Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Don Francisco Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Francisco, Don, 1891-1973.
Title: Don Francisco Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1909-1965
Quantity: 8 linear ft.
Abstract: Don Francisco was advertising manager for the California Fruit Growers Exchange, worked with the Los Angeles advertising agency Lord & Thomas, and from 1945-1956 with the J. Walter Thompson Agency in New York. From 1940-1945, he worked with the radio division of the Office of Inter-American Affairs in the U.S. State Department. Collection includes correspondence; material on the Office of Inter-American Affairs and advertising agencies; articles, reports, speeches, promotional materials, photographs, and scrapbooks.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Donald ("Don") Francisco (1891-?) was an American advertising and public relations executive. A native of Lansing, Michigan, Don Francisco was born October 18, 1891, son of Will and Lillian (Burgdorf) Francisco. He received a B.S. from Michigan State University, 1914, his M.A. in 1923, and a PhD in 1949. After graduation he joined the Chicago office of the California Fruit Growers Exchange as a fruit inspector (1914-1915). In 1916 he was named assistant advertising manager (1916-1921) and as such was largely responsible for developing a large consumer market for orange juice. After six years advertising for Sunkist, he moved to Lord and Thomas as co-manager of the Los Angeles office. In 1924 he was named executive vice president of the agency and general manager for the Pacific Coast office, a position he held until 1940.

During the war he served as director of the Radio, Information, and Content Division of the Office of Inter-American Affairs in Washington (1940-1943) and then as Assistant Coordinator (1943-1945). He left the government in early 1945 and returned to New York to direct the Thompson Agency, where he served as vice president, director of J. Walter Thompson until his retirement in 1956. Francisco also served as a consultant to the State Department on national broadcasting and was on the Mass Media Committee of Enesco, as well as being a visiting lecturer at Michigan State University.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Don Francisco Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, promotional material, published material, and scrapbooks.

Correspondence consists of both incoming and outgoing as well as some correspondence of others. Correspondents of interest include William Benton, Nelson Rockefeller, Albert D. Lasker, CIAA, UNESCO, Michigan State University, and various South American countries (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Peru, Uruguay). Correspondence of others consists of Albert D. Lasker's around-the- world letters to his family.

Subject files contains material concerning the California Fruit Growers Exchange, CIAA post-war plans, Florida Citrus Commission, Grocery Manufacturers of America, Michigan State University, USIA South American trip, and photographs and personal material.

Manuscripts consists of annual reports, articles, speeches, and outlines by Francisco as well as some speeches by others.

Promotional material contains material related to the California Chain Store Tax (campaign against), California Fruit Growers Exchange - Sunkist, Florida Citrus Commission, and J. Walter Thompson Company.

Published material consists of articles, books and booklets, and pamphlets about and by Francisco and by others.

Scrapbooks, all oversize, contain photos, clippings and letters relating to the California Fruit Growers Exchange, Boston Conference on Distribution, South American travels, and Crusade for Freedom, and to Francisco generally.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Francisco, Don, 1891-1973 -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

California Fruit Growers Exchange.
United States Information Agency.
United States. -- Office of Inter-American Affairs.

Subjects

Advertising agencies -- United States.
Advertising campaigns.
Orange juice -- Marketing.

