Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Overview of the Collection

Title: Flexi-Disc Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1930-1990?
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: The collection consists of more than one hundred various sizes and speeds of flexi-discs produced on flexible plastic sheets or coated paper
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Flexi-discs, also known as phonosheets, sonosheets or soundsheets, are groove discs made out of vinyl or coated paper, played on a standard turntable. Historically, the European "talking postcards" developed in the early 1900s and intended to send a personal sound message on a fine postcard are regarded by the specialists as the predecessor of the flexi-disc format. While turntables were broadly used from the vast consumer for reproducing sound recordings at home some record companies saw an advantage in inventing cheap and durable medium to be used for home recordings. Flexi-discs were lighter, less expansive than vinyl, easy to distribute and affordable. Flexi-discs were largely used as educational and promotional materials until the appearance of the CDs in the early 1980s. Despite the poor sound quality, the flexi-disc format lasted long enough and is an intriguing artifact of the 20th-century pop culture.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Flexi-Disc Collection consists of more than one hundred various sizes and speeds of flexi-discs produced on flexible plastic sheets or coated paper. Record companies presented in the Flexi-Disc Collection include Durium, Wilcox-Gay, Eva-tone. Some examples in the collection are flexi-discs from Time-Life magazine, National Geographic, Esquire magazine,The Longines Symphonette Society, Billy Graham Evangelistic Association, Columbia and RCA Victor records, National Library of Canada, McDonald’s sweepstakes, and playable postcards.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Billy Graham Evangelistic Association.
Durium (Record company)
McDonald's Corporation.
National Library of Canada.

Subjects

Popular culture in advertising.
Sound in advertising.
Sound recording industry.

Genres and Forms

Flexi discs.
Promotional materials.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Flexi-Disc Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown

Finding Aid Information

Created by: IRP
Date: 1 Nov 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top