Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Irving Fineman / Ned Weinshenker Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fineman, Irving, 1893-1976
Title: Irving Fineman / Ned Weinshenker Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1916-1981
Quantity: 4 folders (SC)
Abstract: Clippings, correspondence, photographs, and writings relating to or written by Jewish-American novelist and author, Irving Fineman
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Irving Fineman (1893-1976) was a Jewish-American novelist and author.

Born in New York City, he earned degrees in civil engineering from both the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard in 1917. Following a term in the U.S. Navy as an engineer officer (1918-1922), he returned to civil engineering, working in the field designing and constructing bridges, subways, etc and also teaching theoretical and applied mechanics at the University of Illinois.

In 1928 he began work on his first novel, This Pure Young Man, which won a $7500 prize in 1930. By 1932 he was at work on his second novel and had taken a teaching position at Bennington University in Bennington, Vermont. In the late 1930s Fineman spent a year or two in Hollywood writing for several studios. He served as editorial consultant for the RAND Corporation in 1957 and spent a year as scholar in residence at Duke University (1965-1966).

In addition to seven novels and a biography of Henrietta Szold, the founder of Hadassah, Fineman published short stories, poems, and literary criticism in literary and general interest magazines such as Nation, Harper's, Yale Review, New Yorker, New York Times, Saturday Review, and the Los Angeles Times.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Irving Fineman / Ned Weinshenker Collection consists of clippings, correspondence, photographs, and writings.

Clippings consists of articles by or about Fineman.

Correspondence consists of personal correspondence from Fineman (and some including his wife, Esther) spanning from 1929 to 1973 and undated. Recipients include Rosalind (various spellings), Dot, and Ben Waxelbaum.

Photographs are mostly of Fineman. Some photos are of Leon Fineman, Rosalind and Dot Waxelbaum, and other family members.

Writings consists of poems by Fineman.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Clippings are arranged chronologically with undated material at the end of the folder. Correspondence is arranged chronologically with undated material at the end of the folder. Photographs are in no particular order. Writings are arranged alphabetically by title with untitled material at the end of the folder.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Fineman, Irving, 1893-1976.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American literature -- Jewish authors.
Authors, American.
Jews, American.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Irving Fineman / Ned Weinshenker Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ned Weinshenker, 2018.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KD
Date: 8 Jan 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Clippings
SC 833 Miscellaneous 1916-1981, undated - written by and about Fineman
Correspondence
SC 833 Miscellaneous 1929-1973, undated - from Fineman (some including his wife, Esther) to friends and family
Photographs
SC 833 Miscellaneous 1918-1959, undated - mostly of Fineman, some of friends and family
Writings
SC 833 Miscellaneous 1931, undated - poems by Fineman

Return to top