Places

United States -- Diplomatic and consular service -- Central America.
United States -- Diplomatic and consular service -- South America.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Advertising.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Don Francisco Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: ca. 1965
Revision history: 28 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming and outgoing
Box 1 Argentina 1939-1941
Box 1 Benton, William 1945-1947, 1950
Box 1 Brazil 1940
Box 1 Chile 1939-1941
Box 1 CIAA (personal) 1944-1947
Box 1 CIAA (resignation) 1927, 1944
Box 1 Columbia 1940-1941
Box 1 Don Francisco, personal 1914, 1916-1917, 1919, 1921, 1924-1927, 1930, 1935, 1940-1941, 1957
Box 2 Lasker, Albert D. 1921, 1924, 1929-1930, 1934, 1938, 1940-1942, 1949-1952, 1956, 1958, 1960
Box 2 Lord and Thomas 1921, 1926-1928, 1930-1931, 1933-1936, 1938, 1940-1943, 1945
Lord and Thomas, Ltd.
Box 2 Francisco luncheon acceptances 27 Apr 1937
Box 2 Francisco luncheon declines 27 Apr 1937
Box 2 Francisco luncheon congratulations 1937
Box 2 Michigan State University 1948-1949, 1954, 1957
Box 2 Michigan State University Development Fund 1956-1958, 1964, undated
Box 2 Nelson A. Rockefeller 1940-1948, 1958, 1960-1962
Box 3 South American trip 13 Dec 1940 - 9 Feb 1941 - family letters
Box 3 J. Walter Thompson Company 1947, 1953, 1954, 1956
Box 3 J. Walter Thompson Agency - re. Francisco's resignation
Box 3 UNESCO committee 1946
Box 3 Uruguay 1940-1941
General
Box 3 A-C 1914, 1921, 1927, 1948, 1956-1959, 1961-1964
Box 3 D-M 1940, 1942, 1944, 1947-1948, 1954, 1956-1959, 1962
Box 4 O-W 1915-1917, 1919-1920, 1933, 1941, 1943-1944, 1946, 1948-1949, 1952, 1954, 1956-1959, 1962, 1964
See also Scrapbooks 3, 4, 5 and 9 for letters to D. Francisco
Of others
Box 4 Lasker, Albert D. 1937-1938 - around the world trip
Subject files
Box 5 California Fruit Growers Exchange 1916-1917, 1919
Box 5 CIAA information activities after the war 1943-1944 - policies and plans
Box 5 CIAA, miscellaneous 1940, 1943-1945, 1947
Box 5 Citation 1956
Box 5 Course outlines, journalism
Box 5 Diplomas (oversize) 1910, 1914-1915, 1923
Box 5 Florida Citrus Commission 1950-1951, 1953-1954, 1958
Box 5 Francisco, Don, personal record
Box 5 Glass containers 1946-1947
Box 5 Grocery Manufacturers of America 1943
Box 5 IBC-TV Film Network 1957
Box 5 Idea book for advertisements and sales promotion 1916
Box 5 International House annual report 1965
Box 5 List of countries, islands, colonies, and states visited 1937
Box 5 London visit 1937
Box 6 Michigan State University
Box 6 Numerology, astrology, etc 1931-1933, 1935
Box 6 CIAA Radio 1941, 1943-1944, 1947
Box 6 Pacific Coast Displaced Persons membership #1 7 Jun 1950
Box 6 Personal material 1914, 1937-1938, undated
Box 6 Photographs
Box 6 Post-war radio plans 1945-1946
Box 6 South American trip 1940-1941
Box 7 "Sunkist Story," Ambrose Stevens - tape recording
Box 7 Short wave content committee
Box 7 South America 1941 - miscellaneous notes
Box 7 USIA 1955-1958 (2 folders)
Manuscripts
Box 8 Annual report, president, PCACA 1924
Articles by
Box 8 A, E-F, H-I, L, S
Box 8 Untitled 1919, 1923-1925, 1932, undated
Lectures by
Box 8 The story of Sunkist advertising - typescript
Box 8 The Sunkist story - holograph
Sales presentations by
Box 8 A plan for public information activities to be undertaken by members of the Grocery Manufacturers of America 1944
Speeches by
Box 9 Add-Adv 1918, 1928-1930, 1935, 1937-1938
Box 9 Am-Ap 1929, 1932, 1945, 1948
Box 9 Ba-Co 1917, 1924-1925, 1936, 1939
Box 9 Cu-Di 1937, 1948
Box 9 Do 1946-1947
Box 10 Do-G 1924, 1928, 1938, 1940
Box 10 H 1912-1913, 1930-1931, 1938, 1943, 1950-1951, 1956
