Mrs. Sparklenose's Flying Fairy School," a school for magical preschoolers; pitch documents, drafts of two scripts
Box 9 Letter stories undated - notes, partial draft about Sam the Singing Sock
Box 9 Murray 2008 - notes, drafts; draft episodes include karate school, farming school, nature school, gymnastics school, etc.
Box 9 Show ideas, miscellaneous 2002, undated - Furry Arms pitch document (Freudberg et al.), Zoe Hawker Neighborhood Dog Walker (Katchke), Frog and Toad Together, Extreme Adventure (Nat. Geo / Fox Kids)
Umbilical Brothers
See The Upside Down Show
The Upside Down Show
Box 9 Pitch documents - explanation, outline, characters, etc., using title "The Umbilical Brothers"
Box 9 Barbershop - thumbnail, drafts
Box 9 Beach - pilot script, using title "The Umbilical Brothers"
Box 9 Miscellaneous - character outline, curriculum, word lists, development notes, possible episode topics/titles, etc.
Box 9 Unidentified - several handwritten pages, possibly the outline for a novel

Return to top