Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

French Legal Document

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: French Document
Inclusive Dates: 1749
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Legal document, ink on vellum, appears to contain provisions for burial and other church-related matters upon the death of a man, possibly named Jean le Penat or Jean le Prouat, in Bordeaux.
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author or subject of this document other than what appears in it.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This French legal document, written in ink on vellum, appears to describe provisions for burial and other church-related matters upon to the death of a man possibly named Jean le Penat or Jean le Prouat. An ink stamp at the top with the words "G. de Bordeaux" suggests it is from the Généralite de Bordeaux. The stamp also includes the words "13 sols 24 den" at the top, possibly the standard fee or tax for filing the document.

The ink is still clear but the handwriting is small and difficult. The document begins, "Au nom de dieu fuit aujourd'hui huitiéme du mois d'aout mil sept cent quarante neuf..." A very partial transcription, but no translation, is included in the folder.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Bordeaux (France : Généralité) -- History -- 18th century.

Subjects

Funeral rites and ceremonies -- France.

Places

Bordeaux (France) -- History -- 18th century.

Genres and Forms

Legal documents.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

French Legal Document,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Professor S. Alexander Stern in memory of his late wife, Renée Oziel Stern, 2011.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Apr 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Legal documents
SC 657 French legal document 1749

Return to top