Box 10 I 1926, 1933, 1941, 1950
Box 10 M 1931, 1938
Box 10 P 1926, 1933, 1938-1939
Box 10 R 1942-1943, 1947, 1954
Box 10 S 1925, 1944, 1948, 1951
Box 11 T 1925, 1932, 1935, 1942, 1948
Box 11 Wha 1923, 1924, 1926, 1931, 1953 (2 folders)
Speeches by others
Box 11 A-C, H-L, N, T, W 1928, 1935, 1939, 1951, 1953-1954, 1957
Speech outlines by
Box 11 A-C 1916, 1921-1924, 1928, 1930, 1938, 1948, 1953
Box 11 E, F, L, N 1921, 1923, 1925, 1938, 1940, 1949
Box 11 Oneida, Ltd. 1948, 1951-1953
Box 11 Ou-Q 1924, 1932, undated
Box 11 R-W 1920-1922, 1925, 1928, 1930, 1932, 1949
Box 12 Thesis for Master of Science in Horticulture, "The advertising of farm products" 1923
Box 12 "California 1934: A study of contrasts in a political campaign," Phillip H. Stevens 1961
Promotional material
Box 13 California chain store tax, campaign against 1936 (2 folders)
Box 13 California Fruit Growers Exchange: "Sunkist" 1925-1926, 1947-1948, undated (4 folders)
Campaign against California chain store tax
Box 13 Discrimination vs. business
Box 13 Public relations survey of Pacific coast industry chain stores
Box 13 The story of two stores (oversize)
Box 13 Florida Citrus Commission 1950-1952
Box 13 J. Walter Thompson Company
Published material
Articles about
Box 13 1912, 1916, 1936, 1938-1940, 1950, 1956
Articles by
Box 13 1911, 1915-1933, 1937-1938, 1941-1944, 1947, undated (5 folders)
Books by
Box 14 The Cooperative Advertising of Farm Products 1924
Box 14 Distribution: A Look Back and a Look Ahead 1949
Books by others
Box 15 Overseas Information Service of the U.S. Government, Charles A. Thompson 1948
Booklets by
Box 15 Cooperative advertising of farm products 1923
Booklets by others
Box 15 14th report of the U.S. Advisory Commission on Information 1959
Box 15 Labels, Advertising Dept., California Fruit Growers Exchange 1918
Box 15 The Lasker story, as he told it undated
Box 15 What shall we do about the political situation?
Clippings about
Box 15 1916-1917, 1925, 1939-1941, 1943-1944, undated
Clippings about others
Box 15 1918, 1948, 1950
Clippings by
Box 15 1920
Clippings by others
Box 15 1945
Pamphlets by
Box 15 Advertising: an essential ingredient of democracy 3 Oct 1939
Box 15 Distribution: A look back and a look ahead 1949
Box 15 Does distribution cost too much? It may cost much more undated
Box 15 The force nobody knows: American industry 1938
Box 15 Putting California's citrus on the map 1917
Pamphlets by others
Box 15 The agent and the adviser / Albert D. Lasker 1926
Box 15 A call for dedication to fundamentals in advertising / Albert D. Lasker 1935
Box 15 The relationship of freedom of advertising to a free press / Albert D. Lasker 1934
Box 15 Salesmanship in print / Albert D. Lasker undated
Scrapbooks
Oversize 1 1909-1914 Photos and clippings of life of D. Francisco
Oversize 2 1914-1920 Clippings by D. Francisco about California Fruit Growers Exchange
Oversize 3 1936-1937 Articles of chain stores and letters to D. Francisco
Oversize 4 1938 Letters to and articles by D. Francisco
Oversize 5 1938 Letters to D. Francisco
Oversize 6 1939 Boston Conference on Distribution
Oversize 7 1939 Boston Conference on Distribution
Oversize 8 1939 Boston Conference on Distribution
Oversize 9 1920-1940 Articles on advertising, articles on D. Francisco, letters to and photographs of D. Francisco
Oversize 10 1938-1944 D. Francisco on Latin American travels
Oversize 11 1944 D. Francisco on Latin American trip
Oversize 12 1944-1951 Articles by D. Francisco on distribution
Oversize 13 1955 Crusade for Freedom material
Oversize 14 1952-1961 D. Francisco, general
Oversize 15 Undated The Story of Two Stores

Return to top