Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Carlisle Floyd Musical Score

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Floyd, Carlisle.
Title: Carlisle Floyd Musical Score
Inclusive Dates: 1955
Quantity: 1 item
Abstract: Original score for 'Pilgrimage: five songs on Biblical texts for baritone and piano or orchestra.'
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Carlisle Floyd was born on June 11, 1926 in Latta, South Carolina to a Methodist minister. After earning a B.M. and M.M. in piano and composition from Syracuse University, Floyd pursued a career in teaching. Known for his operas and librettos, Floyd is best remembered for his opera Susannah, which was written during his tenure at Florida State University (1947-1976). Floyd left Florida State University in 1976 to accept an appointment to the M. D. Anderson Professorship at the University of Houston. His major works include:
1949 Slow Dusk
1955 Susannah
1958 Wuthering Heights
1962 The Passion of Jonathan Wade
1963 The Sojourner and Mollie Sinclair
1966 Markheim
1970 Of Mice and Men
1972 Flower and Hawk
1976 Bilby's Doll
1981 Willie Stark
2000 Cold Sassy Tree

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carlisle Floyd Score is the musical manuscript for "Pilgrimage: five songs on Biblical texts for baritone and piano or orchestra." Dated 1955, the 19 page score is the original composition of the American composer.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Floyd, Carlisle.
Floyd, Carlisle. Pilgrimage.

Subjects

Composers, United States.
Music, 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Scores.

Occupations

Composers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carlisle Floyd Musical Score
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996
Revision history: 16 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Manuscript score - "Pilgrimage: five songs on Biblical texts for baritone and piano or orchestra"

Return to top